Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Imagemaking

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Imagemaking von California Institute of the Arts

4.5
Sterne
2,147 Bewertungen
456 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course for serious makers, and for students new to imagemaking. Imagemaking is a fluid and exciting area of graphic design that comes out of practice and process: experimenting fearlessly, showing and sharing ideas, and giving and receiving knowledgeable and constructive input. For the sake of this online platform, we have applied some structure to our investigations, but for the most part imagemaking is loose and unstructured. If we must adopt a rule in this course it is only this: you will not become a graphic designer by watching videos alone. Or, don't just make stuff just in your head. So here, the focus here is on making, and you are expected to devote serious time and intellectual energy to that activity in this course. Specifically, you will: - experiment with a range of materials and techniques to make images for graphic design - expand your visual vocabulary both in terms of making and talking about work, in order to discuss your work and work of others - learn how to make, manipulate and arrange images to create compositions, eventually culminating in the design and production of an-image-based book. The first half of the course is an opportunity to experiment and explore imagemaking in order to expand your visual vocabulary. You will create pieces that are expressive, meditative, or 'design-y' to instigate, evoke, experiment, record, explain, or try out a media. In the second two weeks, we’ll invite the images to deliberately and intentionally carry meaning and communication through relational moves like juxtaposition, composition, and context. We’ll look at developing and expanding the range of approaches for putting things together by composing page spreads with your images. Since nothing exists without context, we look at how to intentionally drive the image’s connotations, meanings, and associations generated through elements of composition and “visual contrasts.” Ultimately, we will take the images that you create and make a book from them. The results of your assignments (and experiments) may generate something completely unknowable now or in the future—and that's the goal....

Top-Bewertungen

LC
8. Okt. 2017

I'm so happy i did this course. Gail, you're amazing and you made my imagination go wild with just your words. I can see you love your craft and that's very inspiring. Enjoyed this course all the way!

ID
21. Mai 2019

Very useful course. Really puts you to practice. I learned a lot and feel encouraged to continue. Reviewing other peer's work was inspiring and gave me fresh ideas about what I could have done better.

Filtern nach:

326 - 350 von 452 Bewertungen für Introduction to Imagemaking

von Olli V

13. Feb. 2018

A well-structured and inspiring course that broadened my perspectives on imagemaking. Although it's clear that imagemaking is definitely an open-ended process, I felt there could've been more examples of digital imagemaking techniques and compositions to give a more comprehensive template for creative thought. Recommended!

von Rose G

13. Dez. 2019

I really enjoyed the course and doing all the assignments, I could clearly see the potential of my creativity and my style. I thought some of the videos were a little difficult to sit through, maybe the voice was too calm/soft and got sleepy? But the material was great, it was a lot of fun and learned a lot.

von Hasnat A H

4. Sep. 2020

The perspective to observe things out of traditional ways was very interesting. The reviews of peer-graded assignments were too long though. Answering a lot of review questions was boring and I kinda lost my interest to "observe" the things knowing that I have to answer particular questions on it later.

von Sergio G F

13. Aug. 2020

Many things studied on this course are subjective and the connotations depend on every viewer of each image of course. In any case the course and the study of images composition helped me broaden my knowledge on how to modify a page and its design to give the viewer a message.

von Paul M

9. Mai 2016

I really enjoyed this course and it was one of the most helpful along with the Typography course, but it felt a little impersonal and short on information when I compare this one to the previous ones. I would love to look at more examples of imagemaking and uses of hierarchy.

von Stephanie N

3. Mai 2016

Much of the course seemed to cover what was previously discussed. About the only thing this course did for me was to introduce me to In Design. The teacher was OK, but she seemed to lack enthusiasm, particularly when she was demonstrating the book-binding.

von Fred R

30. März 2017

Very challenging and very rewarding to learn to "see" an object, to start owning it and to realize a booklet out of it. It was hard work and lots of trials and errors, but I really enjoyed it, and I'm sure that I've learnt a lot for my next projects.

von Tina L O Z

28. Jan. 2019

I felt this was a very challenging and stimulating course. It relies like many great courses in this series on peer reviews. I think the course is designed extremely well, I just wish there was more interaction/feedback from the teaching staff.

von Leroy S

24. Mai 2016

Gail Swanlund is awesome. Her voice is amazing and fun to listen to. She explains things in a very creative way. So far, this has been my favorite among the Graphic Design Specialization courses. Still have two more courses to go yet!

von Pilar F

8. Apr. 2018

ESTUVO SUPER BUENO. PARA MI SOLO FALTÓ QUE EXISTIERA UNA INSTANCIA DE EVALUACIÓN/COMENTARIOS POR PARTE DE LOS DOCENTES.

IT WAS GREAT. THE ONLY THING I MISSED WAS THE CHANCE TO BE EVALUATED OR TO RECEIVE COMMENTS BY THE TEACHERS.

von Anca E

6. Okt. 2018

Course could do with a bit more content and putting some more theory behind the examples, explaining better different currents and schools of thought. It also had too much overlap with the first course in the specialization

von Jai C

26. Juni 2017

This course has really guided me through making my own images. I can now research any subject and abstract images from a lot of different techniques. It has also made me realize my strengths are the areas for improvement.

von Penny L

26. Okt. 2019

Good assignments. Really learned something from this course. However, I found the requirement of some assignments might be a bit misleading and I often see other students work not following requirements.

von Huyen T N

5. Juli 2020

The voice and lecture is quite sleepy, I had to take extra coffee for the course. And the assignment is still confusing. But in overall, the content and the knowledge has provided me a lot. Thank you!

von Jose M G E

22. Nov. 2017

I really like the course, I learn a lot of things

I think that some instructios for the assigments are not fully explained

and also I think the voice of the theacher in the videos is low monotonous

von Lidya S

24. Sep. 2019

The assignments are really fun and put the videos into practice very efficiently! The only thing that troubles me is sometimes the "design language" is too unfamiliar for beginners.

von Yuying W

20. Apr. 2020

Awesome course, great content! I wish there were more videos to learn about compositions and the third assignment was a bit hard to follow. Overall I learned a great deal. Thanks!

von Melanie J

3. Juli 2017

I found this course to be much more experimentation then anything else. I definitely learned some about composition, but I wish it would've been more focused on layout.

von E. C C

29. Jan. 2017

Nice class introducing the ideas of scale, composition and use of white/negative space. A must for people who always want to fill the page. Sometimes less is more.

von Mark H

8. Sep. 2020

This course really got my creative juices flowing. The assignments, however, lacked structure or a certain level of technical proficiency that I was expecting.

von Maya R

24. Mai 2019

Really liked the course, because it is very oriented to practical work. It would be great if there was more substantial exchange with other learners though.

von Samuele R

2. Sep. 2017

Quite engaging, I improved my knowledge of Illustrator thanks to the assignments, but I think a few lesson videos are too few/short, especially in the end.

von Kelly J

5. Dez. 2016

This course was a fun one that encouraged experimentation and making a lot of images. I would say the assignments could have been more challenging though.

von Anastasia O

17. Juni 2018

I learned a lot about imagemaking but I wasn't sure what the point was about making a book. It was fun but I felt "bookmaking" should be another class.

von Fergus N

14. Juni 2016

Very enjoyable and encouraging course - I haven't used watercolours since I was a child and this course prompted me to go back out and try them again!