Chevron Left
Zurück zu Indigenous Canada

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Indigenous Canada von University of Alberta

4.8
Sterne
4,476 Bewertungen
1,693 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Top-Bewertungen

AC

Feb 24, 2020

Very informative. They teach history and mention the aboriginal journey, but this tells another story. Thank you for allowing me an opportunity to glimpse into to the world of an aboriginal of Canada.

DN

Aug 31, 2020

This is a great survey course about Indigenous Canada. As a participant, I have learned and unlearned so much about Indigenous Canadians, and more important, this course has inspired me to learn more.

Filtern nach:

676 - 700 von 1,715 Bewertungen für Indigenous Canada

von Shannon K

Jul 31, 2017

A rich and extremely important overview of various topics of Aboriginal history and ongoing issues. I am extremely appreciative to the Faculty of Native Studies for providing this course.

von Colin M

Oct 20, 2020

Powerful. This course provided me with a valuable perspective of Canada. I am inspired to dedicate more of my life to this work. Thank you U of A for creating this accessible opportunity.

von Amanda S

Mar 19, 2020

such a wonderful rich history. I would highly recommend this course, very sad effects of colonization, I have so much respect fro the rich traditions of each Nation. art and expression

von Anais L

Oct 21, 2020

This was a fantastic course full of rich information which allowed for fresh perspectives. I appreciated the content, presentation structure, and learning opportunities. VERY well done!

von Kimberley C

Sep 20, 2020

Thank you for the opportunity to "fill in the blanks" of what our public school systems failed to teach us. I really enjoyed the interviews and addition of art to accompany each lesson.

von Magdalen S

Sep 19, 2020

very informative. A great overview of the history, struggles and triumphs of Canadian (and North American) first nations. Also, a great reminder that here is more that we can do!

Thanks!

von Alejandra M

Jul 05, 2020

This is an amazing course for everyone who would like to learn the First Nations' perspective of history in so called Canada. Thank you to all the people who contributed to this course!

von Matthew G

Sep 11, 2020

Excellent course. It provided me with a much greater understanding of Indigenous Peoples's history, culture, and the horrific acts still perpetuated by the Federal government and more.

von Edith K

Jun 23, 2020

Excellent course, I felt I gained a better understanding of Indigenous ways of knowing and was inspired to explore Indigenous culture. I highly recommend this course to all Canadians.

von Gloria F

Oct 30, 2019

i thought this was an excellent course! very much enjoyed it. I thought I knew a lot about Indigenous peoples, turned out I didn't know much at all. would highly recommend this course.

von Jennifer M

Jun 26, 2019

This introduction course has left me wanting to dive deeper into this history and culture. How my ancestors and family have experienced the detrimental effects outlined in this Course.

von James S

Feb 05, 2018

Thanks for the the efforts that went into this course. It is very well presented, shares truths and worldviews that we 'settlers' need to be aware of. I hope it will be taken by many!!

von Alissandra S

Aug 16, 2017

It astounds me how much Indigenous history and culture was completely left out of my Canadian public school education. I'm so grateful to have found this course to fill in those gaps.

von Rhyan J

Oct 07, 2020

-Engaging, informative content with cited chapter notes for further study.

-Wide array of Indigenous Indigenous academics, guest speakers, Elders, and artists.

10/10 would learn again.

von Ana M C

Sep 28, 2020

Excellent course I learned a lot and I would love to continue increasing my understanding of Indigenous Canada, The instructors top class. Kudos to them. It was an amazing experience

von John a

Sep 19, 2020

Very impressed and gave me fresh view on concepts of democracy,capitalism entrenched in western, colonialism. Plus ideas of indigenous ways forward for all. There are lessons for all

von Richard B

Jan 28, 2020

A journey that each and every person living in Canada should embark.

A wonderful experience and I have found within a greater sense of appreciation for the First Nations communities.

von Kristen M

Sep 27, 2020

As a born and raised Canadian, I've realised I've known very little about the history of my country. Thank you for bringing this issues to light. This course was truly enlightening,

von Ashley F E

Aug 19, 2019

Exceptional class. The material was informative and interesting, and the course was very well designed. I would sign up for any additional classes created by this team right away.

von Morgan D

Oct 07, 2020

I loved having both the video and the written notes. The interviews were excellent, and the speakers brought in were very interesting. Thank you! It was an excellent experience.

von Omar S

Oct 01, 2020

An eye opener that ties the History of Modern Canada to the mostly traumatic relationship between the indigenous peoples of Canada and the setllers and its contnued adverse effects

von Melissa G

Sep 01, 2020

Very interesting and eye opening!! Wish my brain could retain all this information. I think every canadian should be aware of this important part of history! Great work, thank you!

von Natalie G

Jul 19, 2020

This program was an eye-opener for me and my colleagues. I enjoyed and learned so much from each module and appreciate all of the work that went into creating this program. Hiy Hiy

von Tara L Y

Oct 23, 2020

You bless us with this course. I had no idea all that was going on in north Turtle Island. I learned much about people, law, interpretation and perseverance. Thank you so much.