Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to GIS Mapping

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to GIS Mapping von University of Toronto

4.8
Sterne
1,012 Bewertungen
358 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Get started learning about the fascinating and useful world of geographic information systems (GIS)! In this first course of the specialization GIS, Mapping, and Spatial Analysis, you'll learn about what a GIS is, how to get started with the software yourself, how things we find in the real world can be represented on a map, how we record locations using coordinates, and how we can make a two-dimensional map from a three-dimensional Earth. In the course project, you will create your own GIS data by tracing geographic features from a satellite image for a location and theme of your choice. This course will give you a strong foundation in mapping and GIS that will give you the understanding you need to start working with GIS, and to succeed in the other courses in this specialization. This course is for anyone who wants to learn about mapping and GIS. You don't have to have any previous experience - just your curiosity! The course includes both practical software training and explanations of the concepts you need to know to make informed decisions as you start your journey to becoming a GIS analyst. You will need a Windows computer with ArcGIS Desktop installed. (software is not provided)...

Top-Bewertungen

AF

Apr 17, 2020

Don Boyes is one of the best instructors I have seen. Throughout the course, I never felt boring. So all credit goes to Don Boyes for making this course very interesting with his good sense of humor.

BA

Aug 04, 2020

This course is the basic introduction of GIS. It gives an insight of the GIS system especially the projection systems. Out of all these Professor Don Boyes made is so entertaining. Thank you Prof!!!

Filtern nach:

326 - 350 von 356 Bewertungen für Introduction to GIS Mapping

von Greg K

Apr 28, 2020

Well-organized content, though quizzes could have been better integrated into the hands-on material. One limitation was that access to ArcGIS takes up to two weeks, so it's hard to get much hands-on experience in ArcMap until the software is available. However, concepts could be tied to online versions of ArcGIS, which appeared to be available sooner.

von SONU K

Jul 27, 2020

Lots of things can be learned fro this platform in a very easy way and this can be helpful in the career because in this modern technical world software knowledge is like a success of KEY. So please go through this and developed or enhanced technical skills.

von Manuel C D

Apr 14, 2020

En general es muy completo como base, quizás una parte practica en cada semana estaría bien y como proyecto final algo un poco más complicad, aunque completo me ha parecido un poco fácil.

Un saludo

von Carolina Z

Sep 14, 2020

Great course, very necessary for the people with zero knowledge of GIS, like me. It tackles difficult subjects but with a very simple approach that makes them very easy to understand.

von Xi L

May 19, 2020

Easy to understand. If there's more practice include in this course will be better. Hope professor can add more related data materials for students to practice with each course video.

von Prevena v p

Sep 30, 2020

Wonderful course! Easy to digest for anyone who doesnot have any background before. The assignments and activity is fun to do. This is very interesting as well as useful course.

von Jens B

Feb 12, 2020

Very good explanations of geografic coordinatesystems and projections.

I would give it 5 * if it used arcgis pro which, as I understand it, is the new platform of choice.

von Tsanyu K

Jan 13, 2020

A really good entry course starts with the basic concept of GIS. Students would have an opportunity to create their own map at the end of the course.

von Alberto R D

Aug 20, 2020

A very good entry point to GIS software. I like that the instructor not only explain how to use it, but he teach you the basis of every process.

von Muthanna M T

May 27, 2020

It was a good course, thanks for you. But i have one note that i think a gis mapping must complete with a vedio of the map layout, regards.

von Laura D B

Jun 04, 2020

Is a lot of theory, they can implemento some practical excercises, in that way we can explore the program following some instructions.

von Anna K

Apr 17, 2020

Very informative, Prof Boyes is a great instructor. One minor thing, I felt Week 1 and 2 could be abbreviated and combined.

von Gleyman A C G

Sep 10, 2019

Muy bueno para comprender los conceptos básicos. Me sirvió de mucho para la creación de tablas y geodatabases

von Anamika D K

May 13, 2020

Very informative videos and the instructor is very good at it.His instruments on every topic was standard.

von Ahmed S S

Jun 26, 2020

this course have a lot of basic data and basics of cartography.

von Pradip S

Jan 31, 2020

A good course to learn the basics of geospatial tools

von HITESHKUMAR S

Jun 10, 2020

best MOOC for learning GIS software

von Muhammad F K

Jul 01, 2020

Good to learn. more theory.

von AHMED " T S A D

Sep 06, 2020

Great Course

Great Teacher

von Reza A

Jun 21, 2020

Thanks coursera..

von Md. R K

Jun 22, 2020

Amazing Course.

von ABDUL M K

Jul 27, 2020

nice

von Edison M B Y

Jul 01, 2020

GOOD

von Deleted A

Jul 24, 2020

Me quede en la semana 4 y no me permite avanzar con el curso, cuando intento abrir un video no me lo permite, se vuelve a cargar automáticamente. En cuanto al contenido es muy útil e interesante, me gustaría poder acabarlo y aprender. Gracias profesor explica muy bien.

von Anastasia A

Mar 12, 2020

It is a good course as an introduction to GIS, but please put subtitles to the videos or a translation of them so that the learning of Spanish speaking people can be faster and more fluid.