Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Introduction to Programming with MATLAB von Vanderbilt University

4.8
Sterne
15,291 Bewertungen
4,021 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top-Bewertungen

DA
5. Juni 2020

Instructor of this course Mike Fitzpatrick is a very good teacher who encourage students to do something new and interesting.\n\nI really enjoyed learning this course and learned new skills in MATLAB.

KB
23. Juni 2020

I would like to thank vanderbilt university for providing such a wonderful course and i am much impressed by the use of the basic matrices in each and every programming purpose.thank you again!!!!:)))

Filtern nach:

3401 - 3425 von 4,005 Bewertungen für Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

von Md. R R

30. Juli 2020

4.5

von Muskan G

16. Dez. 2019

n.a

von Chandini

23. Juni 2020

..

von Yara M s

22. Okt. 2021

4

von Nida T

11. Juli 2020

n

von Manoj P

28. Juni 2020

.

von ANUBHAV V

15. Juni 2020

.

von NAVEEN K M

10. Juni 2020

5

von Mahesh S

11. Mai 2020

5

von Sharma N

10. Mai 2020

.

von Aparna C

10. Mai 2020

-

von Duan R

30. Apr. 2019

g

von SHASHANK M

29. Sep. 2018

.

von Aj C

29. Apr. 2017

T

von Flores A

29. März 2017

W

von 尹天为

28. Aug. 2016

c

von Pushkar K

21. Dez. 2016

This is one of the best course related to computer programming that I came across. All the concepts are very well explained. Homework assignments are very much challenging. If you are a beginner, completing the homework assignments will take lot of time and will sometimes be frustrating. However, forums will be one of your best asset while completing this course. All the mentors and Instructors answer to all your concern. They will not give you the exact code for your answer, but they will guide you so that you can solve the questions. Some of the questions will be tough and may take days for you to figure out(speaking out of my own personal experience), but keep posting in the forums. So, if you are going for the course certificate then be prepared for the effort and time that will be used up to complete the Home work assignments. A good time will be to learn in your vacations, but don't stress yourself while your college is going on.

Since this was only an introduction to MATLAB, you will not be learning how to create GUIs and entire softwares. Also, if you are looking forward to know how to use MATLAB on some hardwares, then you are not going to find it in this course. However, if you ask the mentors where to learn those things from, they will guide you. They also have a textbook available for the course, but I completed the course very well without it. So, it's not a compulsion, but I am going to buy it so that I have a better understanding about how to create GUIs for the code that I type.

Tl;dr: This is the best course if you are a beginner and have no experience in programming, but if you are an expert programmer, you might get bored with some initial topics, but later things do start to get interesting. Also, you need to dedicate your time and effort to complete Home work assignment.

von Max H

4. Juli 2016

Positive points:

-this really is a beginners course, without any knowledge about coding or the syntax of MATLAB necessary.

-you learn by solving the problems yourself. This gives you great insight about the thought processes necessary, about different approaches and how to realize your ideas.

-Mentors are responding quickly (sometimes within a half hour) and are doing there best to help you out.

Negative points:

-The video lectures, although informative have a very slow paste and the earlier ones do not prepare you that well for the homework assignments. However once you get used to it you will manage to get an idea about the assignments from the lectures. Still the same problem is illustrated way too often in the same lecture. One could either add different problems or shorten the lectures a lot. With time it is possible to learn when one can skip a section but it makes it especially hard for people to start the course, since one spends hours watching videos for just learning about basic syntax in the beginning

- For some of the homework assignments the mathematical part was the bigger challenge for me than the coding part, which is really frustrating when you just want to learn how to code.

von Ilenia V

16. Mai 2020

I started this course as a complete beginner not only in MATLAB but in programming in general. The lectures are really straight foward and they use practical examples that you can recreate in MATLAB and they are not heavy on the theory part. Every week comes with a bunch of assigments and there is a grading system that automatically tests your code which is very useful and makes the whole process quicker. As a beginner, I noticed that these assignments started getting very challenging after the first half of the course but luckily there is a very useful forum where you can get some support and see other people threads as well as a lot of tips given by the instructor. I personally got stuck a few times but the instructor replied in no time in deep detail so I was able to figure out what I was missing. I really recommend this course to everyone; in just a few weeks I was able to go from not knowing anything about programming to writing MATLAB code on my own.

von Loralei A

14. Juni 2019

Great course for the most part but, in my opinion, this is not an introductory course. It seems to be more like an introductory course if you have taken one but did not exactly pass the first time. The videos are easy enough to follow and he is very good at explaining as he goes but whereas the difficulty level of the videos is at a two, the difficulty level is at an eight. Luckily for me, I was taking this class for work and at work so I was able to get help when needed, but even then it was still a struggle for the majority of my colleagues to help me when it came down to actually doing the homework. So I would either recommend matching the difficulty level of the homework assignments to the videos or changing the course to a second introductory course, just to recap on past experience. Even though it sounds like I did complain, it was still an amazing class leading to 4/5 star review.

von Menna N

20. Okt. 2019

for me i got more than what i expected in that course

> the instructor really has an awesome way in presenting the tools and concepts in the videos

> some of the videos included info that i already knew previously but i was hearing about it here in a different helpful manner

> some of the info shown here were presented in a manner that's more helpful and organized than the documentation of the MATLAB itself for me.

> A part of the course videos was really long it exceeded 30 minutes which was really boring to me and frankly speaking forced me to resist the need to procrastinate completing the video many times.

> Finally, I'm really happy at the end of that course as i found a lot of material and support and motivated way to learn new staff

> thanks to all of you for your efforts to produce such a strong course

von Arup K D

1. Juni 2020

I was noob to take this course. I wished i would get much help by doing this course. At the beginning of this course, until week 5. I was trying and trying to write a code and get a solution. It was not that easy but somehow manageable. I tried and tried. It took more than 2 hours to complete a code for me. But after week 5, it was very hard for me. It was so depressing that, i couldn't solve a problem by myself. I had to take help from my friends to solve each problem. I thought i missed something, thats why i am facing this problem. But no, i didn't miss any lectures. Out of nowhere hardest problems just pops up on the monitor! I don't know if everyone feels the same way or only me.

But it was a great course indeed. The instructor tried his best and he is very cool.

von Halil Ş

19. Nov. 2017

I highly recommend this course created by valuable professors and mentored with valuable enthusiasts. It is a hard course especially for beginners like me, but it certainly gives you the aspect on how to think like a programmer while teaching Matlab's good features throughout the course. If you are interested in programming, if you want to practice on programming on Matlab, this is the course what you look for. I also suggest you to get the certificate. Engineers and scientists would surely benefit from it. The only things I criticize are that the course is much harder than expected for beginners and the lessons are not really comprehensive even if they are highly beneficial and of high quality. Thanks!

von Naveen I R M

25. Juni 2020

Honestly i liked the way he teach and especially is some bad jokes and all, besides the first 5 weeks is really interesting and keeps me concentrate enough to him and after that you know well the programming parts comes and literally started getting dizzy and at last like come on still how much i have got to go. Finally the assignments that's really tested my patience because for most of the assignment i don't the concept and all, so i just really googled it and read one by one line to understand the concept behind that. And I don't know weather i am going to use this MATLAB and all but now itself i am glad that i know MATLAB somewhat.

once again Thank you professor and everyone in this team.

von Silja M

23. Juni 2020

Sehr geehrte Damen und Herren,

ich fand Ihren MATLAB "introductory" Kurs sehr ansprechend und den Beginn sehr gelungen. Ich war eine absolute Anfängerin und konnte bis Woche 7 alles alleine absolvieren. Danach brauchte ich jedoch die Hilfe eines Bekannten mit Informatik Kenntnissen, um die weiteren Aufgaben erfolgreich abzuschließen. Der Kurs bietet einen guten ersten Eindruck in die Welt des Programmierens allerdings braucht man, um den Kurs alleine zu beenden ohne Vorkenntnisse viel Zeit außerhalb des Kurses, in der man sich mit der empfohlenen Literatur beschäftigt.

Liebe Grüße und allen viel Erfolg,

eine zufriedende Teilnehmerin!