Chevron Left
Zurück zu Medizinische Neurowissenschaften

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Medizinische Neurowissenschaften von Duke University

4.9
Sterne
2,418 Bewertungen
707 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Medical Neuroscience explores the functional organization and neurophysiology of the human central nervous system, while providing a neurobiological framework for understanding human behavior. In this course, you will discover the organization of the neural systems in the brain and spinal cord that mediate sensation, motivate bodily action, and integrate sensorimotor signals with memory, emotion and related faculties of cognition. The overall goal of this course is to provide the foundation for understanding the impairments of sensation, action and cognition that accompany injury, disease or dysfunction in the central nervous system. The course will build upon knowledge acquired through prior studies of cell and molecular biology, general physiology and human anatomy, as we focus primarily on the central nervous system. This online course is designed to include all of the core concepts in neurophysiology and clinical neuroanatomy that would be presented in most first-year neuroscience courses in schools of medicine. However, there are some topics (e.g., biological psychiatry) and several learning experiences (e.g., hands-on brain dissection) that we provide in the corresponding course offered in the Duke University School of Medicine on campus that we are not attempting to reproduce in Medical Neuroscience online. Nevertheless, our aim is to faithfully present in scope and rigor a medical school caliber course experience. This course comprises six units of content organized into 12 weeks, with an additional week for a comprehensive final exam: - Unit 1 Neuroanatomy (weeks 1-2). This unit covers the surface anatomy of the human brain, its internal structure, and the overall organization of sensory and motor systems in the brainstem and spinal cord. - Unit 2 Neural signaling (weeks 3-4). This unit addresses the fundamental mechanisms of neuronal excitability, signal generation and propagation, synaptic transmission, post synaptic mechanisms of signal integration, and neural plasticity. - Unit 3 Sensory systems (weeks 5-7). Here, you will learn the overall organization and function of the sensory systems that contribute to our sense of self relative to the world around us: somatic sensory systems, proprioception, vision, audition, and balance senses. - Unit 4 Motor systems (weeks 8-9). In this unit, we will examine the organization and function of the brain and spinal mechanisms that govern bodily movement. - Unit 5 Brain Development (week 10). Next, we turn our attention to the neurobiological mechanisms for building the nervous system in embryonic development and in early postnatal life; we will also consider how the brain changes across the lifespan. - Unit 6 Cognition (weeks 11-12). The course concludes with a survey of the association systems of the cerebral hemispheres, with an emphasis on cortical networks that integrate perception, memory and emotion in organizing behavior and planning for the future; we will also consider brain systems for maintaining homeostasis and regulating brain state....

Top-Bewertungen

MG

14. Jan. 2021

This course was a great opportunity for me to understand the world of neurology and helped me to clear all the ambiguities regarding the complex mechanisms that are happening in our beautiful brains.

KT

21. Nov. 2018

I leant so much without even realising it until I got to the final exams and all this knowledge was making sense. Amazing lecturer with so much wisdom in the area. The course is very well delivered.

Filtern nach:

176 - 200 von 703 Bewertungen für Medizinische Neurowissenschaften

von Fariel S

8. Nov. 2020

amazing course. I am from a physics background, but this course was a real eye opener for me.. a lot of things that physicists think about such as consciousness are actually explained here very coherently. I hope this course will help me in my future work. Really great instructor.

von Marco M

22. Jan. 2022

This course gives you high-quality information about the brain anatomy and functions.

The lab lessons by Professor White give a great insight about what a real brain actually look like. I've never had the chance to see it this way in all my years of study.

Highly recommended course!

von Luis B

30. Apr. 2020

It is only enough to thank each and every one of the people who have allowed us to access this course full of wisdom, passion and fun. A googolplex of thanks to you. Especially to our great teacher, Leonard. Thanks, you have allowed me to reinforce the love I have for the brain.

von Lawzha S L

28. Mai 2018

Very detailed and very informing, I learned a whole lot from this course, it contains very useful information and it is taught in an amazing way!

Upon the completion of this course I developed a passion for Neurosurgery, and I think that's the specialty that I'm going to pursue!

von Jake E B

10. März 2019

this course is challenging, but it is 100% do-able if you are committed and really assign a purpose to doing well in this course. dr white is amazing and really knowledgable, there is so much to learn from him. there are also ton of resources for you to do well. you can do it!!

von Pauline Z

17. Juni 2020

Great in many points! Sometimes very hard, but worth it.

I would have love to have more courses on cognition and emotions.

The videos are great and the quality of the course is truly enjoyable. The teacher is also great and is a very good speaker, easy to understand, to follow.

von Thin Y

31. Okt. 2020

Lenoard E.White is an excellent teacher. It is a great course that gives us a lot of interesting points and knowledge about Neuroscience. It helps me a lot in learning neuroscience. I want to suggest that everyone that is interested in neuroscience should apply this course.

von Alexandre G d A

18. Dez. 2021

One of the best courses I have ever taken at all. Professor White is excellent. Can explain in a didactic, clear and objective way, but without losing the complexity and details of the topics at hand. In addition, recordings and schematics help non-native English speakers.

von Cecile D

29. Juni 2016

Really great content and teacher, and also really challenging. Hard work needed to succeed, but it's really worth it ! Recommend it for all person interested in understanding how the brain (and all the superior brain functions such as memory, cognition, emotions...) works.

von Dr R P

12. März 2021

A great experience - learning and understanding a very complicated science.

After completing this course, I am confident that I can learn anything, however difficult or complex the subject is.

let me express a very sincere thanks to Prof White and his team. Thank you!

von Ahmed F F

4. Sep. 2020

Absolutely Fantastic course by Professor Len White... Highly recommended for anybody with interest in the field of Neuroscience as this course gives you a great basic concept and a depth of knowledge in the subject and continuously encourages to learn more and improve.

von Angello D

25. Sep. 2020

It has been an excellent experience, the course is really well organized and professor Leonard White is very good at explaining all neuroscience topics. Neurosciences fascinate me and I found this course the best course I have ever taken so far. I highly recommend it.

von Marc L

25. Juli 2017

Excellent in-depth course. Many great features, including very rich extra materials and study tools.

One annoyance: the infinite repeating of the "core neuroscience concepts" at the start of each little section (yes, we know the brain is complex!), but easy to skip.

von Kajol V S

1. Juli 2020

Loved this course at a great extent. helped me learn a lot in fair depth. very very grateful to Mr. White for putting so much efforts in preparing this course for us. his love for the brain reflects throughout the course which makes it even more interesting to study.

von YUAN Y

25. Mai 2020

I love this course!

I enrolled in this course a year ago but cannot understand very well (I found it was an advanced course but I was just a beginner). Now I have read and learned more about Neuroscience and I finally finished this course. I feel very proud of myself!

von Roberto L

14. Feb. 2021

Many thanks to Professor Leonard White and his team at Duke.

His passion for this area reveals in this course and was an inspiration for me to continue.

He and the team can bring closer neuroscience for everyone. This a true merit and something that makes them great.

von Simonov O

2. Apr. 2017

An interesting and wonderful course, which gives a deep knowledge of the anatomy and physiology of the nervous system, and also reveals the mechanisms of different pathologies. It will be useful to both students and doctors. Thank you, Dr. White! You are the best!

von Claudio E C

20. März 2021

Realmente es un curso maravilloso, atrapante y demandante no fue ni es sencillo , pero enriquecedor en el conocimiento de la Neurociencia .Realmente agradecido por el conocimiento recibido a traves de las clases del Dr White; un Profesor con todas las letras.

von Hanish S

27. Juli 2020

Being a medical student, this course was an adventure! Dr. White is great at what he is doing so if you want to learn medical neuroscience and how brain works (Which is nothing short of magic) Then you truly need to go through this course under his guidance!!!

von Kesha M

15. Okt. 2016

I am surgical resident from India very much interested in pursuing a course in Neurosurgery. This course has set the ground for my preparation. Dr.White is just amazing in explaining complex neurological concepts in a easily understandable way. Thank you !!!

von Li Q

5. Aug. 2021

This is the best course that I have ever taken. Professor White gave a wonderful presentation in every class. Also, whole course are designed based on logistic path, which makes this course understandable and accessible for everyone! Highly Recommended!

von Adriana C L

9. Nov. 2019

Best online course I have ever taken (and it´s been quite a long list of them). Professor White made it all clear, easy to understand and quite a joy to study. Thanks for all the hard work behind this course. It was hard work but it was all worth it.

von Dietlinde S

8. Jan. 2021

An immense amount of in depth, fascinating material presented in an engaging, challenging manner. Dr White clearly loves his area of expertise and teaches with enthusiasm for his subject matter and respect for his students. An amazing opportunity.

von Khadim H C

4. Juli 2018

An out class course from Duke University Medical School. Prof Leunord White Is a well known authority on Neuroscience. Through his extensive research on Brain and Spinal cord anatomy he and his colleagues have prepared a lovely course for coursera.

von Кирилл С

13. Juni 2017

This course is outstanding! A lot of complicated things are very accessibly explained. Regular links between anatomy and physiology really help not to get lost in brain complexity. I feel much more competent after listening to the lectures.

Thanks!