Chevron Left
Zurück zu Medical Neuroscience

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Medical Neuroscience von Duke University

4.9
Sterne
2,072 Bewertungen
591 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Medical Neuroscience explores the functional organization and neurophysiology of the human central nervous system, while providing a neurobiological framework for understanding human behavior. In this course, you will discover the organization of the neural systems in the brain and spinal cord that mediate sensation, motivate bodily action, and integrate sensorimotor signals with memory, emotion and related faculties of cognition. The overall goal of this course is to provide the foundation for understanding the impairments of sensation, action and cognition that accompany injury, disease or dysfunction in the central nervous system. The course will build upon knowledge acquired through prior studies of cell and molecular biology, general physiology and human anatomy, as we focus primarily on the central nervous system. This online course is designed to include all of the core concepts in neurophysiology and clinical neuroanatomy that would be presented in most first-year neuroscience courses in schools of medicine. However, there are some topics (e.g., biological psychiatry) and several learning experiences (e.g., hands-on brain dissection) that we provide in the corresponding course offered in the Duke University School of Medicine on campus that we are not attempting to reproduce in Medical Neuroscience online. Nevertheless, our aim is to faithfully present in scope and rigor a medical school caliber course experience. This course comprises six units of content organized into 12 weeks, with an additional week for a comprehensive final exam: - Unit 1 Neuroanatomy (weeks 1-2). This unit covers the surface anatomy of the human brain, its internal structure, and the overall organization of sensory and motor systems in the brainstem and spinal cord. - Unit 2 Neural signaling (weeks 3-4). This unit addresses the fundamental mechanisms of neuronal excitability, signal generation and propagation, synaptic transmission, post synaptic mechanisms of signal integration, and neural plasticity. - Unit 3 Sensory systems (weeks 5-7). Here, you will learn the overall organization and function of the sensory systems that contribute to our sense of self relative to the world around us: somatic sensory systems, proprioception, vision, audition, and balance senses. - Unit 4 Motor systems (weeks 8-9). In this unit, we will examine the organization and function of the brain and spinal mechanisms that govern bodily movement. - Unit 5 Brain Development (week 10). Next, we turn our attention to the neurobiological mechanisms for building the nervous system in embryonic development and in early postnatal life; we will also consider how the brain changes across the lifespan. - Unit 6 Cognition (weeks 11-12). The course concludes with a survey of the association systems of the cerebral hemispheres, with an emphasis on cortical networks that integrate perception, memory and emotion in organizing behavior and planning for the future; we will also consider brain systems for maintaining homeostasis and regulating brain state....

Top-Bewertungen

MG
14. Jan. 2021

This course was a great opportunity for me to understand the world of neurology and helped me to clear all the ambiguities regarding the complex mechanisms that are happening in our beautiful brains.

KT
21. Nov. 2018

I leant so much without even realising it until I got to the final exams and all this knowledge was making sense. Amazing lecturer with so much wisdom in the area. The course is very well delivered.

Filtern nach:

201 - 225 von 580 Bewertungen für Medical Neuroscience

von Dengrong J

17. Juli 2018

Very comprehensive and in-depth! Dr. White explains things nicely. A wonderful part of this course is that it always links the science of nervous systems to the clinical symptoms.

von Emma S

31. Aug. 2017

This is a very detailed and well-taught course. Prof White's enthusiasm for both the subject and teaching is apparent, and it's hard not to be infected by a love for neuroscience.

von Eva P d A R

17. Juni 2017

Amazing course, I am deeply grateful for having the opportunity to enroll in Medical Neuroscience and learn so much. Thank you very much, professor White and the rest of the staff

von Renato B B

12. Mai 2019

Excellent Professor , excellent course, I learned a lot, improved my knowledge, evolves a lot. I'm very grateful

Renato Bestetti , MD , Ribeirão Preto , São Paulo State , Brazil

von Sharvaree D

1. Mai 2020

Excellent course.

A bit difficult though.all credit to Prof Leonard White for making such diff course interesting and understandable.

Thanks to the entire team of DUKE UNIVERSITY.

von beatriz a c

26. Okt. 2016

Amazing course and very complete. I do not advise it to beginner students, since it goes very deep into the study of the brain. But I totally recommend for high degree students.

von Srinivas

17. Mai 2020

Big Thanks to Dr. White , Ellen Vos-Wisse & his team. This is the best course experience I ever had with MOOCS and offline-classes I attended. My heartful regards to Dr. White

von AP

19. Sep. 2019

Amazing. This is what my medical neuroscience course in graduate school SHOULD have been. Dr. White is an excellent instructor, and the supplementary materials are excellent.

von Hermenegilda K

21. Juli 2016

Wonderful. You need a lot of motivation beacuse it is full of (great) content, so the "lazy days" may come, but even if you fail to finish this course it is totally worth it.

von Rogerio d L e S

9. Juni 2017

Excelente curso, superou todas as minhas expectativas. Recomendo a todos o desafio de superar a si mesmo dedicando aos estudos. Curso "Qualidade" de 1º Mundo. Recomendo.

von David C G

16. Okt. 2016

The best course I have ever studied through internet. I quit due to a matter of not enough spare time to devote. I hope I will be able to finish it in the near future.

von Jessica P E

6. Sep. 2020

I love the way Prof White explains the materials. It was not boring at all and I was able to understand easily. Thank you so much Coursera for providing this course!

von Sushmitha

26. Sep. 2016

Four months back, I barely knew few terms in the context of Brain. And today, I'm capable of diagnosing neurological disorders. Immense amount of knowledge gained!

von Khristine P

8. Mai 2020

Very good course. Dr. White and his team did an excellent job making this seemingly daunting course into a more understandable and a more relatable one. Thank you.

von Jxq@umich.edu

6. Okt. 2018

Excellent course! Dr. White taught the neuroanatomy in a clear way and everything makes sense! Really wish that there are more materials for neuropathophysiology.

von Justin Z

11. Juni 2020

Prof. White set the bar high for online courses. Solid teacher. Seems like a kind dude. And I learned a ton of stuff in a field I just started exploring recently.

von Bernarda X G B

24. Nov. 2020

An excellent and very challenging course, I have learned a lot and it has motivated me to keep me learning. Thanks Prof. Dr. Leonard White and Duke University.

von Sanjoy B

14. Juni 2020

Amazing content and seriously informative. Anyone who is curious about functioning of brain and its structure must take this course. It's very serious stuff.

von Li Y

18. Juni 2017

It took me a lot of hard work to complete this course. But it's really a great course and I'm very glad that I make it to the end. Thank you Duke University.

von Dr. M N G

23. Okt. 2020

Learning from Dr White is a life time privilege... I never got concepts as deep and clear as I got from Dr White... Thank You for being an excellent teacher

von Venkateshwaran S

14. Juli 2020

Excellent Course . Thank you -Dr Leonard White and all his staff at Duke University. You have ignited latent interest in Neuroscience among many people.

von Zeff C

24. Nov. 2020

Excellent course. It's really challenging (specially for me because I have no background in health sciences, I'm an engineer) but it's definitely worth it.

von Jaclyn M

28. Okt. 2019

I learned so much! One thing that became very obvious to me is that no matter how much I do learn, there is always more to learn about the brain! THANK YOU

von 游露灵

28. Okt. 2016

It's a wonderful course, very helpful to my further study in neuroscience. Would be better if the captions of tutorial videos do not have so many mistakes.