Chevron Left
Zurück zu Mountains 101

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Mountains 101 von University of Alberta

4.9
Sterne
2,307 Bewertungen
864 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Mountains 101­­ is a broad and integrated overview of the mountain world. This 12-lesson course covers an interdisciplinary field of study focusing on the physical, biological, and human dimensions of mountain places in Alberta, Canada, and around the world. Specifically, we'll study the geological origins of mountains, how they’re built-up and worn-down over time; we’ll learn about their importance for biodiversity and water cycles, globally and locally; we’ll explore their cultural significance to societies around the globe, and how that relationship has evolved over time; and we’ll learn how mountains are used, how they’re protected, and how today they’re experiencing rapid change in a warming climate. At the end of each lesson, Mountains 101 will also provide learners with some smart tricks -- Tech Tips -- to safely enjoy time in the high alpine environment: from how to pick the best footwear for hiking to making smart decisions in avalanche terrain. We’ll be delivering your online lessons from valley bottoms to mountaintops, from museums and labs, to alpine huts and other spectacular alpine sites, and we’ll do so with the help of a whole host of experts. We invite you to join us for this online adventure! The mountains are calling......

Top-Bewertungen

DD

2. Nov. 2021

Great course, full of useful knowledge, interesting facts, magnificent landscapes and surprises like mountains environment itself. It was just amazing! Thank you so much, I really enjoyed this course.

DA

11. Feb. 2021

Great fun, I really enjoyed this course. Sometimes the dialogue was somewhat repetitive but overall you can see a lot of effort went into finding experts and giving quality, accompanying video clips.

Filtern nach:

301 - 325 von 867 Bewertungen für Mountains 101

von Albert

8. Apr. 2018

Congratulations for this excellent course! And congratulations for your excellent Canada Prime Minister! it was a surprise to heard him! An exemple to follow for the rest of politicians around the world :-)

von André W S

16. Juli 2020

Very infformative, full of good videos and very well taught by the professors. I enjoyed it, big time. Looking forward for a continuation! Thank you so much for the opportunity! Love, from southern Brazil!

von Eva F

14. März 2017

I very much enjoyed this great and well presented course! It helped broaden my knowledge of mountains as so many different environmental and societal aspects were discussed. Looking forward to follow-ups!

von Amber M

1. Feb. 2019

Loved the course and learning an all around study of mountains from history to preservation to the wildlife and biodiversity. Also appreciated the tech tips! This is a great course for all nature lovers.

von Bret L

15. Nov. 2018

Absolutely amazing course! It is full of information that provides a great starting point to learn more in a variety of mountain subjects. Also, all throughout the course are amazing videos and imagery!

von Denis S

3. Nov. 2021

Great course, full of useful knowledge, interesting facts, magnificent landscapes and surprises like mountains environment itself. It was just amazing! Thank you so much, I really enjoyed this course.

von KARUHANGA T

10. Apr. 2021

Very useful material for further understanding of the mountains and their dynamics, aspects and in general the mountains themselves and how they aid society and very various ways. I greatly appreciate.

von luca B

5. Mai 2021

Entertaining and interesting subject. This course gives us a perfect overview of mountains' importance on our environment and their value to our lives as a human. Thank you for this incredible course.

von Nancy L M

21. Juli 2020

Fascinating facts. Memorable images. Engaging instructors and commentators. Gets it just right as a presentation for "101" learners as to breadth and depth of content, explanation and enthusiasm.

von Andy W

20. Dez. 2021

T​his was a real eye opener to the outside world and how wildlife, people, and plants manage to continue to live in the mountains. It was a truly imformative course that i will recommend to others.

von Anindya M

2. März 2022

A wonderful all round introduction to the mountains! Enjoyed every minute of learning. Thank you University of Alberta for putting together such a course and making it available through Coursera.

von Robert H

7. Jan. 2021

An excllent introduuction to mountains and the complex interactions that occur there. I really enjoyed the interdisciplinary components and the human interaction in the course. Well done U ofA!

von Fazla Z A

10. Aug. 2020

Awesome content and video production. Very interesting and covers a wide range of topics. As some that enjoys mountain recreations, it is a good primer on the environment I spend so much time in.

von Tseng-Mau Y

20. Apr. 2020

Awesome content and video production. Very interesting and covers a wide range of topics. As some that enjoys mountain recreations, it is a good primer on the environment I spend so much time in.

von Jeanne B

11. Juni 2021

Great course, well organized and presented. A large amount of information, but not overwhelming. I highly recommend this course and hope that soon there will be a sequel Mountains 102 or 201 ...

von Neil H

10. Apr. 2020

This was a great way to learn and spend time in a valuable way during isolation while I can't physically be in the mountains. Can't wait to see what knowledge sticks the next time I'm out there!

von Liza v G

21. Juni 2018

Thanks to Zac Robinson and David Hic and all the other ones. Nice voices, good music, beautiful pictures. Very interesting. I have enjoyed this course very much. Good Luck and Love from Holland.

von Charles T

2. Mai 2020

Extremely informative and well presented by the professors. The added insight of various other scientists and members of Parks Canada amplified the understanding of lesson subjects. Thank you!!

von Carlos B G

8. Jan. 2021

This is the best coursera course I have taken so far. I have enjoyed every minute of it. The content is superb, the guest speakers are very interesting and the main instructors are excellent.

von Paolo P

11. Juni 2020

Right, I just basically DEVOUR this course! What a joy! Great videos, great interactive material and what a scenery! Of course, there is also a great amount of really, really good information!

von Talha K

25. Mai 2020

Amazing scenic views on the backdrop of all lectures. I am in love with the Canadian Rockies. May God grant the neighboring US with a sane president who is not a climate change denier as well.

von Redvers F C

8. Mai 2020

I can honestly say that this course is the best course that I have ever studied in my life. I have learned so much about mountains and I will always appreciate everything to do with mountains.

von Camilo A G M

1. Aug. 2017

Excellent course, it's very complete and it reaches several disciplines, making it an integral course. Besides, it's interactive and it gives a lot of examples. Thanks for such a great course!

von Nibesh S

27. Juni 2020

Definitely the best MOOC I have completed. Excellent video presentations from the instructors, great examples and some surprise guest speakers who just made this course even more interesting.

von omoding d

8. Apr. 2021

it's really been a great platform to appreciate nature, especially mountainous landscapes, and its roles. they play in our well-being and the planet at large thanks for allowing me to learn.