Chevron Left
Zurück zu Mountains 101

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Mountains 101 von University of Alberta

4.9
Sterne
2,307 Bewertungen
864 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Mountains 101­­ is a broad and integrated overview of the mountain world. This 12-lesson course covers an interdisciplinary field of study focusing on the physical, biological, and human dimensions of mountain places in Alberta, Canada, and around the world. Specifically, we'll study the geological origins of mountains, how they’re built-up and worn-down over time; we’ll learn about their importance for biodiversity and water cycles, globally and locally; we’ll explore their cultural significance to societies around the globe, and how that relationship has evolved over time; and we’ll learn how mountains are used, how they’re protected, and how today they’re experiencing rapid change in a warming climate. At the end of each lesson, Mountains 101 will also provide learners with some smart tricks -- Tech Tips -- to safely enjoy time in the high alpine environment: from how to pick the best footwear for hiking to making smart decisions in avalanche terrain. We’ll be delivering your online lessons from valley bottoms to mountaintops, from museums and labs, to alpine huts and other spectacular alpine sites, and we’ll do so with the help of a whole host of experts. We invite you to join us for this online adventure! The mountains are calling......

Top-Bewertungen

DD

2. Nov. 2021

Great course, full of useful knowledge, interesting facts, magnificent landscapes and surprises like mountains environment itself. It was just amazing! Thank you so much, I really enjoyed this course.

DA

11. Feb. 2021

Great fun, I really enjoyed this course. Sometimes the dialogue was somewhat repetitive but overall you can see a lot of effort went into finding experts and giving quality, accompanying video clips.

Filtern nach:

326 - 350 von 867 Bewertungen für Mountains 101

von Karthaus R

16. März 2021

A complete survey of the mountains and their role in the mondial climate, the historical development of the earth in time, their footprint on our climate and future of the world in general.

von Ignacio F D

11. Juli 2020

Amazing, im a 17 year old student from Argentina, and I loved this course. Thank you so much to the University of Alberta and Coursera to giving me the oportunity of completing this course.

von Marjorie F L

30. Dez. 2020

Some interesting info and the photos were wonderful.

There was a problem with Lesson 5 - the first time I completed it it didn't register so I had to do it twice to 'complete' the course.

von Becky F

29. Okt. 2019

Incredible mixture of geography, biology, conservation policy, biodiversity, art, culture, literature and social issues!! Entertaining, engaging, interesting, informative, 10/10 recommend.

von Virginia N F C

19. Sep. 2017

thank you very much for thic curse. I connected to mountain environments even more. tahnk you for taking the time for preparing this course and leaving it open and free for the world.

von Yugansh B

10. Juli 2020

I refer this course to all nature lovers. It is an interdisciplinary course. You will learn how to survive on mountains, reasons behind the experiences you will face in the mountains

von David K

1. Juli 2020

Very interesting course! I love the field aspect of the course more maybe because I'm a field geologist . The course gave me more understanding about what mountains are in real life.

von Ang W C

27. März 2017

This course is absolutely wonderful and educational. I should get back to hiking. How did you guys manage to get Justin Trudeau to give a speech for this course? Thank you very much.

von Amy D

23. Feb. 2021

I loved this course, it was full of information and each week was engaging and fascinating. I also loved the test at the end! Thank you for making the course free, it was brilliant!

von ABDU S M

28. Sep. 2020

Awesome Course!

Excellent lecture classes. I learnt many terms and concepts from this course.

Thank you COURSERA, University of Alberta and the most respected professors and lectures.

von Vinci A

13. Juli 2020

Informative, engaging, and beautifully done. Not only has it instilled a deeper and renewed appreciation for mountains, but it also made me extra proud of to be Canadian. Thank you.

von robea i

1. Mai 2020

Very nice & interactive course .Quite rich in information and very nice applied examples regarding the given information. Also the maps were a nice touch to this course . Thank you!

von Kubčo T

30. Apr. 2017

This course helped me a lot during my intensive studies for exam at my University. I would like to thanks all contributors and authors for achieving this great piece of good job :)

von Danielle R

10. März 2017

I enjoyed watching the videos and learning about the mountains all over the world. Was a well laid out course, very informative and enjoyed the video clips throughout the talking.

von David B

29. Jan. 2020

A Beautifully constructed course that does great justice for the topic of Mountains! It was a pleasure and a joy to take this course, and I will always remember what I learned. :)

von Mark H

2. Apr. 2017

Absolutely enjoyable. Great introduction to mountains: not dumbed down or diluted; covers an expansive range of topics; very well produced videos that keep the viewer interested.

von mark d

19. Feb. 2021

A fun beginners course to the mountains. I enjoyed it thoroughly & found it thought provoking.

The only part of Videos I did not enjoy was the cameo appearance of Justin....Yuck.

von Miguel A R L

3. Aug. 2020

Great, very interesting course, a wide look through the mountains diversities. A challenge start point to explore the high lands with new tools.

Tanks professors Robinson and Hik

von Dave S

17. Juni 2020

Amazing instructors, very knowledgeable on the subjects, well put together videos, as well as guest speakers (felt like a field trip) and outdoor tips. Thanks for the experience

von Mohamed M A E

29. Jan. 2019

I really enjoyed sharing and following this wonderful course. Very well designed, organized and professionally presented.

Many thanks and hope to see you again in another course.

von Deleted A

1. Mai 2018

What a great course. On top of learning a lot about mountains, there are suggestions for extra resources (articles, books, videos) at the end of every week's worth of material.

von Marian Z

28. Juni 2020

I've loved everything about this course. And you can learn quite a lot from 12 lessons.

Thanks to professor Hik and professor Robinson the lessons are very easy to understand.

von Randy S

10. Aug. 2017

This course was my perfect re-introduction to learning. I haven't taken courses for approximately 20+ years and Mountains 101 was fun and engaging. Recommended to everyone.

von Jennifer D

5. Feb. 2021

Well planned, diversity of topics covered provided many insights, beautiful imagery and detailed discussions with experts all contributed to a fantastic learning experience.

von Pooja S

30. März 2020

I thank Dr Zac Robinson and Dr David Hik for teaching extraodinarly. I thank coursera for having this topic. I love mountains and after learning this subject i love it more.