Chevron Left
Zurück zu Getting Started With Music Theory

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Getting Started With Music Theory von Michigan State University

4.5
Sterne
533 Bewertungen
182 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course is a brief introduction to the elements of music theory for those with little or no music theory experience. We will explore pitch, rhythm, meter, notation, scales, keys, key signatures, meter signatures, triads, seventh chords, and basic harmony. If you listen to music or play music by ear, and you want to know more about how music is organized and notated, this course is for you. By the end of the course, you should know all major and minor keys, how to read and write in treble and bass clef using standard meters and rhythmic values, and how to notate and harmonize a simple melody. This course can serve as a stand-alone basic music theory course, or it can be a springboard to more advanced theory and composition courses. Your instructor is Bruce Taggart, Associate Professor of Music Theory at Michigan State University, in the College of Music, where he has taught undergraduate and graduate music theory since 1996....

Top-Bewertungen

WV

Aug 21, 2020

Course was quite tough , eventually I had given up on this course, but consistency made me learn and I went through rigorous learning in finding the chords and middle C notes. Yes I made it in the end

CM

Jul 23, 2020

Fantastic lectures and very easy-to-understand, hard to master lessons. This course will leave you with a much deeper understanding of music if you are a beginner to music theory like I am.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 181 Bewertungen für Getting Started With Music Theory

von Richard R O

Feb 19, 2019

Great course for anyone trying to enter the world of music theory and even better for someone with a little bit of a background on music. There are some problems with the in-lesson questions where you have to pause a number of times to actually view the thing that is being asked and then proceed to the question.

Also you will need a lot of complementary material to get most of this course but in general this was great, totally recommended.

von Matthew T

Nov 14, 2017

Really informative course, great little introduction to music theory - only complaint I would have is that on some of the lectures, the question flashes up really quickly and without any link to a picture in the question, meaning you have to keep clicking back to earlier in the lecture to see what you are actually answering the question on!

von Laurel J

Dec 14, 2019

I am giving it 2 stars for several reasons. The main reason was the in video questions usually were asked about a pic seen very briefly before the question was asked. Half of these did not have a link to the pic. in question. Making you have to guess. Another reason is the teacher was pouring out tons of info but in such a fast pace and not in a language a beginner understands. Half the course I felt lost. Last, I am marked ad partial completion only because I am auditing the course, I watched everything, read everything, answered the discussion questions and everything else I needed to do. I did not take the tests because they were locked for paid participants, but I should show a completed for an audit like other courses do.

von spoorthi y

Jun 15, 2020

i feel the basic are not really thought but they are expected to be implied in the exams. really tried to make up with the lesson and tests but the basics still being thought to a beginner are incomplete. i found so many other sources who are teaching just out of passion and no experience in a much clear and easy way that i had to go and listen to their classes and then come back to attempting few questions here. i don't think how these MOOC classes are supposed to work. no offence but maybe there are a lot of people finding this class perfect but for a beginner like me its still difficult.

von Deleted A

Jun 16, 2020

This course is not "getting started" it's more "Halfway to the top and then some".

If I had actual musical experience, then I would be much happier to learn. I do not and am finding this course so difficult. My ears are not trained to hear specific notes and the first week doesn't give you enough to train them. I don't understand the staves and how a f,a,c,e can all of a sudden be an e3. What is that?

My fault for assuming this would be entry level with no previous experience needed to learn the basics of music theory, but this course is 100% for someone who is seasoned in the music arts.

von Layth A M

May 03, 2020

I've learned a lot from this course. I've started out not knowing much about music theory and now I can even read sheet music. I'm a self taught guitarist and I've been playing for more than 12 years now, and I must say that it this course would have been impossible, had I not already known the basics through my over 10 years of practice. I certainly wasn't able to name triads or intervals, but I knew some basic chords and could tell what kind of notes I was playing. All in all, I'd definitely recommend this course to whoever is trying to get started with music theory, though keep in mind, that it requires a lot of work and memorisation.

von Silvia R L

Jun 16, 2020

This course has helped me understand many things about music I always thought were difficult. The way the syllabus is structured is really good to build on previous knowledge. The videos were easy to follow and the amount of information in each of them, as well as the extra material were enough to understand without being overwhelming. I liked the quizzes because they helped me reinforce what I was learning. Many thanks for this course, it was a very enjoyanle experience.

von HARIPRASAD M

Jul 31, 2020

This course has provided me with an excellent background to study music more in-depth. I am grateful to the faculty and Coursera for this opportunity. I will use this knowledge and will try to learn more about music. The exams will test your knowledge and you will need to listen to the class with rapt attention to pass the exams. The last quiz has some problems with its answers, other than that it is a well-structured course.

von Li H

Jul 31, 2020

The course is very well-structured. Each week, the knowledge builds on top of the previous week's learnt information, forcing learners to revise and make use of what was previously taught. This helps reinforce concepts and hastens memorisation. At the same time, there are many quizzes, which aids practice and puts our new knowledge to the test.

von Bobby S

Apr 25, 2020

Amazing course, but very difficult to follow at times! I learned a lot and now have a better understanding on how triads, chords, and lead sheets work. However, if you are a true beginner like me, you definitely need to watch the videos several times to understand certain concepts. Music theory is not easy at all.

von Aneesh A

May 26, 2020

A very good and challenging course to get started with music theory. It might get a little tough for someone who doesn't have a musical background. However, both the course contents and the instructor are great for anyone who wants to understand the basics of musical notation and theory.

von Farah K K

May 07, 2020

I loved every bit of this course, it's very challenging and puts one to really learn about music theory. I never thought I'd cover that much info in such little time! It's a great start, and I'll definitely keep on going.

Thank you so much for that!

von T. P K

May 19, 2020

It's really a fascinating course on music and I appreciate the way the lecturer taught the lessons so simply, and the assignments were so helpful and I learned so much and enjoyed a lot, thanks to the mentor and to the Coursera online platform!

von BERENICE C V

May 30, 2020

Da muy buenas bases acerca de la teoría musical, perfecto para quienes van iniciando, ciertamente a veces es un poco difícil entender algunos temas, pero es muy buen curso, aprenderás lo básico y como aplicarlo con ejemplos.

von Joseph P

Aug 12, 2020

This course offered exactly what I was looking for in a beginner's level music theory class. I think it could benefit from some more intuitive graphic illustrations, but it was well executed and delivered what was promised.

von Andres G

Jun 05, 2020

Many thanks to professor Taggart, this course is very explicative for a beginner level and it has many examples and excersices here and in another pages via lectures for a good understanding in music theory

von Wankhade A V

Aug 21, 2020

Course was quite tough , eventually I had given up on this course, but consistency made me learn and I went through rigorous learning in finding the chords and middle C notes. Yes I made it in the end

von Cristian O V

Aug 15, 2020

Curso muy bueno, aún así, me costó responder los cuestionarios, ya que no están traducidos como los videos, eso me dificultó un poco el desempeño en las pruebas, pero de igual manera salí airoso.

von Vladyslav Z

Jul 08, 2020

Great course! Hard enough, but I've felt like studying again after a long pause. Enjoyed the process. Now I started believing in the online education. Thank you for making this course available!

von Connor M

Jul 23, 2020

Fantastic lectures and very easy-to-understand, hard to master lessons. This course will leave you with a much deeper understanding of music if you are a beginner to music theory like I am.

von Soufiane B

Apr 18, 2020

A very good and well organized course,. My special thanks to Mr Bruce Taggart for his efforts and for all the team of the university of Michigan who make this happen. Thank you a lot.

von Daniel K

Aug 03, 2020

I've found this course a very straightforward and helpful way to learn the basics of music theory. Prof. Taggart explains the material in a straightforward way.

von DUTT K T

Jun 20, 2020

This course was very helpful as i earned a basic knowledge of music theory...........and also it is the best for the beginners who are keen in learning music.

von Samhita J

Sep 06, 2020

Nicely taught by the teacher. Excellent for Beginners. But since most, if not all, of the things were new for me, it took time to digest and practice those.

von Hugo C

May 04, 2020

Excellent course and teacher. Recommended to anyone willing to commit to the task since it's a lot to learn in just 4 weeks. Thank you Professor Taggart.