Chevron Left
Zurück zu Social Norms, Social Change I

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Social Norms, Social Change I von University of Pennsylvania

4.6
Sterne
1,892 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Top-Bewertungen

EC

21. Feb. 2022

This course opened my mind as to understand what moves people to do and/or think the way they do -and how to measure it- in order to be able to correctly intervene for social change. Simply amazing.

PE

5. März 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 478 Bewertungen für Social Norms, Social Change I

von Oana V N

28. Dez. 2019

An essential course for helping professionals. I can't wait to read professor's Bicchieri work on social norms!

von Albert B

15. Jan. 2019

An awesome, concise, and detailed introduction to understanding how to approach social norms and social change.

von Carlo

27. Nov. 2016

Socially relevant philosophy and psychology: great material! Crystal clear! Everyone should watch this course.

von Rodrigo S

23. Juli 2017

Very good course, helped me to understand some of the social behaviors that I am conditioned in my country.

von Sarah M

11. März 2018

Brilliant course, interactive and broken down manageable pieces of information. Would highly recommend!

von 鈴木日出海

29. Jan. 2019

The professor explain so clear, but the content is so productive and fruitful.

Thank you so much Sir!!

von ANANT S

4. Aug. 2018

Very good course...........Good Experience...........Easy to Operate it online...........Well Drafted

von Ahmed M E

10. Feb. 2018

Very Important course for all those who work in areas of community development and behavioral change

von Farhad B

23. Feb. 2020

It was a very nice course.

Thank you, Thank Coursera and Thank dear teacher and UNICEF.

Best Regards

von Godwin K

17. Sep. 2017

It has been enlightening and fulfilling! More of what I should have known 10 years ago! So great!

von Najib A A A A

1. Mai 2020

It is an important course for all workers in social work and leaders of change in their societies

von Musa Y S

30. Dez. 2019

Dear Professor Cristina Bicchieri just was amazingly present that course for us thank u so much

von Hafþór L

16. Okt. 2018

This course is really worth your time and opens new world to your and everyone else's behaviour

von Shrabanti K

11. Juni 2020

This is such an wonderful course i have with an amazing instructor, she is really really good.

von Vertika H S

9. Aug. 2019

the course really helps one understand the social issues prevalent all across the globe.

von Ayush J

15. Aug. 2019

Excellent course for development communicators, and social norms change practicioners.

von Salman K

10. Mai 2019

The course was really helpful and pedagogy used in the course was very user friendly.

von Abdula K

25. Juli 2020

Good information but i felt a little bored during the lectures.

von Ivana V

19. Feb. 2020

It would have been more interesting if the focus wasn't predominantly on theory which is all quite similar and gets kind of dull after a while. Including more diverse practical examples, or even better presenting case studies would have made the course much better for me.

von Zohre S

6. Apr. 2020

I've learnt some interesting useful terms like "reference network" to describe daily struggles but I wish I could intellectually challenge myself more. Another significant downside to the course is the examples and the colonial mentality behind them!

von Juan E

4. März 2019

No es suficientemente claro en las explicaciones por lo tanto las opciones de respuestas a los cuestionarios complican mas la percepción de haber o no comprendido los conceptos.

von Cheryl C

9. Apr. 2020

The class was well taught; However, I would have preferred more examples. That is more applications across different topics where the need for social change is indicated.

von Danielle G

26. März 2017

It was alright ..confusing at times an seemed a bit convoluted. someone needs to come up with a better way to explain these concepts so that they are not so jumbled.

von Winnifred R L

11. Juni 2017

This course covers a lot of definitions and basics so is less engaging than the second course but it is certainly worth working through. A great enterprise!

von RECEP B

22. Feb. 2020

4.Haftanın videolarında Türkçe altyazı olmadığı için pek anlayamadım.4 haftanın videolarına Türkçe altyazı eklenmeli.Onun dışında güzel bir kurstu.