Chevron Left
Zurück zu Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Physical Sciences

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Physical Sciences von The University of Edinburgh

4.6
456 Bewertungen
87 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

What is the origin of our universe? What are dark matter and dark energy? This is the first part of the course 'Philosophy and the Sciences', dedicated to Philosophy of the Physical Sciences. Scientific research across the physical sciences has raised pressing questions for philosophers. The goal of this course is to introduce you to some of the main areas and topics at the key juncture between philosophy and the physical sciences. Each week we will introduce you to some of these important questions at the forefront of scientific research. We will explain the science behind each topic in a simple, non-technical way, while also addressing the philosophical and conceptual questions arising from it. We’ll consider questions about the origin and evolution of our universe, the nature of dark energy and dark matter and the role of anthropic reasoning in the explanation of our universe. Learning Objectives Gain a fairly well-rounded view on selected areas and topics at the intersection of philosophy and the sciences Understand some key questions, and conceptual problems arising in the natural sciences. Develop critical skills to evaluate and assess these problems. Suggested Reading To accompany 'Philosophy and the Sciences', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Philosophy and the Sciences' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy and the Sciences team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please note, this companion book is optional - all the resources needed to complete the course are available freely and listed on the course site....

Top-Bewertungen

DL

Nov 27, 2017

Many of the mathematical elements were beyond me, but the instructors presented the material in such a way that it really demonstrated the art of philosophical thinking about the field of science.

KK

Jun 07, 2018

Nice slides.Lectures are well prepared .Quizzes are relevant to the subject and thoughtfully worded so that even wrong choices also contribute to the knowledge of the study material.

Filtern nach:

76 - 86 von 86 Bewertungen für Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Physical Sciences

von Vinay R V

Apr 07, 2018

The course is wonderful and is the best for a person like me who is into philosophy and science. This course gives an excellent demonstration of the thought and the structure that goes into the scientific research and study. This course also gives the brief introduction to cosmology and explains the principles of philosophy giving instances in its history. The thing that I would like to see in this course improved is that the slides of come of the teachers are not in the orders of the lecture.

von Joana C N T R

Oct 10, 2019

was expecting a more generalistic (not so focused on cosmology) course on episthemology

von Rebecca C

Oct 01, 2016

Found it a bit hard to follow, some aspects could've been explained in more detail.

von Gonzalo V

Sep 06, 2017

Pretty good, but some of the positions were a little poor. Judging religion with scientific parameters is simply wrong, as wrong as judging science with religious parameters; the debate between creationism and evolutionary biology is outdated at least in the creationist position; better effort to try to rescue evolutionism, and not the same on creationism. Lastly, reducing religion to "religious experience" or "tradition" or "book" or "culture" is as very poor understanding of religion.

I am a fervent and sufficiently knowledgeable catholic, but as an engineer with studies in astrophysics, I'm really open to good arguments. I would recommend one reading and one source, as a way to update some of the arguments: the reading is Fides et ratio, from John Paul II, and the source is disf.org (italian) or inters.org (english), which is a set of articles made by proffesional scholars, on interdisciplinary matters of science and faith.

Thanks a lot for an otherwise very enjoyable class!

von Cliff S

Sep 12, 2016

Though familiar with the material, the lectures made several very nice key points about the Philosophy of Science which I found useful. However there are a few issues :

-a lot of the lecturing is on a board which is hard to read

-there is a lot more science than there is Philosophy

The latter isn't necessarily a bad thing, but based on the title I expected more of the latter.

von Saqib R

Dec 04, 2016

Really informative. Equations were a bit difficult to understand. I felt that there was a bias towards anthropic principle.

von LAM Y W

Jan 03, 2018

too much mathematics equations and formulas

von Zaher A H

Jan 16, 2017

Very technical and focuses more on cosmology than on the principles of Philosophy of Science

von Joy S

Jan 07, 2017

2nd time trying this. Hard to understand subject. Short class.

von Guido B

Aug 05, 2017

I did not enjoy this course for the following reasons:

1.In the course presentation it is not specified which are the prerequisites for the learners. In this case it seems to me that the potential learner or student has got to have a good knowledge of modern astrophysics, if he or she wants to fully understand the matter as it is presented.

2. The videoclips by dr. J. Peacock are certainly clever, but are generally rather obscure and uncomprehensible by those who do not have a good knowledge of modern astrophysics. I must confess that I have understood almost nothing from those lectures, and I would not be able to repeat the arguments, even not in detail, to somebody else who does not know the subject.

3. The course slides are oftenj obscure, particularly those of weeks 3 and 4. Week 3 slides from page 13 to 42 inclusive are almost incomprehensible (even when supported by the video lecture), those of week 4 are about 50% unclear. Week 1 and 2 slides are better understandable.

4. In the philosophical part, the stress is on Duhem's, Popper's and Kuhn's theories, but for example, the Hume's critic of the cause concept is not even mentioned.

5. In the videos it is not possible to see what dr. J. Peacock writes on the whiteboard (problem of illumination during making of the videos?)

6. There is no real forum. The majority of threads are either instructor created, and contain reference for additional readings, or are rather old, dating eight monts or one year ago. So, there is no real feedback and discussions with other peers in the course.

7. I found the article, suggested as additional reading, by O. Lahav and M. Massimi, Dark Energy, Paradigm Shift, and the Role of Evidence, as well done and instructive.

von Araslanova A

May 07, 2018

Waste of Time : supereasy and shallow