Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Philosophy

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Philosophy von The University of Edinburgh

4.7
Sterne
6,665 Bewertungen
1,557 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

Top-Bewertungen

LT

Sep 02, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

SF

Jun 28, 2020

It is an excellent course for anyone who is interested in knowing more about philosophy and philosophical questions. The lectures are short and very informative! I would highly recommend this course.

Filtern nach:

201 - 225 von 1,541 Bewertungen für Introduction to Philosophy

von Hanna I

Jun 25, 2020

As brief as an introduction should be, however, at the same time covering all the main philosophic problems. I want to thank all the tutors for this wonderful course, it was a great pleasure to spend those 5 weeks in your brilliant company :)

von Elián B

Oct 02, 2015

Is for me the greatest course of philosophy I ever had, specially because of a really bad "teacher" that I just don't know how can he be teaching, but well, had been my first experience with a MOOC and couldn't be better I suppose. Greetings!

von ELIAS T

Jan 13, 2019

Muy práctico, me sorprendió positivamente que no es un curso de biografías de filósofos sino sobre pensamiento filosófico acerca de temas sumamente interesantes.

Gracias por tenerlo y felicidades a los ponentes.

Lo recomendaré en cada ocasión.

von Muaz J

May 14, 2017

Fantastic introductory course on Philosophy, with lot of resources and links. I loved it and the instructors are really lucid in their exposition. I hope Edinburgh comes up with more courses, especially Philosophy of Social Science/Economics

von Caro S

Jul 25, 2020

Excelente curso introductorio, me costó un poco porque no sé inglés y muchas declaraciones me parecieron ambiguas o majaderas, pero lo atribuyo a mi falta de comprensión, ya que no es el área a la que me dedico, aún así fue muy beneficioso.

von Valerie T

Apr 16, 2020

Great course to start learning about philosophy as a field of study! The lectures every week cover a different area of philosophy so I got a flavour of each, which I think is useful for someone just starting out and trying to find out more.

von William O P

Sep 09, 2016

Great general introduction to Philosophy. I suggest taking this philosophy course before any others because it puts a lot into perspective and it gives you a good idea of what path to take in your personal studies in philosophy and beyond.

von Jayash R M

Feb 12, 2017

A short course but introduces several areas of Philosophy. Every week there are new concepts introduced and its very interesting to listen to the teachers. Thank you University of Edinburgh, the teachers and Coursera for this good course.

von Sohail N K

Jun 08, 2017

An excellent course to make sense of philosophy... and I really loved the possibility of time travel... even though it was only an intellectual possibility ... kudos to the faculty to make it an interesting experience... thanks everyone.

von Candy L

Oct 12, 2016

for a ESL student, its really a challenge for me, but i am glad i have passed it, thank you all--the teachers, and the mentors, what an experience! since this is my first course, i'll continue my 2nd, and 3rd course, good luck to you!

von Aarya M

Aug 14, 2020

The course was absolutely riveting. It inculcates thought about every aspect of our existence while simultaneously informing us of fascinating philosophical and physical concepts. The instructors executed their lessons masterfully :)

von Hung W C C

Jul 11, 2020

This introduction bring in a lot of theories and information in relating to Philosophy. This is important to someone who want to understand what Philosophy is. The section of time travel is the most interesting section I experienced.

von Richard B

Nov 13, 2017

A wonderful experience. My most important takeaway was thinking more about the questions beyond the asked question. This course will make me a better and more informed reader, especially combined with my readings about rhetoric.

von Ujjawal S

Nov 09, 2018

Great Course. I loved the content, it covered few of the topics i used to wonder about. Really engaging teachers, they seemed that they were passionate about their topic and also had a deep understanding of the matter. Thank You.

von Halim G M

Sep 28, 2015

Such a eye-opener. Philosophy was a hobby until I ran into this course. It structure my thinking. It made me realize the schools of thought that have tackled the questions I've dived into are as many angles to view a given issue.

von Manuel G P R

Mar 27, 2019

Es perfecto para quien le gusta y quisiera tener una idea organizada de la filosofía. Las conferencias son con profesores calificados y utilizan un lenguaje claro. E invita a seguir profundizando en la materia o esta actividad.

von Siddhesh D

May 15, 2020

It has widened my horizons extensively. As long as you are someone who is even so slightly interested in thinking deeply about the wordly aspects of the world you should enroll for this course or atleast try to learn philosophy

von Benjamin M C P

Apr 14, 2017

It is very complete and wide in the optional themes treated on the course. Also you are provided with link to forums, debates, guides, and bibliography to investigate further more what caught your interest. Highly recommended!!

von Alexis O

Dec 14, 2015

I love the way this course let you embrace the basics notions of philosophy.

The only bad thing it's that I haven't found a course like this (That talks of philosophy) in this site, so I think Coursera need more of this courses.

von Marco R

May 26, 2020

Great way to get to know the big branches of philosophy, great examples, great questions to think about. This course offers the opportunity to learn to understand the world around us and to understand ourselves a little better

von z b

Aug 21, 2020

thank you Coursera and faculty of the University of Edinburgh for allowing me to get for my first time an official certificate for learning something, growing up without any kind of formal education I can't withhold my tears.

von marc k

May 28, 2019

The course was a good introduction to parts of philosophy allowing for a non philosopher to begin learning the thought processes needed to want to take the next steps in a philosophic education. Thank you to the entire staff.

von Atif G

Jun 27, 2020

Amazing Course

This course taught me the basic concept of philosophy, The way of teaching of all the teachers was very nice and interesting, the lectures were accompanied with examples which really helped a lot. Great course.

von Martín

Jan 26, 2018

Very interesting class. Includes several pathways to engage understanding of philosophy in classical and contemporary ways. The videos are clear and effective. The quizzes are really interesting. A great introductory course.

von Duygu B

Dec 29, 2016

Dave is a great narrator. He talks in an impressive way. So, everyone who watches the videos can understand it more easily. In addition to videos, there are also helpful documents. It was a very enjoyable course for me. :)