Chevron Left
Zurück zu Seeing Through Photographs

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Seeing Through Photographs von The Museum of Modern Art

4.8
Sterne
3,383 Bewertungen
924 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Although taking, sharing, and viewing photographs has become second nature for many of us, our regular engagement with images does not necessarily make us visually literate. This course aims to address the gap between seeing and truly understanding photographs by introducing a diversity of ideas, approaches, and technologies that inform their making. In this course you will look closely at photographs from the collection of The Museum of Modern Art and hear a variety of perspectives on what a photograph is and the ways that photography has been used throughout its nearly 180 year history: as a means of artistic expression, as a tool for science and exploration; as an instrument of documentation; to tell stories and record histories; and as a mode of communication and critique in our ever increasingly visual culture. Learning Objectives • Develop skills to better examine and understand the differences between photographs and photographic images. • Discover how context influences the production, circulation, and reception of photographic images. • Learn about different modes of artistic and technological experimentation and innovation in photography. • Investigate photography’s role in our increasingly visual culture....

Top-Bewertungen

AQ

Mar 09, 2016

Seeing Through Photographs has given me a whole new way of looking at my own and other peoples' work. So many aspects, details and points of view, the world of photography now seems even more amazing.

TK

May 29, 2020

Coursera gives me a platform to explore new skills. I was able to experience education from world-renowned universities without losing out on career opportunities.\n\n- Thaneshwary kirupanantharasa -

Filtern nach:

751 - 775 von 911 Bewertungen für Seeing Through Photographs

von Maria A R S

Dec 02, 2016

genial!

von Eva G

Aug 12, 2016

great!!

von Eren J

Feb 19, 2016

amazing

von Adrian A

Oct 23, 2019

Great!

von Jesús B B

Dec 28, 2016

Genial

von Massimiliano M

Mar 31, 2016

Hallo,

von Andres M

Feb 25, 2016

Great!

von Jaime M

May 31, 2020

great

von Adrián M S G

Feb 28, 2016

Great

von Jegatheesh. R

May 06, 2020

Good

von Rolando G

Feb 22, 2016

NIce

von Michel V

Jun 19, 2016

A

von JussaraNunes P d S

Jun 27, 2016

In my opinion this course is based in strong concepts and gives a good learning opportunity for those who want to understand the role of photography as a important medium. I have learned very much and, more than that, the course inspired me to keep learning by myself about the subject. I would suggest including other important names of photographers, who were/ or are key people in the history of the medium. In some way, I came out of the corse with the impression that American photography was really the focus. Photographers from other nationalities where in focus when related to US someway. I missed that the course would have a broader vision to offer about photographers that were/are relevant in that medium. Cartier-Bresson and Robert Capa for instance were merely mentioned and Helmut Newton (maybe I missed), I didn't see him mentioned.

My other suggestion is related to the quiz. Sometimes, the questions are focusing in aspects not really relevant of the theme of the week. There was a really relevant content and some questions would focus on for example the "Edson Chagas distribute his work himself or not" when his work has an important social impact to be called of the attention of the students. In the week 4, the content related to posed/unposed photography for example was not included in the quiz when it was a key part of the message of the week's theme. So, my point is to review the quiz, including content which is relevant and it might be out, and prepare the questions not necessarily focusing in aspects that are not really adding to the learning of the student.

Please feel free to ask if having interest in discuss my opinion further.

Jussara Nunes Pereira de Souza

jussaranpsouza@outlook.com

von Barbara w

Jan 10, 2017

I would give this course 4 1/2 stars. The course material was very well organized and the examples provided were for the most part very topical. the weight of the peer review at the end of the course is too high. Your peers have roughly the same knowledge as you do when you submit your assignment. They are being asked to assign a value to your submission which is really coarse...as there are only 3 choices 1 a pass, 2 not quite and 3 a fail. Considering you have done all the course work and quizzes up to the end it seems quite arbitrary.

On another note I would like to suggest a project which became a book. All too often today we view photographs in every moment of our lives but we are unaware of the the face of those creators and their iconic works. MoMA's course seems a perfect opportunity to somehow introduce the subject. the book is Behind Photographs - Archiving Photographic Legends by Tim Mantoani and MarkMurphy.

BEHIND PHOTOGRAPHS: ARCHIVING PHOTOGRAPHIC LEGENDS began as the personal quest of photographer Tim Mantoani to document and preserve noted photographers together with their images. "We have come to a point in history where we are losing both photographic recording mediums and iconic photographers,” Mantoani comments. "While many people are familiar with iconic photographs, the general public has no idea of who created them. This book became a means to do that, the photographer and their photograph in one image.”

von Carlos M

Apr 07, 2016

Great course. I have a few suggestions to make it even better:

Pros:

Videos on artists are just amazing, good quality and full of interesting information.

Organization of the modules is wonderful, it makes a lot of sense.

Optional readings are really interesting, it would be difficult for people like me from undeveloped countries, to get that kind of documentation from a prestigious museum.

Doing exams is a good way to refresh all you read on the module.

Expositors are well versed and interesting, kudos on that.

The slides sections are well designed and the format is wonderful to read on either a computer or a cellphone.

Cons:

Better scans, some of them were difficult to read, pdfs should be formatted to fit a single page in full screen. Its almost impossible to read from a cellphone.

Some of the multiple choice questions on the exams were just too much, all due respect, edX continuous examination works in a more efficient way.

I hope MoMA do another interesting course on photography, perhaps specific subjects like landscape and street photography, and all the interesting subjects around them. I'm really glad to have found this, congratulations and thanks for putting this together.

Carlos Mora

ritocs@gmail.com

von Roberto M

Jul 22, 2016

This is a good course on photography from an important institution that will show you and teach you the several aspects and topics of photography, from document to artwork. Made of six modules, each focused on a specific aspect, it provides different media to learn from, like interviews, critics and overviews, both in video and writings. All aspects are of photography are necessarily condensed and sometimes basic but many different links and suggestion on further material is given for those who want to get deeper. If you like photography, if you want to understand it better, or even if you are just curious about this medium which is today in everybody's lives, you will hardly be disappointed by this course. The only negative aspects for me were that sometimes the material was difficult to read and that sometimes subtitles were not very good, but this latter is a problem only if you are not an English motherlanguage. Instrucions on grading and final assignment aren't so easy and well them and this is a possible improvement for the organisation.

von Liliana L M

May 11, 2020

El contenido y estructura del curso me parecen adecuados. Lo que realmente me parece MUY MAL es que se deje la responsabilidad total de la calificación a los compañeros, que no tienen el cuidado necesario para revisar. En mi caso, me asignaron 0 puntos en categorías que sí que cumplí (la extensión y la elección de fotos ajenas al curso). Debido a esto, tuve que hacer un nuevo ensayo. Esto fue muy molesto y desgastante. Me parece que el responsable del curso debería asumir esta calificación final.

************

The content and structure of the course seem adequate to me. What really seems VERY BAD to me is that the full responsibility for the final rating is left to the classmates, who do not take the necessary care to review. In my case, I was assigned 0 points in categories that I really did (the length and the choice of photos outside the course). Because of this, I had to do a new essay. This was very annoying and exhausting. It seems to me that the person in charge of the course should assume this final qualification.

von Nicholas K

Mar 09, 2016

This course has been very interesting, however I believe that the mix of genre has been somewhat limited. While I respect the artistic choices and talents of all artists, I feel that the discussions in the videos for week 6 lack substance: picking up litter, photographing it, and arranging it for installation display strikes me as neither aesthetic nor documentary photography, unless the artist's message is in documenting our 'throw-away' society and highlighting the importance of 'recycling' for the benefit of the environment. Such messages did not appear to arise in my opinion. The discussion about architectural preservation was worthwhile but not focused. The interviewer(s) concerned could have assisted by asking relevant questions of the artist(s) for the benefit of an audience with varied photographic interests. My argument here does not involve the earlier weeks relating to the history of photography and the preservation of images for future generations which were excellent.

von ALAN B

May 21, 2020

This is an excellent course, which opens up areas of knowledge not encountered before.

Three issues to bear in mind:

1. The content does not include enough 19th Century photography, European or American. Relating concepts to the origins and development of the medium is surely vital to a thorough understanding of contemporary issues.

2. The sections of Additional Readings and Required Readings some of the links open up *pdf files with stupidly small print that more many people is too hard to read. These files should be converted to Word documents and saved with a readable print size. Otherwise it make some documents inaccessable to some learners.

3. The estimated work times for each week bear no relation to the time required to study the additional readings. 2hrs per week is more like 6hrs per week to do the course properly.

von Bill D

Jan 28, 2017

A very fine course and an interesting and stimulating learning experience. The materials were great - based as they were on the vast archival resources of MOMA's photographic department. These were deployed to provide a quality course. It was particularly interesting to be introduced to photographers and work with which I was previously unfamilar - 'Evidence' and 'Carnival Strippers' in particular spring to mind. My only quibble was with the forums - which were ok, but compared to other coursera courses seemed to lack the engagement of tutors to pose searching questions and provide quality feedback. For some reason the forums were a little flat and didn't appear to stimulate e a high level of engagement . Other than this quibble, though, a hugely enjoyable and worthwhile course. Thank You!

von Lorenzo B

Feb 28, 2017

I enrolled the course expecting a little more vision on "how to read" a photograph, a composition, although thanks to the Curator I now understood that the context (time, environment, history, …) is important to that purpose.

I appreciated the competence with which she treated each subject and the interesting perspective given to the various modules. It gave me a new viewpoint in what photography really is.

Good videos and interviews made it easier to understand.

Some readings from the required and additional resources were difficult because of the concepts.

I personally found some topics (module 5 and 6) a bit abstract and difficult to follow, but I put myself into it to expand my knowledge and open my mind.

von Asha H

May 20, 2020

I love this course. It definitely took some time to get into the groove of taking an online course but it was great and very insightful and meaningful to my career at an editorial stylist who works with photographers every day and someone who also takes pictures themselves and working hard to improve my skills as a photographer. The only reason that I wouldn't give this course or the other course I am taking 5 stars is because I think once you take the quiz at the end of every week the correct answers should be shown to the learner so you can see what the you answered (the incorrect answer) and see what it should have been. Thank you MoMA

von Brad B

Mar 09, 2017

As a photography professional but not a fine art student, I found this course valuable in understanding the evolution of photography from its role in historic image capture to become a form of social observation and artistic interpretation and statement. Understanding the evolution of the photograph has made me more aware of what artists working in the photographic medium are trying to represent through their works.

The course is not technical. It does not teach how to compose or develop a photograph. Rather, it is a lesson on the history of photography and using photography creatively through alternative and creative interpretation.

von Débora B O

Apr 08, 2020

Really enjoyed the videos and interviews. It helps you see photographs in a more artistic, deep way. However, I feel the course could be way more connected to the recent times: how people see photography now, how social media distorces our view of the world, how diverse the photography world has become since cameras become cheaper... so much potential to be explored!

Another criticism I have is that I wasn't motivated to read most of the suggested articles, some were very painful to read.

Overall it's a good course for the photography lovers.

von Alan I

Apr 01, 2016

Very thorough, very nice, quite entertaining and interesting.

As someone who has a lot of trouble remembering names I found the quizzes quite hard (I was not pursuing the certificate so I didn't care if I failed) but I understand that since the class and the goals are subjective while the evaluation has to be objective it matters that those questions can be unambiguous.

All in all, I feel like I did learn to look at photographs differently, and to look at the world through photographs. I'll definitely recommend it to my friends!