Chevron Left
Zurück zu Principles of Computing (Part 1)

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Principles of Computing (Part 1) von Rice University

4.8
Sterne
524 Bewertungen
90 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This two-part course builds upon the programming skills that you learned in our Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python course. We will augment those skills with both important programming practices and critical mathematical problem solving skills. These skills underlie larger scale computational problem solving and programming. The main focus of the class will be programming weekly mini-projects in Python that build upon the mathematical and programming principles that are taught in the class. To keep the class fun and engaging, many of the projects will involve working with strategy-based games. In part 1 of this course, the programming aspect of the class will focus on coding standards and testing. The mathematical portion of the class will focus on probability, combinatorics, and counting with an eye towards practical applications of these concepts in Computer Science. Recommended Background - Students should be comfortable writing small (100+ line) programs in Python using constructs such as lists, dictionaries and classes and also have a high-school math background that includes algebra and pre-calculus....

Top-Bewertungen

SN

May 07, 2019

This course is very good for beginners and intermediate coders. Gives important basics about computer science from 3 very good professors.

JJ

May 16, 2018

very wellmade assignments! that goes a long way!\n\nplotting seemed a bit superflous and not much learned.\n\nThank you professors!

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 86 Bewertungen für Principles of Computing (Part 1)

von 周玮晨

Jul 08, 2018

Much harder than "Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python", more frustration and sense of accomplishment. I don't like TEST!

von Ian B

Jun 12, 2017

Yay, no more peer grading! This course felt easier than intro2. Less fiddling with your programs and more about concepts.

von GOGULA V

Apr 23, 2020

i enjoyed a lot, the syllabus in this course is really useful, and the application that we see in our day to day life

von Frank V

Feb 28, 2019

Very good course, with challenging projects. These projects help you also to improve your Python skills.

von 李彦霖

Jan 31, 2018

Very nice courses, I've learnt a lot. Thanks for all the teachers for their preparations and lectures.

von William C

May 10, 2020

Unbelievable course - great instruction and coding skill level increasing increasing exponentially!

von Ken M

Oct 29, 2017

definitely gets you thinking the right way about programming (math, algorithms, efficiency, etc.

von Julian O

Feb 20, 2018

Another wonderful class in this series. Great, engaging instructors and interesting projects.

von ankush k

May 20, 2018

Extremely well structured and highly recommended as a beginner course for computer science!

von RAVI R

Jun 17, 2017

Best specialization for those who want to improve their coding and computational thinking.

von DAVID P P

Apr 30, 2017

Really great course, understanding deeper some principles of computing. Great staff too.

von Jeffrey C

Sep 16, 2019

Increasing harder than the IIPP, but at the right level of toughness... great course!

von Jaehwi C

Oct 31, 2017

Great course for beginner to enter computer science and programming with Python!

von Stephen J W

Apr 04, 2018

Yet another brilliant course in a brilliant specialization. On to part 2!

von AN-HUNG ( T

Sep 10, 2018

Amazing course. Spend lots of time thinking how to code in Python Lol

von Ugo N

Oct 24, 2017

Very challenging and interesting so far. I'm only in the second week!

von Johann K M O

Jul 26, 2020

There was a lot to learn. It was very comprehensive and engaging.

von Margarita A

Jul 03, 2020

One of the best courses I've ever taken. Really makes you think.

von Ze C

Feb 15, 2017

Last week programming assignment is interesting and inspiring.

von Jason M

Apr 06, 2016

Amazing. Way better than my community college CS courses.

von Ravva S K

Jul 02, 2020

Extremely Satisfied with the Content of the COurse ....

von Rita I G

Sep 29, 2018

Funny, difficult and well structured, at the same time.

von Shivam C

Sep 02, 2020

Great professors great assignment Thank you very much

von Guanyu B

Aug 20, 2020

This course is super! Learned a lot from this course.

von Ashiti K

Sep 09, 2017

This specialization is helping me improve a lot.