Chevron Left
Zurück zu Programming Languages, Part A

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Programming Languages, Part A von University of Washington

4.9
Sterne
1,338 Bewertungen
384 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course is an introduction to the basic concepts of programming languages, with a strong emphasis on functional programming. The course uses the languages ML, Racket, and Ruby as vehicles for teaching the concepts, but the real intent is to teach enough about how any language “fits together” to make you more effective programming in any language -- and in learning new ones. This course is neither particularly theoretical nor just about programming specifics -- it will give you a framework for understanding how to use language constructs effectively and how to design correct and elegant programs. By using different languages, you will learn to think more deeply than in terms of the particular syntax of one language. The emphasis on functional programming is essential for learning how to write robust, reusable, composable, and elegant programs. Indeed, many of the most important ideas in modern languages have their roots in functional programming. Get ready to learn a fresh and beautiful way to look at software and how to have fun building it. The course assumes some prior experience with programming, as described in more detail in the first module. The course is divided into three Coursera courses: Part A, Part B, and Part C. As explained in more detail in the first module of Part A, the overall course is a substantial amount of challenging material, so the three-part format provides two intermediate milestones and opportunities for a pause before continuing. The three parts are designed to be completed in order and set up to motivate you to continue through to the end of Part C. The three parts are not quite equal in length: Part A is almost as substantial as Part B and Part C combined. Week 1 of Part A has a more detailed list of topics for all three parts of the course, but it is expected that most course participants will not (yet!) know what all these topics mean....

Top-Bewertungen

YZ

Dec 03, 2016

I'm just a beginner for CS or SE classes, and find this course really concise and challenging. It opens a door for me to get deeper into programming language. No wonder it got so high average score.

AL

Mar 22, 2017

Great course!\n\nI think this course has just the right balance of theoretical background, formal definitions, and actual examples to make "just right".\n\nThanks Dan, and everybody else involved!

Filtern nach:

351 - 375 von 379 Bewertungen für Programming Languages, Part A

von Junlin G

Sep 17, 2018

Love it

von ttttttttttttttttttttttt<>"

Apr 09, 2018

Amazing

von 刘洋

May 09, 2017

编程神课!!!

von Tacinight

May 26, 2018

Great!

von 徐承恩

Dec 23, 2017

G

r

e

a

t!

von liruidong

Mar 17, 2018

great

von 肖守冬

May 07, 2017

great

von 陈放

Jun 22, 2019

好的不行

von Mike

Mar 26, 2019

Good

von Hugsy

Oct 23, 2017

good

von Héctor B A

Sep 01, 2016

Great course overall. It focuses on functional programming concepts like immutability, locally-defined functions, pattern-matching and forces the user to use recursion, taking you out of your for-loop comfort zone. In my humble opinion, maybe the time spent in learning the SML language, which is not the main goal of the course, takes a bit too long, but on the other hand I guess that can't really be helped. Videos are grate and grading procedures are pretty fair. Mind you, the course is fairly time-consuming.

von Lorenzo B

Jun 13, 2020

Four stars because for me at least one of the most interesting parts about the course it the comparisons that happen LATER in part B and C, between oop/fp and especially static/dynamic typing; that is, I treat this course as a test to see if you're interested in the whole thing (I am). Otherwise a solid 5/5. Also I personally found that polyml often gives clearer diagnostics than sml/nj, but your mileage may vary here. AND it's my first course here :=)

von Scott v K

Jan 08, 2017

The constructs of learning functional programming are very useful and well explained. This course is about theory with practice problems which are somewhat challenging using SML as the programming language. The only downside of the course is the use of SML, which is fine for educational purposes, but lacks any real development / debugging frameworks and has no commercial usability beyond learning the concepts in the course.

von Aschwin W

Jul 12, 2020

I wanted to learn more about Functional Programming and prepare for a course on Compiler Construction. This course showed how statements and expressions differ. Also using a pure functional programming language is really good to prepare for my daily work and developing a compiler.

von Jie G

Jan 18, 2020

Very useful, but I cannot submit my assignment and ML is also not available for my computer

von Atsushi

Jan 06, 2019

the course material was good and fun! but the discussion forum was not so active.

von Chua B Q

May 18, 2019

Solid introduction to functional programming and programming languages concepts.

von Philip A

Nov 30, 2016

The peer review was too time consuming. Otherwise great course

von Mark R

Jun 17, 2019

Good intro. to Functional Programming

von CLARISA B H C

Mar 05, 2019

Muy buena información; nivel alto.

von 畅 刘

Jul 29, 2018

Quite interesting~

von LvGJ

Jul 28, 2020

good

von lhdgriver

Sep 29, 2019

Easy

von Andrew M

Nov 10, 2019

This series of courses Part A-C looks amazing BUT using SML/NJ is critical to Part A. On a MAC running Catalina SML will not run, maybe because it utilises 32bit routines which cannot run on Catalina. I found an online version of standard ML but it isn't suited to doing the homeworks.