Chevron Left
Zurück zu Major Depression in the Population: A Public Health Approach

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Major Depression in the Population: A Public Health Approach von Johns Hopkins University

4.7
Sterne
212 Bewertungen
45 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Public Mental Health is the application of the principles of medicine and social science to prevent the occurrence of mental and behavioral disorders and to promote mental health of the population. This course illustrates the principles of public health applied to depressive disorder, including principles of epidemiology, transcultural psychiatry, health services research, and prevention. It is predicted that by 2020 depressive disorder will be the most important cause of disease burden in the entire world! Every human being suffers from feeling depressed at some point or other, but only about one fifth of the population will experience an episode of depressive disorder over the course of their lives. This course illuminates the public health approach to disease, and the particular complexities of applying this approach to mental disorders, using depression as the exemplar....

Top-Bewertungen

DP

Nov 15, 2019

I very much enjoyed this course. you were able to present the idea of depression as a public health concern very well and I enjoyed the way the public health research methods were approached.

KB

May 30, 2020

This course was both informative and interesting. It was a challenge, which required a lot of thinking and processing. I learned a lot. The essays were challenging also.

Filtern nach:

26 - 45 von 45 Bewertungen für Major Depression in the Population: A Public Health Approach

von Alka P

May 03, 2020

It was a very beneficial course for me, so much to learn!

von SUSHIL K S V

Jul 16, 2019

Great course for a public health approach to depression!

von Francis F

Apr 13, 2020

Excellent material, well-crafted videos and pedagogy.

von Mohamed-Ali A

Aug 03, 2017

very interesting how they presented the course

von Min-hyung K

Jul 01, 2017

Thanks for providing this great lecture.

von JOHN Q

Jan 17, 2017

FUN COURSE WHICH I ENJOYED QUITE A BIT.

von MILLOT J M F

Dec 19, 2017

A bright approach to depression.

von Neha N

Apr 17, 2018

Very informative and helpful

von A.C.R

Apr 02, 2019

Excellent course.

von Rita M J

Jun 02, 2020

great experience

von Gerardo S

May 02, 2018

Great course!

von PREM S P

Apr 02, 2020

Mind Blowing

von 張齡文 L

May 09, 2017

很實用也很專業!!!

von Vitor A e S

Apr 13, 2020

Awesome!

von Amy D V

Mar 04, 2020

The course itself was good, very good. I learned a lot. Hats off to the three professors who taught!

However, it was problematic waiting for peer grading (I waited over four weeks for the last grade). Also I am not sure how effective it is to have peer grading as some students give all points for mediocre work and other give few points because one small aspect was thought incorrect.

Also there was some sort of glitch with the assignment deadlines. I was informed on multiple occassions that I had four assignments overdue even though all were already turned in.

von Jesse

Jul 10, 2019

The information wasn't overly complicated, and I would have liked if the course went a little deeper into the various themes and lessons, but overall the instructors certainly knew what they were doing and talking about and their slides were easy to read and well put-together, and I really enjoyed this course.

von Sakthipriya R

Feb 05, 2019

Course is great. Knowledgeable. Got more info about depression globally .

von 灯里Akari

Aug 28, 2018

A very detailed course. But may be a little primary for clinicians.

von Holly G

Apr 10, 2017

I really enjoyed listening to the lectures. The instructors are very knowledgeable and explain topics well. The assignments are in line with the course material. This course encouraged me to think critically about mental health, specifically major depression from a public health perspective. The reason why I gave it 3 stars is because I didn't find that there was much discussion on the discussion board. Each student just answered the question proposed by the instructor and that was it. There wasn't much discussion back and forth among the students. Also, I think the lectures are from 2013 so I am wondering if this course is being updated and covering the most current research in public health?

von Pablo S S

Jan 14, 2017

The second week, by Wietse Tol, is simply brilliant. I learned a lot about the etic and emic perspective on depression, and his insights about sociocultural factors are amazing. On the other hand, the last two weeks are boring and dull: they take the typical psychiatric bias and simply ignore any research compromising their orthodoxy (for example, Kirsch's studies). It would be interesting to include, as well, critiques to the concept of depression as well: there are transdiagnostic approaches expanding quite quickly, besides classical critiques of DSM categories. Overall, I would focus on the first three weeks and ignore the rest.