Chevron Left
Zurück zu The Age of Sustainable Development

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für The Age of Sustainable Development von Columbia University

4.8
Sterne
2,355 Bewertungen
831 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The Age of Sustainable Development" gives students an understanding of the key challenges and pathways to sustainable development - that is, economic development that is also socially inclusive and environmentally sustainable....

Top-Bewertungen

AA
1. Juni 2020

Very informative and detailed. Prof. Sachs covers all aspects of sustainable development in detail. Though the course was designed in 2013 hence does not cover the latest development to SDGs to date.

LG
18. Mai 2017

This course was perfect for those wanting to explore the world of development, broad enough to include all interlinked themes, with sufficient reading materials to spark one's specializing interests.

Filtern nach:

626 - 650 von 809 Bewertungen für The Age of Sustainable Development

von Marta R

9. Juli 2020

I was interested in learning more about the climate change and ended up learning that there's much more to learn, so much more to do and so much more to look ahead. We as society need to get involved to solve the problem that we created in the first place. Climate change, social equality, education and health for all, protecting the oceans and the forests... there are so many topics to choose from to get involved that it's impossible to just look somewhere else.

I believe this course is a good start for anyone who wants to contribute in making this planet a better place for us and for the generations to come.

von Laura L

13. Aug. 2020

This course was extremely interesting and I learned a lot of things that I did knot know of before and honestly should have. The only reason why I did not score it 5 stars is because there were several issues with links that were either not updated or no longer worked. However, the forums were very helpful when it came to solving those kinds of issues since many mentors were there trying to help students get the correct links and resources. You can also use the internet and eventually you'll find the resources. Although it is a bit too long for my liking, I would do it again. I loved it!

von Reem M

12. Aug. 2020

This course has provided in-depth thought into the history and sequences of events that lead to the need of sustainable development for our modern world. It had provided many resources to read though statistical data and charts to grasp the practicality an reason behind the challenges that world is causing and truly believing that we a humans are the reason behind it. This course changes your perspective to the economy and how little you can do can make a difference in your profession. However some links in the tests and exam need to be updated which is why I gave it a 4 out of 5.

von Lisa B

8. Dez. 2016

This course has been deeply informative. The instructor is outstanding, sharing his deep experience and knowledge of economics, geography, international development, and earth science through the lectures. The time commitment required for this course is minimal considering the immense treasure of learning it represents. My only issues with this course (hence 4 stars instead of 5) are: 1. no one is monitoring the course, so questions/comments are only answered by other students; and 2. there is no certificate. Thank you Coursera and Dr. Sachs for this fantastic course!

von Julia C F

25. Okt. 2019

Overall it was very interesting to go through the material of this course and to learn a little bit more about social, environmental and economic aspects of development. The questions are very well tailored in the sense that makes the student go through the material provided and have a good understanding of the topics.

However, some of the links provided to answer some questions were outdated or broken or nonexistent. It would be good to have all links updated so students could perform better.

Thank you for sharing this knowledge online!

von Rodolfo E

20. Jan. 2016

I really enjoyed how expert Professor Sachs is on sustainable development. He seems to know a lot about the subject and we can see a spark on his eyes when he is teaching. Moreover, the lectures and quizzes are comprehensive and well organized.

However, apart from the last Week, I think that solutions for the many problems that Professor Sachs presents are not showed properly. Although there are many issues unsolved, there may be a lot of good examples throughout the world to be presented together with these issues.

Kind Regards,

Rodolfo

von David J D

17. Nov. 2016

This course gave an excellent overview of Sustainability. What that entails and why it is crucial to develop and push toward global goals (SDGs) in this "Anthropocene" we find ourselves in today. The text gives a good look at all concepts related to Sustainability and resources to find more data and information for each heading. Professor Sachs' lectures were great and as were the tools used and recommended readings. There were some errors and discrepancies in the quizzes, but aside from that I would highly recommend this course.

von Swati K

16. Juni 2020

The course content is superb, detailed and all-encompassing. the pacing of the course is also superb. my singular complaint is that the course is rather outdated (many of the statistics and graphs are cut off after 2013), and several of the links are no longer active. This is especially disheartening when I'm unable to properly answer the questions asked in the quizzes. I've also noticed that this is a common complaint among many of the course-takers, and I urge that this issue may be solved as soon as possible.

von David D

29. Mai 2016

Extremely well done videos, Professor Sachs is articulate and clear. The videos are a bit lengthy 25 minutes each so this asks quite some time investment.

The quiz are not easy, one must often look up charts and work with various statistical methods which were not always easy to manage - hence the 4 instead of 5. However this does force one into mining world organizations for data so overall it's a good learning process. It never fails to amaze me how much data we have collected globally and for so long!

von Ghee K K

1. Feb. 2020

Wonderful course conducted by Professor Sachs! The problems and potential solutions are well elaborated, yet put simply across for students new to politics or economics. I do firmly believe knowledge in the area of sustainable development is very crucial to understanding today's major crises and priorities, and am grateful to have had the opportunity to learn from this course. However, some updating is required as many links within the quizzes are no longer relevant, or the webpages are non-existent.

von Mỹ N L

12. Okt. 2020

Great and inspiring course to understand the world around us, where we are in our development, and what we need to do. I love how the course integrates online resources like UN departments' websites, etc. to give learners clearer insights on the lessons. One thing needs changing about the course is that many links in the quizzes no longer work, and I have to go to the Forum to get new links, which is quite inconvenient. Sometimes, I have to do guesswork because the links are so hard to find!

von Viktoria V

27. Okt. 2017

Excellent content - I already had a good basis knowledge about sustainable development, but I must say I have learnt a lot. However, there are a few little improvements if I may suggest: (1) make the videos a little more interesting, with more images, graphs, etc. (2) update the course, especially the links (in the quizzes) - a lot has happened in the last few years, including the Paris agreement, the SDGs coming to life, etc so it would be great to get a perspective on these too.

von Lili

20. Nov. 2018

Great course! However sadly, some of the links to the questions in some of the partial exams (at least 2) are not available anymore/the data has been changed, and this affects directly in the score of the exams, which is a little unfair in my opinion. It would be great to have an updated (2018) version of this course. Thank you Professor Jeffrey Sachs for continue to inspiring our generation to be the Sustainable Development generation.

von Nicholas T

16. Apr. 2020

This is a fantastic course, I would recommend it to anyone as it covered a broad spectrum of topics and knowledge, taught by an inspirational lecturer. Two notes I would add: The material and links are a little dated/sometimes the figures don’t add up.

Would it be possible to gain an e-certificate from this course?

Generally, very happy with the course and wouldn’t hesitate to do one similar again. Regards, Nich Tavender.

von Jordi R

18. Feb. 2020

This course has great and extensive content, though lectures have been too long for me. In any case, passing the course has been very challenging and learning from Professor Sachs a real privilege. Sustainable development have become a goal for all of us (citizens, countries, and every supranational organizations), if we want to continue living on Earth in a safely way. Let's keep on going!

von Samwel M M

31. Mai 2020

The course is detailed,cutting age information and well delivered by Prof. Sachs. However some links have been disabled and needs to be looked into.

It also needs to be up dated to reflect the coming into being of the SDGs and their implementation.maybe as week 15 study.

Lastly considering the rigorous content of the course, the option of purchasing certificate should be enabled

von Lesley H

18. Aug. 2018

This course was a wealth of information and it has made me rethink my own life style. The only reason why I did not give this 5/5 is that there were more than a few links that were no longer valid or the information was no longer accessible which required further research or guessing in the tests and exams. I would be more than happy to take further courses from Prof Sachs.

von Vitaliy M

13. Apr. 2018

Very interesting and useful course when one want to learn about all aspects of sustainable development in depth. The only downside is that some of the links on the quizzes and exams are outdated, either don't exist, or the website to which they refer do not present data for as many years back as the questions in the quizzes and exams asks to review. Great course!

von Sriram V

30. Aug. 2015

The course covers various topics about sustainability from different perspectives beginning from what is sustainability, who and what get impacted, what is being done and what can be done to ensure sustainable economic development and various other aspects.

I highly recommend this course to every one, for a well encapsulated curriculum and for great awareness.

von André G

17. Sep. 2015

I really enjoyed this course. Very fluid, well organized and well-present.

In my opinion, quizzes should not contain questions referring to the book, because not everyone (like me) can afford buying it.

I would enjoy if Prof. Sachs could go deeper in the topics and explore them a little bit more and make student´s job a little bit more difficult.

von Danielle D

6. Okt. 2019

Great overview of history and the state of the state with sustainable development. There is lots of work to do! The only negatives about the course is some of the reference links on the quizzes are outdated or broken and I wish there would have been more information about how we as individuals can get connected and help make change.

von Karolina Z

17. Nov. 2019

This course is fantastic and I have grown to be a huge fan of Jeffrey Sachs. The only drawback of this course is that I am going through it in 2019, quite a few links do not open up, and I would love to hear more recent info and data. But overall the topics are very relevant, interesting and I know I have gained valuable knowledge.

von Maya C

8. Aug. 2020

This was a very interesting course with good resources, an active discussion forum, interesting quizzes, helpful mentors and responsive Coursera support. The course syllabus is well structured and Prof. Jeffery Sachs has given an excellent understanding of what Sustainable Development is all about. Highly recommended.

von Aleksandra B

6. Apr. 2020

Overall a great content provided by prof. Sachs. It was a pleasure to be able to listen to the lectures. However, a lot of the test questions had outdated links, data available at the link was not matching to the one described in the question. Someone should go through all the links and check which ones are outdated.

von Mark R

6. Jan. 2018

A very thorough and interesting introduction to sustainable development by Professor Sachs. Suitable not only for beginners in this area- plenty of insights also for people already active in this field. The course is well and clearly structured, but I would also recommend purchasing Prof. Sachs’ book as a companion