Chevron Left
Zurück zu The Age of Sustainable Development

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für The Age of Sustainable Development von Columbia University

4.8
Sterne
2,278 Bewertungen
796 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The Age of Sustainable Development" gives students an understanding of the key challenges and pathways to sustainable development - that is, economic development that is also socially inclusive and environmentally sustainable....

Top-Bewertungen

AA

Jun 02, 2020

Very informative and detailed. Prof. Sachs covers all aspects of sustainable development in detail. Though the course was designed in 2013 hence does not cover the latest development to SDGs to date.

LG

May 19, 2017

This course was perfect for those wanting to explore the world of development, broad enough to include all interlinked themes, with sufficient reading materials to spark one's specializing interests.

Filtern nach:

601 - 625 von 774 Bewertungen für The Age of Sustainable Development

von Lisa B

Dec 09, 2016

This course has been deeply informative. The instructor is outstanding, sharing his deep experience and knowledge of economics, geography, international development, and earth science through the lectures. The time commitment required for this course is minimal considering the immense treasure of learning it represents. My only issues with this course (hence 4 stars instead of 5) are: 1. no one is monitoring the course, so questions/comments are only answered by other students; and 2. there is no certificate. Thank you Coursera and Dr. Sachs for this fantastic course!

von Julia C F

Oct 25, 2019

Overall it was very interesting to go through the material of this course and to learn a little bit more about social, environmental and economic aspects of development. The questions are very well tailored in the sense that makes the student go through the material provided and have a good understanding of the topics.

However, some of the links provided to answer some questions were outdated or broken or nonexistent. It would be good to have all links updated so students could perform better.

Thank you for sharing this knowledge online!

von Rodolfo E

Jan 20, 2016

I really enjoyed how expert Professor Sachs is on sustainable development. He seems to know a lot about the subject and we can see a spark on his eyes when he is teaching. Moreover, the lectures and quizzes are comprehensive and well organized.

However, apart from the last Week, I think that solutions for the many problems that Professor Sachs presents are not showed properly. Although there are many issues unsolved, there may be a lot of good examples throughout the world to be presented together with these issues.

Kind Regards,

Rodolfo

von David J D

Nov 18, 2016

This course gave an excellent overview of Sustainability. What that entails and why it is crucial to develop and push toward global goals (SDGs) in this "Anthropocene" we find ourselves in today. The text gives a good look at all concepts related to Sustainability and resources to find more data and information for each heading. Professor Sachs' lectures were great and as were the tools used and recommended readings. There were some errors and discrepancies in the quizzes, but aside from that I would highly recommend this course.

von Swati K

Jun 16, 2020

The course content is superb, detailed and all-encompassing. the pacing of the course is also superb. my singular complaint is that the course is rather outdated (many of the statistics and graphs are cut off after 2013), and several of the links are no longer active. This is especially disheartening when I'm unable to properly answer the questions asked in the quizzes. I've also noticed that this is a common complaint among many of the course-takers, and I urge that this issue may be solved as soon as possible.

von David D

May 29, 2016

Extremely well done videos, Professor Sachs is articulate and clear. The videos are a bit lengthy 25 minutes each so this asks quite some time investment.

The quiz are not easy, one must often look up charts and work with various statistical methods which were not always easy to manage - hence the 4 instead of 5. However this does force one into mining world organizations for data so overall it's a good learning process. It never fails to amaze me how much data we have collected globally and for so long!

von KOH G K

Feb 01, 2020

Wonderful course conducted by Professor Sachs! The problems and potential solutions are well elaborated, yet put simply across for students new to politics or economics. I do firmly believe knowledge in the area of sustainable development is very crucial to understanding today's major crises and priorities, and am grateful to have had the opportunity to learn from this course. However, some updating is required as many links within the quizzes are no longer relevant, or the webpages are non-existent.

von Viktoria V

Oct 27, 2017

Excellent content - I already had a good basis knowledge about sustainable development, but I must say I have learnt a lot. However, there are a few little improvements if I may suggest: (1) make the videos a little more interesting, with more images, graphs, etc. (2) update the course, especially the links (in the quizzes) - a lot has happened in the last few years, including the Paris agreement, the SDGs coming to life, etc so it would be great to get a perspective on these too.

von Lili

Nov 21, 2018

Great course! However sadly, some of the links to the questions in some of the partial exams (at least 2) are not available anymore/the data has been changed, and this affects directly in the score of the exams, which is a little unfair in my opinion. It would be great to have an updated (2018) version of this course. Thank you Professor Jeffrey Sachs for continue to inspiring our generation to be the Sustainable Development generation.

von Nicholas T

Apr 16, 2020

This is a fantastic course, I would recommend it to anyone as it covered a broad spectrum of topics and knowledge, taught by an inspirational lecturer. Two notes I would add: The material and links are a little dated/sometimes the figures don’t add up.

Would it be possible to gain an e-certificate from this course?

Generally, very happy with the course and wouldn’t hesitate to do one similar again. Regards, Nich Tavender.

von Jordi R

Feb 18, 2020

This course has great and extensive content, though lectures have been too long for me. In any case, passing the course has been very challenging and learning from Professor Sachs a real privilege. Sustainable development have become a goal for all of us (citizens, countries, and every supranational organizations), if we want to continue living on Earth in a safely way. Let's keep on going!

von Samwel M M

May 31, 2020

The course is detailed,cutting age information and well delivered by Prof. Sachs. However some links have been disabled and needs to be looked into.

It also needs to be up dated to reflect the coming into being of the SDGs and their implementation.maybe as week 15 study.

Lastly considering the rigorous content of the course, the option of purchasing certificate should be enabled

von Lesley H

Aug 18, 2018

This course was a wealth of information and it has made me rethink my own life style. The only reason why I did not give this 5/5 is that there were more than a few links that were no longer valid or the information was no longer accessible which required further research or guessing in the tests and exams. I would be more than happy to take further courses from Prof Sachs.

von Vitaliy M

Apr 13, 2018

Very interesting and useful course when one want to learn about all aspects of sustainable development in depth. The only downside is that some of the links on the quizzes and exams are outdated, either don't exist, or the website to which they refer do not present data for as many years back as the questions in the quizzes and exams asks to review. Great course!

von Sriram V

Aug 31, 2015

The course covers various topics about sustainability from different perspectives beginning from what is sustainability, who and what get impacted, what is being done and what can be done to ensure sustainable economic development and various other aspects.

I highly recommend this course to every one, for a well encapsulated curriculum and for great awareness.

von André G

Sep 17, 2015

I really enjoyed this course. Very fluid, well organized and well-present.

In my opinion, quizzes should not contain questions referring to the book, because not everyone (like me) can afford buying it.

I would enjoy if Prof. Sachs could go deeper in the topics and explore them a little bit more and make student´s job a little bit more difficult.

von Danielle D

Oct 06, 2019

Great overview of history and the state of the state with sustainable development. There is lots of work to do! The only negatives about the course is some of the reference links on the quizzes are outdated or broken and I wish there would have been more information about how we as individuals can get connected and help make change.

von Karolina Z

Nov 17, 2019

This course is fantastic and I have grown to be a huge fan of Jeffrey Sachs. The only drawback of this course is that I am going through it in 2019, quite a few links do not open up, and I would love to hear more recent info and data. But overall the topics are very relevant, interesting and I know I have gained valuable knowledge.

von Maya C

Aug 08, 2020

This was a very interesting course with good resources, an active discussion forum, interesting quizzes, helpful mentors and responsive Coursera support. The course syllabus is well structured and Prof. Jeffery Sachs has given an excellent understanding of what Sustainable Development is all about. Highly recommended.

von Aleksandra B

Apr 06, 2020

Overall a great content provided by prof. Sachs. It was a pleasure to be able to listen to the lectures. However, a lot of the test questions had outdated links, data available at the link was not matching to the one described in the question. Someone should go through all the links and check which ones are outdated.

von Mark R

Jan 06, 2018

A very thorough and interesting introduction to sustainable development by Professor Sachs. Suitable not only for beginners in this area- plenty of insights also for people already active in this field. The course is well and clearly structured, but I would also recommend purchasing Prof. Sachs’ book as a companion

von Justine M

Dec 26, 2015

This course proves to be very informative, and the quizzes push to discover new sources for course material. However, it is highly focused on the programs set by the UN and could provide more solutions and feedbacks on what is being done. Very much oriented toward public policies. Good experience overall.

von Francisco B L

Aug 24, 2015

This course is pretty much what i expected from an online course. I just rate it with four stars because:

1. Quiz questions are often just about interpreting world bank data and not about the contents of the course.

2. Having read Prof. Sachs book the course does not offer additional insights.

von Andrea P A S

Jun 30, 2020

El contenido del curso está perfecto. Sin embargo, habían algunas preguntas que se debían responder a través de observación de datos y las paginas que contenían estos datos ya se habían actualizado, por ende la respuesta que pedía la evaluación no concordaba con los datos de las paginas.

von Gidjeth H

Jul 16, 2017

It was a very comprehensive and informative course and Prof. Sachs was a great educator. I recommend this course as a great starter to anyone who would like to build up a career on sustainable development or just be an active proponent in this important aspect of society development.