Chevron Left
Zurück zu Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice von Universiteit Leiden

4.8
Sterne
2,735 Bewertungen
657 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private business and ordinary citizens. And in many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security and stability. But what does this exactly mean? What is the nature of this threat? Who or what is threatened, how, by whom and why? What can be done about it or how can we at least limit the impact of terrorism and make sure that terrorists do not make headlines and manage to scare us? These are just a handful of questions that will be addressed in this course that consists of three parts. First it focuses on the essence of terrorism as an instrument to achieve certain goals, in addition to an exploration of this phenomenon and the difficulties in defining it. The second part provides an overview of the state of the art in (counter) terrorism studies. Since ‘9/11’ terrorism studies have grown exponentially, reflecting the rise in perceived threats. But what has academia come up with? What theories, assumptions and conventional wisdom has it produced that could be of help in understanding terrorism and dealing with it? The most interesting results are examined and compared with empirical evidence with the aim to either stress their importance or to debunk them as myths. The final part looks into the implications and possibilities for policy making. The course ends with a module specifically designed to address one of today's most topical issue: the foreign fighter phenomenon....

Top-Bewertungen

WM
24. Feb. 2021

Among the most informative courses i have taken, the material and videos provided are so detailed and specific to this field. I would recommend it to anyone with an interest matters terrorism.

LZ
22. Mai 2016

This excellent, balanced course uses a great combination of concise videos and additional reading. I enrolled hoping to better understand this hot-topic and Prof. Bakker's course was perfect.

Filtern nach:

601 - 625 von 637 Bewertungen für Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

von George T

14. Dez. 2016

Need to have more up to date data. Need more guest lecturers.

von V S B

26. Sep. 2015

Good course for a general understanding of Terrorism History.

von Damien M

18. Mai 2020

More Charts and Multimedia slides would have been helpful.

von Nguyen T T

17. Aug. 2015

Very smart approach of such a difficult topic. Thank you!

von Ivar H

29. Dez. 2016

Well laid out and thought provoking content.

von Roboam r

25. Juni 2020

excellent course to understand terrorism

von Jan S

28. Dez. 2017

great course I will recommend to others

von Petit I

12. Sep. 2016

It's a great course to go through

von Ojurabesa E O

25. Jan. 2016

Very Insightful and transforming

von John D

20. Aug. 2015

Informative and well presented.

von TOGBOSSI M K

30. Mai 2017

Très bon cours bien documenté!

von Asif S B

5. Okt. 2015

Very informative and engaging!

von Mohammad A

4. Feb. 2017

Great, in-depth on topic.

von Reuben P

8. Apr. 2019

learn a lot of news things

von Javier G r

25. Sep. 2019

very interesting course.

von Alexandre G

29. Aug. 2020

Good course!

von Yin N C

8. Juni 2019

Nice course!

von Mucahit F Y

31. Okt. 2016

fantastic

von Carolina R d C

3. Okt. 2016

So good!

von Robert P

20. Sep. 2016

A

von Matthias C

24. Feb. 2016

Average. Doesn't really like the Professor's style. He spends too many time trying to explain that he feels really concern about the victims etc. I feel that the content of the class could have been interesting but the organization was messy. Finally it gives the impression that academics know barely anything about the subject. I would have prefer a more historical approach. Overall i've watched all the content but in the future i won't spend much time checking for new Mooc from him. Thanks for the try though

von Walter C L J

24. Aug. 2015

It is a great theme, but at many points the course focuses on "who said what", regarding authors and papers, and emphasizes this type of question throughout all the tests. I think a longer course where these statements and papers could be properly discussed and explained would easily be a 5-star rating. The instructor clearly knows a lot on the subject and the material is top quality.

von Saim S

12. Apr. 2016

Theoretically the course is very lacking. There is little focus on the scholarly work in the field except perhaps the first few lectures. The content and scope of the course is too small. Overall however the content is good for a very basic introduction and

von Matthys J U

14. Sep. 2015

It was very good to learn terrorism from the theory angle and believe the two groups should work closer.

von ANDRES H C

18. Okt. 2020

Interesting. It is not my prefer topic, but it's worth to learn somthing on the subject