Chevron Left
Zurück zu Analysing Complexity

Analysing Complexity, Macquarie University

4.7
(47 ratings)

Über diesen Kurs

The first course of the specialization ANALYZING COMPLEXITY will teach you what unifying patterns lie at the core of all complex problems. It advances your knowledge of your own field by teaching you to look at it in new ways. ANALYZING COMPLEXITY is constructed in the following way: Week I. "What is Complexity?" - What is at the core of all complex problems Week II. "Complex Physical Systems" - What complex problems all have in common in the inanimate world Week III. "Complex Adaptive Systems" - What complex problems all have in common in nature Week IV. "Complex Cultural Systems" - What complex problems all have in common in human society Week V. "Complexity, Fragility, and Breakdown" - Why complex problems arise Week VI. "Complexity in the Anthropocene" - What complex problems face us today...

Top-Bewertungen

von JW

Nov 08, 2018

This is a fascinating topic. I've been looking for something to provide a solid base for knowledge and this appears to be it. It gives me a different perspective about life and life challenges.

von TA

Oct 24, 2017

You should study Complexity from this course if you are interesting in complex system.

Filtern nach:

15 Bewertungen

von Shyaam Sundhar Rajamadam Srinivasan

Feb 25, 2019

Amazing!

von Neil Harper

Jan 16, 2019

Firstly to say I only did an audit of this course, so I didn't do the tasks. I had already followed the Big History general course. What I found with this course was that many of the Big History themes are repeated, that part is OK. But the the subject specific videos felt like "here's a summary of this topic and why its complex" and what I was expecting was "here's the challenges in this area and this is how complexity theory is being applied and what it might mean". The exception was the economics lecture in week 5 which did link back to complexity theory being applied to economics. Week 6 brought things together to some extent. It is the first course in a specialization but many of the videos didn't meet my expectation.

von Jeff Webber

Nov 08, 2018

This is a fascinating topic. I've been looking for something to provide a solid base for knowledge and this appears to be it. It gives me a different perspective about life and life challenges.

von Luca CASU

Oct 23, 2018

This course is much beyound a simple step-by-step guide to solving problems, nor even is limited to a business-focused approach. Prepare yourself to explore variate subjects you may have never heard of and to consider problem-solving for absolutely unexpected perspectives, from starts to fungi. As part of a four-courses specialization, this first experience provides more questions than answers, opening the way for the next couse (evaluating problems).

von Terry Cooke-Davies

Mar 16, 2018

Even though I have studied complexity, and had journal articles published on the subject, this course is admirably clear and promises to be the first part of a really practical insight into solving a particular problem - or at least, suggesting innovative approaches to it.

von Maria Amélia Murteira Dória Monteiro

Nov 13, 2017

I loved this course. Very interesting from an holistic point of view. We get to learn and to get a big picture of the World's history since the very first beginnings. Congratulations to the Big History Institute and to Macquarie University! It's well worth it.

von Tun Lin Aung

Oct 24, 2017

You should study Complexity from this course if you are interesting in complex system.

von James Onslow

Oct 03, 2017

F

u

n

-

n

I

c

e

f

r

a

m

e

w

o

r

k

t

o

t

h

I

n

k

a

b

o

u

t

I

f

y

o

u

'

r

e

I

n

t

e

l

l

e

c

t

u

a

l

l

y

c

u

r

i

o

u

s

von Carol Sutton

Sep 06, 2017

great way to learn

von Murilo Loureiro

Jul 11, 2017

Great content! I would do it again in a heartbeat.