Chevron Left
Zurück zu Mastering Data Analysis in Excel

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Mastering Data Analysis in Excel von Duke University

4.2
3,038 Bewertungen
680 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Important: The focus of this course is on math - specifically, data-analysis concepts and methods - not on Excel for its own sake. We use Excel to do our calculations, and all math formulas are given as Excel Spreadsheets, but we do not attempt to cover Excel Macros, Visual Basic, Pivot Tables, or other intermediate-to-advanced Excel functionality. This course will prepare you to design and implement realistic predictive models based on data. In the Final Project (module 6) you will assume the role of a business data analyst for a bank, and develop two different predictive models to determine which applicants for credit cards should be accepted and which rejected. Your first model will focus on minimizing default risk, and your second on maximizing bank profits. The two models should demonstrate to you in a practical, hands-on way the idea that your choice of business metric drives your choice of an optimal model. The second big idea this course seeks to demonstrate is that your data-analysis results cannot and should not aim to eliminate all uncertainty. Your role as a data-analyst is to reduce uncertainty for decision-makers by a financially valuable increment, while quantifying how much uncertainty remains. You will learn to calculate and apply to real-world examples the most important uncertainty measures used in business, including classification error rates, entropy of information, and confidence intervals for linear regression. All the data you need is provided within the course, all assignments are designed to be done in MS Excel, and you will learn enough Excel to complete all assignments. The course will give you enough practice with Excel to become fluent in its most commonly used business functions, and you’ll be ready to learn any other Excel functionality you might need in the future (module 1). The course does not cover Visual Basic or Pivot Tables and you will not need them to complete the assignments. All advanced concepts are demonstrated in individual Excel spreadsheet templates that you can use to answer relevant questions. You will emerge with substantial vocabulary and practical knowledge of how to apply business data analysis methods based on binary classification (module 2), information theory and entropy measures (module 3), and linear regression (module 4 and 5), all using no software tools more complex than Excel....

Top-Bewertungen

JE

Oct 31, 2015

The course deserves a 5-star rating because: (1) content is relevant, (2) the professor is concise and possesses great teaching skills, and (3) the learning modules are applicable to daily problems.

NC

Dec 20, 2016

Overall, the course material is good with many example. Need a general knowledge with mathematical and statistical from the beginning to pass the exam, because course slide is a little bit fast.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 661 Bewertungen für Mastering Data Analysis in Excel

von Srinivas B

Oct 26, 2016

Excellent!

von Sandeep K Y

Feb 04, 2016

Really useful project :)

von Javier C

Dec 21, 2015

Awesome course; it's not only about the tool, but mostly about the rationale behind what to do and how to do it.

von Ruth D

Dec 25, 2017

Really enjoyed it, felt challenged and engaged, and learnt a lot of valuable information and techniques!

von Monica C M

Dec 27, 2015

Awesome!

von Tania K

Dec 08, 2015

.

von José G F

Jan 31, 2016

It´s an excellent courser, very dynamic and fun. You´ll learn a lot of usefull techniques to use in daily life or work

von Rafael M

May 22, 2016

so far, so good

von Kathryn M L

Feb 18, 2016

Instructor is highly knowledgeable and provides an interesting and thought provoking lecture.

von Juan P B

Apr 30, 2017

Fun to watch, great exercises and examples, interesting subjects made simple. Congrats!

von Bruno H N

Apr 21, 2016

Fantastic!!

von Cristian D A

Dec 13, 2015

GREAT!!

von Molly M

Jan 25, 2018

This course is very informative, and I am already thinking about applying the things I've learned in my work. I found that the first part of the final project was the most difficult and time-consuming part of the course. Budget extra time for it!

von Li T

Jan 01, 2016

very useful, but hopefully, there will be some slides for learning.

von Paul D

Mar 16, 2016

Dr Eggers is a tremendous professor. The course has wit and application along with assignments that are well scaffolded to the learning content. Highly recommend this class.

von Liwei K

Dec 06, 2015

it's my first course on coursera .

von Erin C

Jan 25, 2016

very practical course with understanding of business context

von Alison T

Dec 21, 2015

This course was a great recap in math/statistics that I had totally forgotten about. Things were explained clearly, and the application of concepts was practical

von Andrii K

Feb 16, 2016

Hard as hell, liked it.

von Cameron H

Oct 27, 2015

Excellent course in excel tools, probability problems and theoretical thinking skills to apply to business problems!

von Martin S

Sep 30, 2016

I read some of the other reviews and feel I should comment on some of their criticisms.

The material, objectives and tuition are top-notch. Yes there are things that are unclear and difficult and I you will need to read around the subjects introduced from other sources and persevere.

But that is how you will learn and remember.

So far I have yet to complete the course, I am about to start my 4th attempt, but I get a little further each time and the next presentation acts as revision initially. Daniel Eggar introduces key concepts that you need to master, this course is not spoon fed, but is better for it.

If I have a criticism, perhaps the course is badly named, maybe it should be called "Core statistical concepts for data science using Excel"

von Theo

Aug 07, 2017

I really enjoyed this course and I hope I could go for the next course of data analysis

von Alfred H

Feb 11, 2016

Clear, concise and clean communication! Thank you!

von Manoj L

Dec 11, 2015

Very Useful, Eye-opener

von Masba

Nov 28, 2015

This is very essential course for the analysis of data using MS Excel