Chevron Left
Zurück zu International Law in Action: the Arbitration of International Disputes

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für International Law in Action: the Arbitration of International Disputes von Universiteit Leiden

4.8
Sterne
872 Bewertungen
152 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

‘The Arbitration of International Disputes’ is the third course of Leiden University’s series on International Law in Action. The first course covered generalities on the international courts and tribunals in The Hague, while the second course provided an insider's perspective into the work of international criminal courts and tribunals. This third course explores the major aspects of international arbitration as one of the most common method of international dispute settlement . Through this course you will gain an in-depth understanding of the various facets of international arbitration through the analysis of its role as a mechanism of dispute settlement, its institutions, the fields of law it is applicable to, and, of course, its most famous awards. The main question we will answer together during this course is "Can international arbitration contribute to the creation of a peaceful world through the settlement of disputes between States and between States and non-State actors?" In order to do so, we will learn the basic historical concepts or arbitration, as well as everything there is to know about the Permanent Court of Arbitration, based in The Hague. We will then dive into the role of international arbitration in settling disputes relating to the Law of the Sea, with a particular insight into the landmark South China Sea Arbitration. For an entire module, we will focus on investment arbitration, its principles and the procedure of the ICSID, the International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes. We will conclude the course with a module on the interplay between state immunity and enforcement of arbitral awards. This is brought to light through the Yukos Arbitration which is a perfect illustration of the topic. This course offers you an opportunity to gain a better insight into international arbitration, its role and the current issues relating to it. You will gain in-depth knowledge of the principles and rules of arbitration. You will explore the topic through concrete examples and the most prominent arbitrations. You will also grasp the notion of international arbitration navigating between law and politics. International arbitration and The Hague go hand in hand: several key arbitration institutes are located in The Hague and important disputes were settled here through arbitration. The Hague is, so to speak, ‘the place to be for international arbitration’, especially when we are dealing with arbitration between States, or arbitration of investment disputes between foreign investors and States. Join us for the course and become an expert on international arbitration! This course is free to join and to participate in. There is the possibility to get a verified certificate for the course, which is a paid option. If you want a certificate, but are unable to pay for it, you can request financial aid via Coursera....

Top-Bewertungen

LM

7. Mai 2020

Great course to provide an overview of international arbitration. The last exercise needs to be updated with the latest info on the Yukos case, the Appels Court (18/02/2020) reinstated the PCA award.

MR

21. Jan. 2020

It was a wonderful course on International Arbitration by University of Leiden. Got to learn a lot. I would like to thank Coursera and University of Leiden for such a productive course.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 156 Bewertungen für International Law in Action: the Arbitration of International Disputes

von William C C

19. Juni 2022

A complete outlook of the history, mechanisms, institutions, and organizations involved in the peaceful settlement of international disputes concerning diverse matters such as maritime disputes, investment disputes, commercial disputes, etc. A pool of references to leading cases, relevant regulation and proper bibliography makes this course a perfect stage to learn and apply knowledge concerning settlement of international disputes. I have nothing more than thankul words for the organisers and to Leiden Universiteit.

von Kelly B

9. Aug. 2021

In my opinion, this course make me understand the arbitration history, the importantation of investment arbitration, and basically all the institution of arbitration. As a future lawyer, I am expecting to be a good one and be careful at the moment to establish an arbitral clause. One thing i really loved, was learning more English in relation to law. I really recommend this course to my classmates, because it is easy to understand and very practical! Thank you so much for give me thise opportunity

von Muxtar K

19. Nov. 2018

Thank you for everything thank you very much for organizing such a chance. Thanks to this course, I gained new knowledge and information that was very useful to me. I would like most people to be aware of this course, thank you for doing something useful to people who are scared of such a system

von Ahmet S

11. Mai 2020

It was the best course experience ever. Teachers are the best teachers in the field. They support us with resources and cases for us to learn. His exams were also really challenging. If you do not grasp the subject, you cannot pass the course.

von Narinder K

1. Aug. 2020

I really amazed to note that such experienced facilities made this tough subject so easy to understand. I really moved and learnt lot from it. The learning of International arbitration will help me a lot in my professional career

von Sukhamrinder P S

14. Juli 2020

This Course on International Investment Arbitration has been fantastic learning experience. The study material is very knowledgeable and updated. The faculties are excellent and explain the module in a very simplified manner.

von Luka J

17. Nov. 2018

I have done the first two weeks and do recommend the course to all who have an interest in international arbitration. The course is easily accessible and provides you with an overview of all the major areas of the subject.

von Peter A O

5. Mai 2020

This course has perfectly broadened my horizon with respect to international dispute settlement mechanisms especially arbitration in a very succint and concise manner. The study materials are very resourceful and wide.

von Ahmed K

30. Jan. 2022

it was an Excellent course with an adequate introduction to International Arbitration, including Investment Arbitration. I highly recommend this course to Everyone who is interesting in Arbitration and Investment law.

von Anubhav S

15. Aug. 2020

The most organized and innovative teaching skills led to an interesting journey of learning. Will always be thankful to Coursera, Leiden University, and excellent faculty for having this resourceful platform.

von jamal b

9. Dez. 2019

the most important course I have taken concerning about arbitration,and advise every one interesting in this subject to start,many sources and views easily to be full aware about ,just take the first step..

von PRANAB N

8. Feb. 2021

I find this The Arbitration of International Disputes very useful, as through the course I learned how Arbitration is conducted. The Case studies are quite useful in bringing more clarity to the lectures.

von Dwi S R

17. Aug. 2020

This course is totally great! I got a wonderful experience and new knowledge about the arbitration of international disputes. The explanations are communicative and insightful!

von Kaja M

11. Juni 2022

I would like to thank Coursera for this superb course. Very good structure, good explaining, etc. I recommend it to anybody who whishes for a degree in Commercial law.

von Lovely B

14. März 2022

I​ have learned a lot in this course, and this definitely made me decide to pursue my Marsters Degree in International Law. Thank you Leiden University and Coursera.

von Ehsaneddin A

5. Apr. 2022

A must for everyone in the international business; because like it or not, you'd be having disagreement with the other parties you're dealing with!

von Rohit K

12. Juli 2018

The course content was really good and met my expectations. I am very thankful to both the instructors for designing this wonderful course

von Ender

13. Mai 2020

The lecture and content of the course will be more beneficial for me in my future professional life.

Thanks for the course organisation

von Yulia S

10. Dez. 2019

That was an interesting course with extensive amount of new information for me and good lectures but quite simple tests. Thank you!

von Taaniyaa

6. Aug. 2020

It was a fantastic course. Enjoyed it thoroughly. Thank you to the Professors and Coursera for making is available to us.

von Elif Ö K

5. Feb. 2019

It was a useful and introducing course to learn the essential points about the arbitration in a simple and complete way.

von Christine W

24. Okt. 2020

Superb course, I enjoyed every module and learned a huge amount about areas of law I had not previously encountered.

von Elvie P

10. März 2022

The course is very informative. The assessments were tough, though. I need to read more about this subject matter.

von Richik D

12. Mai 2020

Really helped me out in learning the basics of Arbitration. Was concise and easy to comprehend. Thanks!

von Eliza M

2. Mai 2020

I highly appreciate your course and really enjoyed while learning. It was so useful and quite helpful!