Chevron Left
Zurück zu Understanding Cancer Metastasis

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Understanding Cancer Metastasis von Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
710 Bewertungen
148 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying from cancer every year. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide, and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. Everyone has been, or will be touched by cancer in some way during their lifetime. Thanks to years of dedication and commitment to research we’ve made enormous advances in the prevention and treatment of cancer, But there is still a lot of work to be done. In this course, physicians and scientists at the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine explain how cancer spreads or metastasizes. We’ll describe the major theories of metastasis and then describe the biology behind the steps in metastasis. The course also describes the major organs targeted by metastasis and describes how metastases harm the patient....

Top-Bewertungen

RB

Feb 09, 2017

Good course, but why researchers whant to hold/control cancer in a human and not rebuild the destroyed mechanisms of autoregul;ation by genetic engeneering for example? That would be true cure.

RW

Jun 04, 2018

It is a beautifully designed course. it never gets boring. The best part is that you can learn at your own pace. Thank you all the instructors and Coursera for making the content available.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 144 Bewertungen für Understanding Cancer Metastasis

von Dekel W

Mar 07, 2018

I have completed more than a few courses on Coursera and I can assure you that this course has the poorest production I have ever seen.

All instructors read their scripts in a very boring, sloppy and incoherent style. The amount of effort you need to put in just to understand the lecturers is astounding.

Several questions (end of videos and exams) seemed completely irrelevant and some were written very poorly.

The exams added NO extra value to the course, all questions were copied from the videos. This is unfortunate because the exams could be a powerful tool to challenge students to use the knowledge they have just acquired.

Video editing was very sloppy at times. At points it seems as if the editor had a stroke.

And the worst part, I could've guessed more than half of the course material just with my very basic understanding of biology. Don't make a 3 week course if that is far less time than needed. The course basically gives you many general concepts without delving an inch deeper.

In my opinion it is ridiculous that you have to pay in order to get a grade on a course as bad as this. I probably won't do a John Hopkins course on Coursera anytime soon.

von HJP H

Jun 02, 2018

I want to send a warm thank you to the creators and presenters of this course. For me, interested in the subject but not an initiated expert, it offered the right level of detail. You touched on areas of complexity and research-uncertainty, and illustrated that with a couple of examples. For me, it work educationaly very well. It is a pity that the course exams can no longer be taken without paying for the certificate. Since the marking of the exams is an automated process, why can this not remain free of cost (don't need a certificate).

von Tony T

Jan 10, 2017

The lecture and quizzes were very acceptable and I truly learned a lot from this short course. I have tried starting a few courses before and noticed that there was a huge disconnect between test material and lectures; this course was not like those. I am starting another by JHU at the moment and strongly recommend this to anyone who wants to learn more about cancer. If you are an undergrad like me, this is a nice bio 1 review of cell cycle and other things and their applications to cancer as well.

von Menwin A A

Jul 22, 2018

This Course should be very highly recommended, for both budding oncologists and cancer researchers alike. Given the consistent role of metastasis in cancer mortality, the lessons gleaned here will be invaluable for generating insights into how to provide the best possible care for the patients.

Additionally, for the oncological medical setting, this could serve as an eye-opener on the importance of finding a way to achieve the Early Detection of Cancer.

von Pancheng W

Apr 07, 2019

This course helps me a lot in knowing the steps of cancer metastasis. It not only helps me reviewing my knowledge but also teaching me a lot of knowledge I never learned before. All the teachers are very nice and they can teach the concepts clearly. I hope there will be more students interested in cancer registering and learning this course. Meanwhile, I'd like to show my great respect and wishes for all the teachers in this course.

von Jessica S

Apr 02, 2017

Excellent overview of cancer metastasis. The class struck a good balance between large, broad concepts and specific details. I liked the combination of 2 quizzes for each week. Maybe it was just psychological, but I felt like I was getting a lot done. All instructors were easy to understand in their teaching approach. After completing the course I feel I have a basic understanding of how cancer metastasizes.

von Susan H

Apr 24, 2017

A very informative course that I highly recommend. Great explanations of a lot of terminology used when speaking or reading about cancer. I would love to see courses that go more in-depth about cytokines or cancer syndromes. This is the second J.H.U. course that I've taken about cancer and now I plan on taking the Prostate Cancer course, as well.

von Otilia B

Sep 27, 2017

Sarah, Gilani, Haley but, to me, especially Professor Ken's spirit and enthusiasm about the subject has been amazing :-) A BIG thank you to the whole team and I hope to be able to listen to Ken in the future as well, and I'm really looking forward to Haley having her own course available soon, she's great, a true role model for me!

von Ayesha R Y

Feb 11, 2019

The course was extremely helpful and informative in understanding of cancer biology and its affect on patients.I'm really thankful to all the instructors that helped in understanding the concepts better.Looking forward to more advanced courses related to cancer biology and ongoing research in this area.

von Levon K

May 15, 2018

A very optimal course. Videos are short, informative and to the point. Illustrations are precise, well chosen and critical. The authors very succinctly explain the connections among various factors of cancer, and also the connections between the disease mechanisms and the corresponding treatments.

von Dr. A B

Oct 18, 2019

I found that this course was excellent, it was very informative, concise and helpful for me studying on the topic of cancer related issues in patients. I am so glad this course was available, I only wish I had known about it when I was doing research for my PhD. Thanks for being there Coursera!

von Muhammad F M

Sep 24, 2019

I would like to appreciate all instructors and professionals who actually designed this course and the ones who presented it in such a way that even most complicated sections were made to understand easily. A Unique learning experience. Thumbs Up Coursera !!!

von Lauren C

Feb 22, 2017

Very succinct course, although if you have studied molecular/cell biology in depth, it will mostly be review. The pacing of the lectures was engaging, and each lecturer held my attention well. In short, this is a great course to review basic cancer biology!

von Elzbieta O

Oct 08, 2019

Very good course given shortly, in very precise, explicit and clear way. There is a lot of information on mechanisms of metastasis as well as the causes of mortality. Dr Pienta is not only great scientist in the field but also a great lecturer. Thank you!

von Jigisha G

Nov 09, 2019

This course was very informative. It helped me understand the metastasis of cancer in detail. The quiz helped me check my progress. Metastasis is a very important aspect related to cancer and this course gives complete understanding of Cancer Metastasis

von Dario M

Apr 25, 2019

dr Pienta absolutely awesome. talks slowly, gives us time to check what's written on the slides (i am a foreigner and i need a bit of time to metabolize the informations. thanks, will surely purchase some more courses in the near future.

von Beril T

Aug 04, 2017

Thank you for creating this course. I have studied molecular biology & genetics, and currently I am a medical student in Turkey. Your lectures have provided me with a better insight about the cancer metastasis processes.

von David A B

Oct 02, 2017

I really enjoy the course. I am a medical student interested and Oncology and this course has encoureged me to carry on studing in order to become an oncologist.

Thank you very much for prepare this course.

von Mar R

Feb 20, 2018

This is an enjoyable and highly informative course, useful to know about the fundamentals of cancer, in addition to the current state of research and what is still needed in the fight against this disease.

von Al P P

Mar 22, 2017

Excellent course. Gives you a well oriented description of the steps required for metastasis and doing so it opens our view of places were treatments can be implemented. Thanks for sharing your knowledge..

von Roman B

Feb 09, 2017

Good course, but why researchers whant to hold/control cancer in a human and not rebuild the destroyed mechanisms of autoregul;ation by genetic engeneering for example? That would be true cure.

von RAJ W

Jun 04, 2018

It is a beautifully designed course. it never gets boring. The best part is that you can learn at your own pace. Thank you all the instructors and Coursera for making the content available.

von Mahmoud A

Jan 13, 2017

That's was Avery good experience on the course it's really beneficial and very helpful and I want to thank doctors that had taken apart in explaining cancer metastasis thanks very much

von Ghazal

Jul 30, 2017

it was an amazing course! everything was clear and well-explained.. i had fun and learned alot! thank you coursera! this was my first course and i really enjoyed every minute of it!

von Meghana M

Aug 15, 2017

This course is completely informative and easily understandable for the beginners especially. Thanks to Coursera and John Hopkins University for the wonderful course.