Chevron Left
Zurück zu Chicken Behaviour and Welfare

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Chicken Behaviour and Welfare von The University of Edinburgh

4.7
414 Bewertungen
156 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course explains the general principles of chicken behaviour and welfare, and the behavioural and physiological indicators that can be used to assess welfare in chickens kept in hobby flocks through to commercial farms. The focus is primarily on laying hens and meat chickens (broilers) although many of the principles are relevant to other types of poultry. The course is likely to be of interest to people who own chickens as pets or keep a small hobby flock, commercial egg and chicken meat producers, veterinarians and vet nurses. Learning Objectives: at the end of this course, you will be able to - - Describe avian sensory perception and motivation - Explain the main behaviour patterns of poultry - Define welfare and explain the bases of welfare standards - Assess chicken welfare, using behavioural and physiological means - Understand common welfare problems of chickens This course is taught by staff from Scotland's Rural College (SRUC), University of Glasgow, and St David's Poultry Team. You can follow us on Twitter! #chickenmooc © University of Edinburgh and Scotland's Rural College 2016 CC BY...

Top-Bewertungen

MS

Jul 31, 2019

Great information about chickens' instinctive behaviors and the advantages and disadvantages of various means of caring for them. I learned a lot about the various systems used throughout the world.

CL

Oct 07, 2016

Fantastic course if you're just starting out in the world of chickens. I feel that I gained vital knowledge which has boosted my confidence in my abilities as a back garden hen keeper.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 152 Bewertungen für Chicken Behaviour and Welfare

von Aminullah

Feb 17, 2019

this course is very gainful for any person who is involved in any type of poultry production system directly or indirectly i would instigate all to involve and complete this course.

von ZAHIRULLAH

Nov 07, 2018

so informative course for me as a pakistani student

von Muhammad B c

Nov 29, 2018

very informative.....

von Fernando J p d

Jan 21, 2019

I'm about to start a small breeding project for laying hens naturally and it has been very important to know such an important topic.

von Simon V d b

Jan 25, 2019

The course consisted of a smart alternation between lecture videos, demonstrative videos, interviews and documents. The instructor spoke clearly and at a thoughtful pace and I appreciate how the videos were filmed on-site. The course also provided tips for anyone keeping chickens in a backyard coop.

von Muhammad I

Feb 15, 2019

An informative course for backyard and commercial poultry farmers to improve welfare aspects in the process of chicken production whether its for meat or egg production.

von Gipsi T

Sep 04, 2018

Great course for increasing awareness of a bird that is so useful to much of humanity.

von Christina S

Aug 24, 2018

Great course, loved it!

von Lawrence m

Oct 16, 2018

I have what I needed to know now but I need the link to pay for this certificate or account

von Anna P P C

Aug 20, 2018

If you are looking for very a very detailed knowledge about behaviour this is not what you are looking for, but if you want to have the general idea to start to get involved deeper in poultry farming is ideal, although it is perfect to start a backyard flock.

von Monique H

Oct 07, 2018

I learned a lot from this course: what is normal and necessary behavior for chickens, what they require for welfare, EU regulations, how modern farming methods may fall short of providing true welfare, the challenges of transport, what is required for humane culling and slaughter, and how selective breeding based on human convenience can lead to welfare issues for the birds. Most important: I learned a lot about what my two backyard girls need to be happy.

von Quantina B

Aug 16, 2016

I have learned so much from this course that I hadn't even considered before attempting to raise layers. I especially appreciate the tips for rearing free ranged birds in an urban or small yard environment; expressly the difference in approach for broilers opposed to the layers. I will most definitely incorporate the tip about liming into our routine. I've used it in the past as it sweetens the soil and helps for a healthier lawn, but now I know it can help lessen events of worms. Couldn't be happier about the decision to take this class.

von Juan J S B

Nov 27, 2017

Un curso magnífico tanto para los que crían para autoconsumo, como para los profesionales.

von Zego

Nov 14, 2017

so great and useful knowledge. this is the second time that i have learnt this course.

von Cher R

Sep 17, 2017

Things I really enjoyed about this course: the videos were short and organized around one central topic. The explanations were clear and concise with just enough photos to illustrate a concept. The course began with an explanation of chicken evolution and common behaviors and then those concepts were referenced later in relation to housing and behavior of commercial poultry. I would recommend this course to anyone who works in commercial poultry to better understand animal welfare concepts or to anyone keeping a backyard flock. Well done.

von Stephanie A A

Oct 24, 2016

This is a great introductory course for anyone interested in raising chickens or working in poultry science. Doesn't go much into biology of chickens; just the methods of raising and drawing conclusions based on observations.

von sujatha s

Jun 28, 2017

Very interesting course. The use of videos, interviews and documents keeps the learner's interest levels high. Well designed

von Agnieszka S

Aug 01, 2017

Thank you for fantastic opportunity to learn about chickens life.

von Crystal G

Jun 15, 2016

Learned a lot!

von Fiona B

Jul 23, 2017

Very good and informative. I would recommend this for anyone with an interest in chickens.

von usman i s

Apr 17, 2017

i have some backyard chickens this course helps me a lot towards understanding them and i would like to say they are doing really well in terms of health and i am glad.

von Virginia S

Sep 24, 2016

An excellent course, whether you have backyard poultry or just want to learn more about domestic, show or commercial poultry care, this course is a font of information.

von Cynthia B C

Jan 08, 2018

I learned a lot! I only wish that there is a section that focuses solely on keeping chickens in the backyard (comparison of breeds, examples of coops, types of feeds, etc.), although I'm not sure if that would fall under chicken behavior and welfare :) Thank you!

von Ruben E B

Jun 28, 2016

Great!!

von Joao L W

Jun 11, 2017

Very educational and honest.