Chevron Left
Zurück zu Chimpanzee Behavior and Conservation

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Chimpanzee Behavior and Conservation von Duke University

5.0
40 Bewertungen
12 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Chimpanzees are one of our closest living relatives, yet almost nothing was known about their behavior in the wild until Jane Goodall started her groundbreaking study of the chimpanzees of Gombe, Tanzania in 1960. This study continues today, following the same chimpanzee families that Jane Goodall first encountered over 55 years ago. Guided by three course instructors who have lived and worked with the Gombe chimpanzees, you will learn how Goodall’s early discoveries changed our view of human uniqueness. By completing the course, you will gain a new appreciation of the deep similarities between chimpanzees and humans in intelligence, tool use, hunting, personality and social relationships, as well as some key differences. You will learn how chimpanzees interact with their environment and how their behavior is influenced by ecology, as well as the severe conservation challenges they face today. And you will employ your new knowledge of chimpanzees to construct a persuasive argument for their protection. This course is open to everyone interested in learning more about these fascinating and complex beings. Knowledge of high-school level biology is beneficial but not required. Please keep in mind, however, that the content of this course will cover all aspects of chimpanzee life, including scientific discussion of sexual and aggressive behaviors....

Top-Bewertungen

JJ

Apr 11, 2019

A very interesting overview of chimpanzee behavior, ecology, and preservation. This course makes you want to go to Africa and spend at least some time working with chimpanzee studies.

JK

Jul 29, 2019

Whether you're a zookeeper, anthropologist, or simply a great ape enthusiast, this course is great for learning about and/or furthering your knowledge about chimpanzees.

Filtern nach:

1 - 12 von 12 Bewertungen für Chimpanzee Behavior and Conservation

von Petra F

Aug 20, 2019

I REALLY enjoyed this course. The instructors of the course are very knowledgeable and they presented the material in a clear and concise way; short videos followed by practice quizzes, discussion forums, occasional readings, and the weekly assessments. The videos were just the right length and the entire structure of the course made it possible for me (working a full-time and a part-time job) to complete this course. I wish there would be more courses offered by the same professors on this topic. Excellent course!

von Tiffany J

May 23, 2019

This course was so interesting and helpful! I really hope more courses like this are designed for the other great ape species!!!

von Christine C

Sep 10, 2019

Great course! I learned so many things about chimpanzees. It will help me as a new caregiver aid in a chimpanzees sanctuary. Thank you very much!

von Sophie W

Sep 09, 2019

This style of learning fit perfectly with my current work/life routine and the course content was very thorough and easily accessible! Loved this 5 week course.

von TATIANA V R H

May 08, 2019

The best course about chimpanzee

von Jessica K

Jul 29, 2019

Whether you're a zookeeper, anthropologist, or simply a great ape enthusiast, this course is great for learning about and/or furthering your knowledge about chimpanzees.

von KateLyn M

May 14, 2019

Very much enjoyed the new information learned and the way that it was presented. Each video and activities were informative and interactive. Overall a great experience! Next, I would love to see Duke do further classes on other ape species.

von Joseph B J

Apr 11, 2019

A very interesting overview of chimpanzee behavior, ecology, and preservation. This course makes you want to go to Africa and spend at least some time working with chimpanzee studies.

von John C

Apr 29, 2019

I learned so much from this course. Very excellent information.

von marly u r

Mar 21, 2019

Excellent!!!!!!!!!!!!!

von marc e t

Sep 23, 2019

I like it very much¡ the next cours about gorillas anb orangutans please

von Fiona L

Sep 25, 2019

Really well put together, lots of fascinating insights into our fellow primates - highly recommended!