Chevron Left
Zurück zu Data-driven Astronomy

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Data-driven Astronomy von The University of Sydney

4.8
Sterne
895 Bewertungen
267 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Science is undergoing a data explosion, and astronomy is leading the way. Modern telescopes produce terabytes of data per observation, and the simulations required to model our observable Universe push supercomputers to their limits. To analyse this data scientists need to be able to think computationally to solve problems. In this course you will investigate the challenges of working with large datasets: how to implement algorithms that work; how to use databases to manage your data; and how to learn from your data with machine learning tools. The focus is on practical skills - all the activities will be done in Python 3, a modern programming language used throughout astronomy. Regardless of whether you’re already a scientist, studying to become one, or just interested in how modern astronomy works ‘under the bonnet’, this course will help you explore astronomy: from planets, to pulsars to black holes. Course outline: Week 1: Thinking about data - Principles of computational thinking - Discovering pulsars in radio images Week 2: Big data makes things slow - How to work out the time complexity of algorithms - Exploring the black holes at the centres of massive galaxies Week 3: Querying data using SQL - How to use databases to analyse your data - Investigating exoplanets in other solar systems Week 4: Managing your data - How to set up databases to manage your data - Exploring the lifecycle of stars in our Galaxy Week 5: Learning from data: regression - Using machine learning tools to investigate your data - Calculating the redshifts of distant galaxies Week 6: Learning from data: classification - Using machine learning tools to classify your data - Investigating different types of galaxies Each week will also have an interview with a data-driven astronomy expert. Note that some knowledge of Python is assumed, including variables, control structures, data structures, functions, and working with files....

Top-Bewertungen

SK

Sep 11, 2020

Really amazing course! Gave me insights into how data analysis works in the field of astronomy and how one can use different machine learning techniques to classify the huge amounts of data generated.

MC

Feb 29, 2020

Its been amazing to learn about the celestial objects, stars, galaxies. The lectures and quizzes spurred in me to explore new material online. Great hands on exercises in python and machine learning

Filtern nach:

226 - 250 von 264 Bewertungen für Data-driven Astronomy

von Jiqing H

Jun 12, 2019

great course!

von Israel d S R d A

Feb 07, 2020

Very helpful

von Renato T

Jul 31, 2020

Excellent!

von 唐怀金

Apr 23, 2019

very good

von Kristina I

Apr 19, 2017

Excellent

von Nikhil G M

Jun 13, 2020

great

von Victor M

May 17, 2017

This course lies in the confluence of both my professional experience (software development in the IT industry) and the science that interests me the most: astronomy and astrophysics. Just a glance at the syllabus was enough to convince me that the course would be worth taking, due to its good structure and wide scope, covering current trends in both data science and computational astronomy.

From previous online course experience in these areas, I knew at the beginning that contents can be hard to grasp if the theory and practice are not well balanced, but it turned out to be a great run, with enough depth to pique one's interest while at the same time feeling comfortable using both past and newly acquired knowledge.

The course sports an excellent tool to solve and test the programming assignments that constitute most of the grades you will earn. Thanks to it, you will be freed, as a student, from the most common hassles in online courses involving coding (mainly environment setup). Which means more chances to focus on the main subjects covered and a pleasant wading through the challenges posed.

Beware that if you are already comfortable ín the programming language used (Python), you may easily be craving for more advanced assignments, but this I'm sure is easy to request from the helpful professors and staff. If you are instead a novice with regards to coding, additional parallel effort may be required, but the course contents will guide you well in the endeavor.

One aspect of the course that may be specially challenging is the relatively speedy run through the theory and concepts of Machine Learning. A myriad other online courses on the subject exist already; the course focusses instead more on the application of the techniques and nicely shows real world (or more appropriately, universe :-) ) applications which will help cementing the theories behind. I would expect that if you have not had previous contact with the subject, the contents can feel a bit daunting. But with some extra commitment (check the numerous online resources, take a parallel course...) I am pretty sure this can be overcome.

von Tomislav P

Jan 27, 2020

Generally, I liked the course and really enjoyed it; I think it is really well made. However, I decided to give it 4/5 stars, because it is a bit short, covers only a small part of astronomy and machine learning and because exercises are not that challenging and too much help is sometimes given. I'd give it 5 stars if the course was a bit longer (2-3 times as long), covered more astronomy and machine learning topics (with exercises as well), and maybe most importantly forced the participant to go through more materials to be able to finish the course. Nonetheless, I'd like to thank the course's creators!

von Abel C D

Jun 09, 2020

the course is informative. It combines computing theories along with astronomy. It also helps deal with us about how important is data analysis from the perspective of the astronomer. The number of lecture videos are very less. And don't deep dive into the concepts of astronomy itself. We have to read a lot. Also, this course uses grok learning software, even though it's a great method for coding exercise it has many drawbacks of not fully conveying the concepts. Moreover, the course is a bit outdated when compared to current machine learning algorithms.

von Kavan P

Sep 25, 2020

I actually wanted to give four and a half stars but the option is not available. Anyway, this is a great course, teaching us some the best skills about handling the innumerous space data. The only thing is, I found some difficulties to understand the coding in some tasks just because I'd a very basic idea of using Python, and the demand of skills required for a new learner of Python are increasing exponentially. Except that, it was a great experience to learn with this course! Thank you University of Sydney.

von Pavel K

Oct 20, 2018

Overall the course is great, I highly recommend it to astronomers who want to learn some new tricks in data science. Meanwhile, it is not so useful for everyone else - lections are super brief and superficial, coding assignments are very easy and not challenging at all, not only you have a pretty self-explanatory template (do A, do B), but it is possible to view a complete solution right away, which is rather strange approach.

von Rene F

Sep 04, 2017

So far, the first week has been interesting. Challenging because I am new to Python (I am a C/C++, Swift and ABAP developer) . The assignments are well guided - challenging but far from impossible.

I would like the videos to be a little longer or give a little more theoretical background but mostly it has the right amount of info.

von Adam S

Jun 25, 2017

I thought this class was a great application of Python Programming to an interesting topic that I otherwise would not have learned. However, coming from a computer science background, the programming was pretty easy. If you are looking to strictly learn more about programming, I would suggest a more difficult course.

von Antoni C M

Oct 07, 2018

I've really enjoyed this course! There are a lot of new things to learn in it. Just to say something not so good from my point of view is that in the exercises sometimes the libraries or code to use could be a bit more explained or documented. But in general it's very good. I recommend it.

von Antonio P

Aug 29, 2020

It is a very interesting course and the way astronomical problems and coding problems are connected is seamless and very interesting. Also, the videos have great quality and the interviews were great. I only wish it was a bit longer and also pandas were part of it

von Doug

Jan 29, 2018

Good course, with fun examples to work with. I'm not an astronomer, and mainly took the course for fun,but the things I've learned here will be useful for my own research. About the only thing I would have liked to see was more background material on each topic.

von Roberto G

Jun 30, 2020

Very interesting approach to astronomy, although I would have preferred larger part of the course devoted to strictly astronomical topics and less time spent on basic quantitative notions. By the way, thank you, you gave me some hours of enjoyment.

von Archana B

Jul 10, 2020

An amazing course to get started for someone like me, passionate about astronomy and closely related to the field of computer science. Very well organized and nicely explained course with great visuals and mid-tests. Kudos to the instructors!

von K S R

Sep 25, 2019

A really good course covering a variety of subjects in both astronomy and data analysis which is exactly the combination I was looking for. A final exercise covering all the topics taught would have been a fitting end to the course.

von Vibha

Dec 08, 2019

Well-taught, good supporting resources, and heavily rooted in application. The external grading tool exceeded expectations as well. Next time, would prefer more of the code being explained by the instructors.

von Federico T

Jul 24, 2017

A good introduction in Data Astronomy with Python. I missed some lessons about python to finish some of the volunteer exercises and some contact with astronomy data from the web, but it is a great course.

von Gautam B

Apr 22, 2017

Great and quick way to learn things. Thanks for the troubles taken to put this together. Some of the computational exercises could do with a little more clarity of language. But, overall, Great!

von Francisco

May 15, 2019

Interesting introduction to machine-learning techniques applied to astronomical data. I think very adapted to astronomers willing to learn about this topic or to astronomy students.

von GAVIN W

Sep 30, 2019

If you want to learn Python and a bit of Machine Learning in the context of Astronomy then this is a great course to give your skills a boost and learn more about modern Astronomy.

von José L I M

Jul 29, 2020

I've been researching on both machine learning and astronomy, this is a nice course to get introduced on how things are being made in data-driven Astronomy.