Chevron Left
Zurück zu Disability Inclusion in Education: Building Systems of Support

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Disability Inclusion in Education: Building Systems of Support von University of Cape Town

4.8
Sterne
297 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Worldwide millions of children are not able to fully participate in schooling, and this is especially a problem for children with disabilities. In this course, we explore the support that teachers need in order to meet the needs of children with severe to profound hearing, visual and intellectual disabilities. We consider how this can be done by talking with a range of experts (from teachers to activists) about inclusive education as well as sharing experiences of education. Inclusive education is only possible if teachers are supported and empowered to make the curriculum accessible to all learners. The topics in this course cover developing disability confidence and what exactly children with specific impairments need to be able to learn. This includes sharing specific classroom strategies and teaching activities for learners who are D/deaf or hard of hearing, blind or have low vision or have a severe to profound intellectual disability. By the end of the course, you will be familiar with the impairment specific needs of learners with disabilities, and how to build systems of support for inclusive education. You will be able to purchase a Verified Certificate if you wish to show evidence of your achievements, but this is optional, and you may apply for Financial Aid if you are unable to pay the certificate fee. This course was developed as part of the project ´Strengthening teaching for Children with profound Hearing, Visual and Intellectual Disabilities in South Africa` co-funded by Christoffel-Blinden Mission (CBM) and the European Union....

Top-Bewertungen

MA

12. Mai 2019

I'm truly satisfied that I followed this course. It enhanced my knowledge about Disability education and inclusion. Easy steps and instructions. Well informed. This will surely help me in my career.

VF

27. Juni 2020

Thank you so much for having this kind of course it really help me on my job. Thank you for sharing your expertise and knowledge. I will apply all the things that I have learned in this course.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 87 Bewertungen für Disability Inclusion in Education: Building Systems of Support

von Ahnaf S

15. Mai 2020

This course was awesome and very informative.

I have learned new things from this course.

von Brenda

25. März 2020

Excellent course. Learned a lot of valuable things.

von Gertrud T M

23. Apr. 2021

While I am not an educator but a public health expert and mother of an intellectually disabled adult daughter, it allowed me to gather a wide variety of theoretical and practical approaches on how to address inclusion in a community, school, and family setting. The need for good policies and local implementation is key.

von Victoria T

23. Mai 2020

The course was very informative and enjoyable! I would have appreciated if there was also information on Individuals with physical disabilities. It has definitely increased my knowledge on how I can improve as a teacher advocating for inclusive education.

von Sara B R

11. Sep. 2020

I loved the course and its contents, teachers, videos and resources. It helped me to consolidate my thoughts about disability and the need of a real inclusion. This course covered a wide range of relevant issues and gave us a good background and starting point to work with. Dealing with a person with disability is challenging, demanding and might be frightening, but its also a great opportunity for personal growth and self-development. Inclusion is the best and only way to approach disability and it is crucial not only to protect and take care of the most vulnerable with disability, but also to change other people´s minds and hearts. An inclusive society that embraces diversity is a better society for all its members.

As an Educational Psychologist and mother of a 3-year-old daughter with DS I feel responsible to share the word and my personal and professional experience with others (parents, teachers, friends, family…). This course gave me confidence and increased my desire to pursue my studies in this field, thank you!

von Chatematti B

9. Nov. 2020

A pleasant good day to all. I have learnt so much and can now relate to persons with disability in a much appreciative way. I have this passion for a long time and how that I was given the opportunity I felt privileged to be a part of this programme A very big thank you to all who made this possible . I recently started another course Educating Deaf Children becoming an empowered teacher so far it is very inspiring I have some prerequisite knowledge from the Disability Inclusion which is very useful. Is it possible for me to have the coursera certificate(Shareable with my name on it). Stay safe you and family God blessing.

von Celia W

15. Sep. 2020

Great course! Informative and helpful, with up to date information on inclusion of individuals with disabilities in education and society. I particularly enjoyed how this course advocated for social justice with a progressive lens and encourages empowerment and change. It steers away from solely looking at the medical model of disability and really focuses on the strengths of the students in the classroom, and how to design classes for all learners using the principles of Universal Design.

von Seema F

14. Sep. 2021

I​ have learned about the following important topics:

Disability inclusion,

Teachers need for disability inclusion,how they can deal children with disabilities,

I​impairment based needs and learnings,

​support structures relevant to education system and importance of inclusion in all sectors of life.

A​ll these learnings will help me to better perform my job and can utilise it at any stage of my life to benefit others.

von Stephanie Z

9. Aug. 2021

T​he course was very informative! I appreciated learning strategies to create an inclusive learning environment for students. I knew a little about disabilties before taking this course but after, I know feel more knowledgeable and can apply the practices and information to better understand students and provide an accessible and equitable education.

von Lenika V

8. Juni 2020

This course was extremely insightful. As a teacher I feel that this course truly challenged me to see the classroom from the learners' perspective. I am passionate about inclusive education. Because of this fantastic course I feel more confident and better equipped to education learners with disabilities.

von Ibomeze C I

21. Juli 2020

This course was truly comprehensive in providing the knowledge required by teachers, school administrators and anyone else involved in the educational sector to begin taking steps towards disability inclusion. My appreciation to the team that led the course- Thank you so much!

von Romina G Z

15. März 2022

It was an absolute eye-opening course! I learned so much from it. I'm just so thankful I came across this course. It made me more aware of the plight of the PWDs, consequently, making me more an advocate for their cause. Thank you, Coursera!

von Moloko R R

18. Mai 2022

The course is very Educational and it brings opportunities to learners living with disability, to be able to learn and to teachers to be able to teach learners with disability with better understanding.

von Muhammed Y

12. Jan. 2021

çok verimli bir eğitim olduğunu düşünüyorum. özel gereksinimi olan bireylere yönelik çalışmalar arttıkça toplumun kalitesi de artacaktır. bu sizlerin sayesinde olacaktır. teşekkürler.

von Hananmuhibbatuddin N

29. Apr. 2022

It's currently and extreamly beneficial. It was an eye-openning ecpereince that inspired me to share what I'd learned with others and put it to use in my educational work.

von ELISA F G

2. Dez. 2021

This course is very complete about disability inclusion in Education. It has helped me a lot in my formation about inclusion and diversity. Thanks!!!

von KOKETSO C M

16. Mai 2022

Taking this course was really an eye opener. I have learned so much in such a short period of time. I am definitely looking forward to more courses

von Nancy L R

10. Nov. 2021

Excellent Course! All of the Professors were very knowledgeable and easy to understand. Looking forward to other courses in this specialty.

von Susan A O

13. Nov. 2020

I enjoyed my learning times all through. The content is so rich in empowering educators and all players in the field of disability.

von KAREN N P P

6. Juli 2020

Excellent. Fully recommended for understand the disability inclusion and the role of all stakeholders of the school community.

von Mary j N

20. Apr. 2022

I enjoy the course. thank you so much for sharing your good practices in implementing inclusive education. Salute!God bless

von Relyn M

25. Apr. 2022

​This was a very interesting course to learn and it has a lot of insight on Inclusive Education and supporting teachers!

von Chinatsu Y

6. Aug. 2021

amazing course to learn disability inclusion in the school.

thank you so much to have such a amazing course Ms. Miller.