Chevron Left
Zurück zu Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases von The Pennsylvania State University

4.7
710 Bewertungen
168 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Not so long ago, it was almost guaranteed that you would die of an infectious disease. In fact, had you been born just 150 years ago, your chances of dying of an infectious disease before you've reached the tender age of 5 would have been extremely high. Since then, science has come a long way in understanding infectious diseases - what they are, how they spread, and how they can be prevented. But diseases like HIV/AIDS, Malaria, Tuberculosis, or the flu are still major killers worldwide, and novel emerging diseases are a constant threat to public health. In addition, the bugs are evolving. Antibiotics, our most potent weapon against bacterial infections, are losing their power because the bacteria are becoming resistant. In this course, we'll explore the major themes of infectious diseases dynamics. After we’ve covered the basics, we'll be looking at the dynamics of the flu, and why we're worried about flu pandemics. We'll be looking at the dynamics of childhood diseases such as measles and whooping cough, which were once considered almost eradicated, but are now making a comeback. We'll explore Malaria, and use it as a case study of the evolution of drug resistance. We'll even be looking at social networks - how diseases can spread from you to your friends to your friends' friends, and so on. And of course we’ll be talking about vaccination too. We’ll also be talking about how mobile phones, social media and crowdsourcing are revolutionizing disease surveillance, giving rise to a new field of digital epidemiology. And yes, we will be talking about Zombies - not human zombies, but zombie ants whose brains are hijacked by an infectious fungus. We're looking forward to having you join us for an exciting course!...

Top-Bewertungen

DB

Apr 23, 2016

Can't fault this course at all and nor would I want to. Very interesting, brilliantly presented and the range of experts really enhanced it. It was engaging and made me keen to find out more.

DJ

May 13, 2017

It is a wonderful course , I have gain and updated my Knowledge in the area of Epidemics and Infectious Disease, Thanks to the Course organizers and most effective presentations . Dr Shivaji

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 163 Bewertungen für Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases

von Giorgia B

Jan 28, 2019

I loved it. It's complete in every aspect, it explains deeply the whole problem of epidemics but at the same time it's not too difficult from who comes from different fields rather than medicine or biology. Really awesome course.

von Omer K

Jan 17, 2019

an excellent learning experience it was

i am glad that i will utilize this learning at masters level of my studies

thank you so much !

von Kenneth L J J

Feb 13, 2019

This was a really well taught coURSE!

von Aruhomukama D

Aug 22, 2018

Great Course !

von David E M E

Sep 07, 2018

Really good course. It give me the basis for epidemic área

von Monira A

Oct 16, 2018

very very very clear and informative I'm very glad that i enrolled

von Edgar Y C O

Aug 20, 2018

The best course that I made. I like the class and the simply of concepts related with the dynamics of epidemic. I congratulate to Professors team.

von James F

Sep 19, 2018

This was a well put together course. The short 3 minute videos were perfect!

von 白金松

Oct 02, 2018

非常不错,科普效果很不错,对于有一些基础知识的人也很有益处,边上的手绘示例真的很可爱

von Ekaterina C

Sep 28, 2015

Very informative and dynamic! Loving it.

von Kris U

Dec 07, 2015

Great lectures; well organized; logical presentation; engaging.

von Helen B

Apr 09, 2016

Excellent course - a great overview even for people new to the field. Great, entertaining lecture videos!

von Abdulrahman M

Sep 01, 2015

Thank you to all the members of course on this great effort has been spectacular and of course benefited him a lot and was very entertaining explanation you are great

von Ana S

Jan 14, 2016

Un curso muy completo y educativo, en el que aprendes fácilmente conceptos, que a priori, no son triviales.

von Wenyi L

Jan 08, 2016

保证信息传达的同时,还非常生动有趣,是相当不错的课程!非常感谢老师们。在国外当老师好酷啊,还可以当各种电视剧、电影和游戏的顾问。

von Catherine C

Oct 14, 2016

Great for beginners and a good review of the basics!

von hoor u a r

Jan 30, 2016

interesting course

von Uener R d S

Jun 03, 2017

It's a great and interesting course. I recommend.

von Anna I

Nov 05, 2015

Excellent class with a rich variety of instructors from multidisciplinary array of fields, lots of extra information and pretty much any question answered!

von Sandra C

Nov 10, 2015

it was a fantastic course!!. Could you do a course to learn statistical predictions????

von Jackeline N

May 21, 2017

Very useful information delivered in a instigating way!

von Dean C

Feb 29, 2016

Excellent course. The video lectures were outstanding, understandable and organized in a way that helped me digest all of the information presented.

von Harrison A

Aug 31, 2015

Video lectures were engaging and conveyed information in an easily understood way.

von Tarik A

Mar 29, 2016

Epidemics - the Dynamics of Infectious Diseases by The Pennsylvania State University is one best courses on Coursera I have ever taken. It helps in identifying infectious diseases and their subsequent eradication.

von enrico

Apr 28, 2016

One of the best course I've follow this year. The topic is really interesting, the lessons were simple to be followed and in the final lessons professors zere able to stimulate student's curiosity about the view of infection control in the future. Congratulations. Enrico Leott