Chevron Left
Zurück zu Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1 von University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
Sterne
2,801 Bewertungen
792 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

"Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1" is aimed at learners who are seeking to augment, expand, optimize, and increase the efficiency of their Excel spreadsheet skills by tapping into the powerful programming, automation, and customization capabilities available with Visual Basic for Applications (VBA). This course is the first part of a three-part series and Specialization that focuses on the application of computing techniques in Excel/VBA to solve problems. In this course (Part 1), you will: 1) create macros to automate procedures in Excel; 2) define your own user-defined functions; 3) create basic subroutines to interface with the user; 4) learn the basic programming structures in VBA; and 5) automate Excel’s Goal Seek and Solver tools and use numerical techniques to create “live solutions” to solve targeting and optimization problems. New to computer programming? The extremely intuitive and visual nature of VBA lends itself nicely to teaching and learning - what a fun way to learn to code! No prior knowledge in programming nor advanced math skills are necessary yet seasoned programmers will pick up new and creative spreadsheet problem solving strategies. After you have learned the basics of VBA, each module will introduce foundational and broad problems inspired by situations that you might encounter in the real world. To pass each module, you'll need to pass a mastery quiz and complete a problem solving assignment. This course is unique in that the weekly assignments are completed in-application (i.e., on your own computer in Excel), providing you with valuable hands-on training....

Top-Bewertungen

MS
26. Jan. 2018

Great course! I like it goes straight to implementation and is practice-oriented. What could be improved maybe is sound quality of lectures. And maybe it would be great to have some VBA notes in pdf.

JH
2. Apr. 2020

Very good course with clear examples throughout to help you develop. The online format of the course is great as it allows you to pause and work through the activities presented at your own speed.

Filtern nach:

701 - 725 von 789 Bewertungen für Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

von victor c

5. Sep. 2018

Very good introductory course in VBA. I have used much of what i have learned in this course to automate certain procedures that me and my team members are using in our gas turbine industry, customer support engineering day to day activities. VBA enabled me to automate these procedures and minimise human induced errors, and generate effortlessly and rapidly a number of solutions to certain straightforward engineering tasks.

von TANVEER A B

24. Nov. 2018

Its a good basic for programming and i really enjoyed. Prior excel experience is required. For working professional like me its difficult to complete the course in 1 month, so your subscription goes into 2nd month and course fee is again deducted and you are left with no option but to continue if you want to pass it. So i recommend organizers to consider 2 months default period for single time fees deduction.

von Vincent G

7. Juni 2018

Great course for a start in VBA. The screencasts were to the piont and explicit. The assignments were sometimes a little more difficult to follow because the topics were mostly concerned with physics and not business. Also good to know: the formatting of numbers is American. For European students this is valuable information because I failed my first assignment many times because of my E

von Leonel G P

28. Mai 2020

Great course, helps a lot to see how VBA can be an additional tool that can help us to address real life problems saving time and resources. Unfortunately the course in my opinion is not fully appropriate for those ones without previous VBA knowledge and certain complex mathematical level understanding if they don't have time to looking for information and practice a lot by their own.

von Zoltán T

2. Mai 2020

Pros: The instructor uses real engineering examples, shows useful algorithms, and he is a great lecturer.

Cons: The examples do not use SI units and it is quite annoying to use miles, gallons, inches and cubic feet in the 21st century. More starter files would be useful to follow the examples, it is not efficient to type in long expressions just to be able to start the coding part.

von Hisham A

1. Juli 2020

I believe the course over all lacked rigour in concepts explanations. I believe introduction to concepts of programming would have been helpful for those with no prior experience in programming. But, for me, having a very good experience with programming and scripting as being a Linux user for 3 years, this course just gave what I needed. Thanks professor Nuttelman!

von Aeriel N S

22. Juni 2018

The course was a great refresher for me since I haven't used VBA in quite a while and everything was clearly explained. Although at first I was overwhelmed since some of the examples were leaning on formulas, I was still able to understand all of it because of how Charlie explained everything in an easy manner.

von Werner V

11. Mai 2020

A good course for both the novice as well as the more familiar Excel user. It was fun to delve into a bit of coding and problem solving using VBA. It is a must for Excel user who have unique calculations and problem solving scenarios and wish to automate tasks or even simplify it for everyday users!

von Andrés T R

25. Feb. 2020

I've learned a lot from this course. It gains in complexity with each week, but after struggling and trying to get the correct answer, you feel great and you know that you have learned new skills that are really useful for various situations, specially to solve problems with different perspectives.

von Haydn S

16. Apr. 2019

Great course. Well explained and easy to follow. Some of the assignments could be a bit more specific in what is required (e.g. calling a function within another function - rather than writing out code in the second function). But all things considered, highly recommended.

von Ryan

13. Juni 2019

Great course. Week 4 is particularly more difficult than the preceding sections. The VBA cheat sheet is very useful for Weeks 1-3, but could be improved to help explain different For Loop structures and common errors when building a For Next Loop. Thank you Dr. Nuttelman.

von Rajesh S

18. Feb. 2018

This course is OK for Part 1. I think it would be better if the course was more focused on programming. That is, I would have preferred that the course have more content related to vba syntax. (Perhaps this is in Part II, which I am not sure that I'll take.)

von Gone A K

19. Nov. 2020

The instructor and the course is excellent. The only con is that are no practice exercises (for example SAS course by SAS has good number of exercises). It would be perfect if sir could include some exercises in between the screencasts.

von Paul F C

29. Okt. 2020

i really loved this course. Some of those concepts need a lot of practrice to deal with them.if i were the teacher i would 've given more excersices, maybe optional excersices ,to not scare those lazy students.

von Salvador R M

27. Aug. 2020

Excellent course for beginners trying to learn a new way to work in Excel with VBA. The subjects are well explained and the assignments have the adecuate difficulty to reinforce the information learned

von Grégoire P

8. Sep. 2019

Very good teaching by Prof. Nuttelman, who explains new notions very clearly. On the improvement side, I would perhaps suggest adding a few exercises to vary a bit the problems students have to solve.

von Rodolfo P L

22. Feb. 2018

The screencasts are very clear and concise but the assignments were too easy. I would suggest adding some assignments related with finance (e.g., bond calculators and portfolio optimization problems).

von Ingrid F

21. Sep. 2018

the course was very informative and helpful.

However, it would be easier to concentrate on VBA if people who don't use mathematical formulas that much would not have to deal with maths that much.

von CHAN, B K

2. Aug. 2018

Relatively easy, I cleared 3 weeks within 2 hours, and completed the whole module in less than 3 days. I did not spend more than 5 hours each of the 3 days. The honors exercise was interesting.

von Evan M

29. März 2020

I like this course. Very helpful. But, the quizzes are "tricky" meaning the content is not too hard, but the questions are tricky. The assignments are very good, much better than the quizzes.

von Sabarish A

8. Feb. 2020

The course content was pretty awesome but when searching for help no one came up to help me. Was hard to find help, I was lucky somehow I was able to get the assignments done

von Xueying W

29. Dez. 2019

Not MacOs user friendly. No warning about computer system in course introduction. No specific answer for assignments. No Grader file for Mac. As a Mac user I feel distressed.

von VICKY D P

26. Aug. 2020

A lot of practice is required to understand the syntax , concepts, usage of them at right place. Instructor was very helpful , course being nicely outlined .

Thanks!!

von Nikoline M

20. Sep. 2019

Very good introduction to VBA, however ever a bit math heavy for someone working in business, and haven't used algebra since college. Would still recommend.

von Sumeet D

4. Aug. 2020

Excellent course overall, very mathematical though. Most people will be intimidated by equations with logarithms, exponents and square roots etc.