Chevron Left
Zurück zu Genome Sequencing (Bioinformatics II)

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Genome Sequencing (Bioinformatics II) von University of California San Diego

4.7
Sterne
244 Bewertungen
52 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

You may have heard a lot about genome sequencing and its potential to usher in an era of personalized medicine, but what does it mean to sequence a genome? Biologists still cannot read the nucleotides of an entire genome as you would read a book from beginning to end. However, they can read short pieces of DNA. In this course, we will see how graph theory can be used to assemble genomes from these short pieces. We will further learn about brute force algorithms and apply them to sequencing mini-proteins called antibiotics. In the first half of the course, we will see that biologists cannot read the 3 billion nucleotides of a human genome as you would read a book from beginning to end. However, they can read shorter fragments of DNA. In this course, we will see how graph theory can be used to assemble genomes from these short pieces in what amounts to the largest jigsaw puzzle ever put together. In the second half of the course, we will discuss antibiotics, a topic of great relevance as antimicrobial-resistant bacteria like MRSA are on the rise. You know antibiotics as drugs, but on the molecular level they are short mini-proteins that have been engineered by bacteria to kill their enemies. Determining the sequence of amino acids making up one of these antibiotics is an important research problem, and one that is similar to that of sequencing a genome by assembling tiny fragments of DNA. We will see how brute force algorithms that try every possible solution are able to identify naturally occurring antibiotics so that they can be synthesized in a lab. Finally, you will learn how to apply popular bioinformatics software tools to sequence the genome of a deadly Staphylococcus bacterium that has acquired antibiotics resistance....

Top-Bewertungen

SV

Jan 10, 2017

Great course to explore a bit of Bioinformatics for those with no background in Bioinformatics. I love the way the content has been provided, its interactivity increases the interest in the course.

MP

Dec 08, 2017

I like the real-world tasks, especially the assembly on the final exam. Some of the programming tasks, such as the antibiotic noisy spectrum assembly, are challenging (which is good).

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 50 Bewertungen für Genome Sequencing (Bioinformatics II)

von Pinakhina D V

Apr 02, 2019

Thank you very much for such an engaging course.

von Naveen P

Jul 01, 2017

The course is well defined.

von Ayaan H

Jun 27, 2016

Enjoyed this course!

von 俞文冰

Jan 23, 2017

Very good courses.

von vibha h

May 18, 2017

Very nice course!

von ZIHAN X

Mar 25, 2019

good course!

von Weidong X

Jul 30, 2016

good course!

von Ahmad M Y A

Dec 16, 2016

excellent

von Tomasz K

May 11, 2017

Great!

von Rajat S

Jun 04, 2020

nice

von chenhyde628

Sep 25, 2016

wery

von Hilda P E

Aug 21, 2018

The course needs updates EXAMPLE: The version 3.0 for spades doesn't give the statistics and if you do a new version it doesn't give you the same data. I think this happened to other students, but we used Quast that it was later described in the instructions, but if it wasn't because someone suggested it in the discussion I would have follow the same path of using a new version that would have given me wrong data.

Thank you so much, This course has been helping me a lot.

CHEERS!!!

von Елена

Apr 18, 2020

Сам курс довольно интересный, но в итоговом задании не работали некоторые программы. Кроме того приходилось дважды сбрасывать сроки чтобы дождаться оценки.

von Meng Z

Sep 15, 2019

This course is great, but some times I can't open the dataset to test my code. I wish this can be fixed.

von ChenYuexi

Jun 22, 2017

There is no debug dataset like the previous course, which means you will get stuck longer.

von Juanjo B

Apr 29, 2019

The instruction material was slightly less helpful than in bioinformatics I.

von Shweta C

Oct 05, 2017

Great course for beginning in Genome sequencing..

von Nikhil Y

Apr 23, 2020

it was an amazing course to learn!!

von Jorge I F R

Aug 09, 2018

good introduction :)

von João H R O

Jun 03, 2020

The course covers interesting topics, but the explanations could be clearer and more formal. The extra activities are not very clear or complete (also and I do not consider it a course for those who have no background in programming). The final activity doesn't work properly (the link to realize the project has expired and is no longer available).

von Valeriya K

May 03, 2020

While the skills this course teaches are great, the course feels abandoned, it takes forever to get your assignment reviewed, some of the code assignments are buggy and there is very little explanation as the course progresses

von Howard ( R

May 04, 2020

As with the first course, much of the writing of this course is in need of improvement. Poorly written course material leads to wasted time in trying to decipher what the instructor means.

von HARSHIT J

May 30, 2020

The course, although good, seems to be abandoned as there were no responses from teaching staff for months, and several students were stuck on final assignment for weeks.

von Diego J M G

Jul 12, 2018

Great Materials but bad support

von Melinda B

May 24, 2019

The UCSD affiliation is really the only reason to do this course. It is so much harder than it needs to be.