Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Graph Theory

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Graph Theory by University of California San Diego

4.6
244 Bewertungen
50 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

We invite you to a fascinating journey into Graph Theory — an area which connects the elegance of painting and the rigor of mathematics; is simple, but not unsophisticated. Graph Theory gives us, both an easy way to pictorially represent many major mathematical results, and insights into the deep theories behind them. In this course, among other intriguing applications, we will see how GPS systems find shortest routes, how engineers design integrated circuits, how biologists assemble genomes, why a political map can always be colored using a few colors. We will study Ramsey Theory which proves that in a large system, complete disorder is impossible! By the end of the course, we will implement an algorithm which finds an optimal assignment of students to schools. This algorithm, developed by David Gale and Lloyd S. Shapley, was later recognized by the conferral of Nobel Prize in Economics. As prerequisites we assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), basic programming in python (functions, loops, recursion), common sense and curiosity. Our intended audience are all people that work or plan to work in IT, starting from motivated high school students....

Top-Bewertungen

SU

Feb 28, 2019

Appreciate the structure and the explanations with examples. The practice tool before every lesson not makes it fun to learn but also sets the student in the context and can anticipate the concept.

RH

Nov 17, 2017

Was pretty fun and gave a good intro to graph theory. Definitely felt inspired to go deeper and understood the most basic proof ideas. The later lectures can spike in difficulty though. Very nice!

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 of 48 Reviews for Introduction to Graph Theory

von Bryan W B

Dec 04, 2018

This course was very weak compared to the previous two courses in this series. The concepts are challenging but not very well presented. The quizzes are too easy and do not require you to master the material. The final algorithm problem is laughably easy. However, Dr. Alexander Shen was very responsive to all my questions.

von Justus G

Nov 06, 2017

Instructors' language was extremely difficult to understand. The potential applications of many of these theoretical concepts was not addressed algorithmically; it was very difficult to put any of this into practice.

von Rajat V

Jul 09, 2018

Language barrier is the most prominent issue. All the teachers are not native English speakers, which has negative implications at least for me. I understand the issue but just wish it were not the case.

von Arjun B

Jun 25, 2019

I would personally liked only one instructor to take the entire course but this method of a number of instructors in also nice

Overall a good course

von afaq a

May 03, 2019

Very friendly and applied course.

A well-balanced approach, even layman can understand the concept with exceptional ease.

von Greg M

Apr 21, 2019

very good course. made me curious to learn more graph theory. (in spite of years working on networking.)

von Kartikey g

Apr 09, 2019

It was really good experiencing the different way of learning everything explained so properly all doubt are clear and the quiz and puzzle really helpfull

von Mohammed A A

Apr 04, 2019

easy n usefull

von Himanshu J

Apr 01, 2019

excellent explanation to the topics covered

von M U K R

Mar 20, 2019

nice course

von D V S S R

Mar 16, 2019

NICE COURSE

von Robert N

Mar 11, 2019

Unfortunately, several of the lectures were challenging to follow, and I found this course to be relatively less valuable compared to previous courses in the intro to discrete math specialization. Also, the examinations were fairly trivial to complete even without watching the lectures. Thus, the worst of both worlds: lectures that did not help me to learn paired with examinations that did not require mastery of the material.

von Wan H L

Mar 10, 2019

The lecturer well explained the course materials. But the assignments are too easy to complete, it does not tease your brain as exercise, and the week 5 is a bit hard to follow

von Sivakrishna U

Feb 28, 2019

Appreciate the structure and the explanations with examples. The practice tool before every lesson not makes it fun to learn but also sets the student in the context and can anticipate the concept.

von Patrizio S

Feb 02, 2019

I wish to thank the professors for having brought this course to Coursera, this topic is absolutely fantastic, and very well presented. I highly recommend it.

von Kijin K

Jan 24, 2019

I don't like one lecturer among faculty of it because of sloppy preparation and stuttering . But other lecture material was good like other courses in this specialization.

von Praveen K R

Jan 23, 2019

The course content is good. All exercises and problems are very nice for learning and understanding any concept.

von Tarashankar B

Jan 19, 2019

Excellent course

von Alex Y

Jan 11, 2019

Some explanations could be more detailed. The course jumps over important theorems too fast, so there may not be enough time to internalize knowledge for some. If one wants to understand basics of Graph Theory well, external readings may be required.

von Eugenio L C

Jan 06, 2019

The course gives a good overview to understand graphs and the math behind them. However, I expected more and I'm not satisfied with several parts of the course, poorly explained or with vague exercises. Specially the last week. This does not worth 70€ a month

von Arthur T R

Dec 20, 2018

This course is an excellent introduction to Graph Theory. It gives an overview of important topics and have a intuitive approach to the main problems. Also, the exercises are very helpful on memorizing the main concepts and training what you have learned. I strongly recommend this course for a first contact with Graph Theory.

von Joe L

Nov 17, 2018

I really love this course, it can help me to solve problems in life with Graph, stongly recommend this course!

von Saptarshi M

Nov 15, 2018

Liked in depth discussion of graph theory. Being an CS student, I have read graph theory from couple of books. But this course has provided a comprehensive understanding and many real life problems that can be solved using graph theory. Keep up your good work.

von Abhyuday D

Oct 16, 2018

Very informative.

von Ziad B

Oct 13, 2018

Really cool course to take with very interesting exercises. I especially liked some of the puzzles at the beginning of topics. I thought that the week 5 material needed some more concrete examples. It was presented in the abstract straight away. However, don't let that discourage you from taking the course. You may simply need to access the odd Youtube video to supplement the material presented here.