Chevron Left
Zurück zu The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World von Tel Aviv University

4.8
Sterne
1,044 Bewertungen
251 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The Holocaust was an inconceivable historical event, which forever robbed Western culture of its innocence. As civilized human beings, we fail to understand how events of such horror could have taken place, and how an idea so inhumanly warped could have spread like wildfire through an entire continent, instigating the systematic annihilation of millions of Jews. This free online course was produced jointly by Tel Aviv University and Yad Vashem – the World Holocaust Remembrance Center. The course tracks the history of the Holocaust and has two parts. "The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World" is the first of the two courses and covers the following themes in its three weeks: Week 1: From Hatred to Core Ideology We will try to delve into Nazi ideology and the special place of Jews and Judaism in it. We will also discuss how the National Socialist Party converted the German Democracy of the Weimar Republic into a totalitarian regime within a short period of time, and its meaning for Jews and non-Jewish citizens. Week 2: The World and the Jews in World War II We will try to examine the broader contexts of the Holocaust and to place it, as part of World War 2. In this meeting we will also refer to the vital Jewish world to be found under various Nazi occupations and influences. Week 3: The Isolation Abyss - the Perspective of the Individual We will try to reveal different aspects of Jewish life in the face of the badge of shame, ghettos and segregation, as well as the formation of individual, societies’ and leader’s reactions in the face of a consistent policy of dispossession and discrimination. Once you’ve completed this course, you can continue your learning with The Holocaust - An Introduction (II): The Final Solution (https://www.coursera.org/learn/holocaust-introduction-2/home/welcome) This online course is offered in an innovative, multi-level format, comprising: * Comprehensive lectures by leading researchers from Tel Aviv University and Yad Vashem. * A wealth of voices and viewpoints presented by guest lecturers. * Numerous documents, photos, testimonies and works of art from the time of the Holocaust. * Novel learning experience: Crowd sourcing – involving the learners themselves in the act of collecting and shaping information, via unique, exciting online assignments. REQUIREMENTS: This course is designed for anyone with an interest in the Holocaust, including students, teachers, academics and policy-makers....

Top-Bewertungen

D

Mar 28, 2016

A fascinating personal account of the atrocity while the world watched! This class is for everyone there is so much more to learn, thank you for everything you went out of you way to help, God Bless

DA

Jul 22, 2019

It is an eye-opening and humbling course. I appreciate how the content was presented through an engaging narrative. It led me to think more deeply about the Holocaust and humanity, for that matter.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 249 Bewertungen für The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World

von Brian H

May 24, 2020

Excellent, content, delivery and range of resources, both primary and secondary. I was thoroughly satisfied with it and answered many questions which I had previously thought of but did not know if they were relevant. This is a wonderful tool for persons with not just an interest in History in general but also into the mindsets of persons in countries of occupied Europe at this time.

von Naupess K K

Aug 29, 2020

This is a course worth to be taken by each inhabitant of the core nations of the African Great Lakes Region (AGLR), at least each scholar and sociopolitical leader of the DRC, Rwanda, Burundi and Uganda preventing genocide and other mass atrocities is to be taken seriously there. Making it available in French and training French-speaking local trainers is a real need there.

von Vanessa C

Feb 13, 2017

The course lets you access a wide range of resources that help you build a deeper understanding of the mass murder of European Jews. The questions in between videos (lessons) are helpful in processing and synthesizing socio-political events and ideologies that led to the holocaust. Two weeks into the lesson and I have never been bored - it is interesting and engaging.

von Deleted A

Mar 22, 2018

A very informative course, presented in such a manner that all and everybody will understand the horrors of WW2, and in particular the savage treatment, inflicted by the Nazi's and others, suffered by the Jewish population of Europe. Whilst I was born a Christian I due not practice any form of religion, but I respect all other peoples faith. ~ Steve Winter

von Gloriana B G

Apr 04, 2018

This was my first course in Coursera. I took it as a recreation course and it definetely caught me. The proffessor´s explanation is great and the material included is very interesting. The secuence of the course leads you to understand the topic without knowing more than general culture about the holocaust. I definetely recommend it.

von Manfred S

Mar 25, 2016

It is not easy to prepare and present this part of German History without any emotive stance and without condemnation. But you did it brilliant and it was well prepared. I learned a lot and what is most important for me new perspectives with unknown or partial unknown materials. Thank you very much for being a part of this course.

von David H

Aug 26, 2017

This course is a must for the beginner as well as seasoned learners. Having a good understanding and knowledge of the WWII and separately concerning the Holocaust it's a well presented representation of understanding what was happening and why. So many questions can be answered. Well done and look forward to Part Two.

von Kelly H

Apr 03, 2020

Anyone that is interested in learning about the Holocaust needs to take this course. I have taken many university courses on the subject and am currently doing my Master's degree in Holocaust education. I was very impressed with the instruction given by the specialists and the reading materials that they provided.

von Howard S

Sep 08, 2020

I liked the Professors. It must be so spending their lives as Israelis and Jews studying the regime that led to the destruction of people like themselves and perhaps some of their own family members. However, their work is so important to bringing as much light and understanding as possible into the horr

von ROBIN H

Jun 24, 2017

thank you for taking the time to teach me all of the factual events leading up to the worst crime ever in the history of bullys and war lords predjuice and mean single minded people should be so lucky to enjoy the same level of treatment afforded to the Jewish comunnities .for many lifetimes to come.

von ANURAG T

May 08, 2020

the topic itself greatly interested me. But as i began to learn the course, i was actually hooked to it. This course actually cleared a lot of misconceptions about Holocaust And Understanding Nazi Germany, lives under Hitler rule and the outlook of the European world towards the Jews

von Damon T R

Apr 15, 2018

I was pleasantly surprised by how much I learned from this short course. I originally was just taking it to refresh my memory on the Holocaust due to my wife's German and Jewish heritage. I came away with a fresh perspective that will stay with me for the rest of my life.

von Erich-Dieter G

Sep 07, 2017

This course was outstanding and was FULL of information that I had never known. Understanding all of the events that led up to the Holocaust helps to make the timing and series of events fall in to place. This course was the best source of information that I have e.

von Robert H

Mar 04, 2016

The main lecturer is a particularly good teacher, who speaks fluently and knowledgeably about this difficult topic. Her empathy is obvious, which makes it that much more meaningful to me. Can't wait to take the second course. A great introduction to the Holocaust.

von Reyna G

Oct 29, 2017

Muchas gracias, mi habla natal es el español, sin embargo es un gusto que cuenten con la traducción en mi idioma, sin ello, me hubiera sido imposible estudiar este curso y terminarlo. Felicidades por el gran trabajo que hacen en Coursera. Saludos!

von Jose A S

Jul 02, 2020

Ideal course for lovers of history and the theme of the holocaust. Very good explanations and very good approach from the teachers. It guides and focuses very well points that you can usually miss when you are reading about these topics.

von michael l

Mar 14, 2016

have stayed away from this dark chapter in history. could never understand how the Nazis were able to pull it off - c0ntrol of Europe that is - in such a short timeframe. this course helps in that understanding. \No suggestions.......

von Samantha A

Jan 15, 2017

This course is an invaluable educating experience. I am so grateful to Yad Vashem and to all those who provided us with an extraordinary course. I learned so much in these three weeks and look forward to what I can learn in Part 2.

von Vitalina V

Jun 11, 2020

Very recommend for u, if u want to find out more and deeply about terrifying period of human history. Very good speakers, important information about key events of Holocaust, useful recommended literature. Thank you so much.

von Lavanya R

May 14, 2020

Excellent coursework. The diversity of sources used to explain the different realities of Jews is also very well thought out. the readings provided give the participant an opportunity to understand the elaborate knowledge.

von Estefania A G S

Sep 24, 2017

Is always important meet and have an initial contact with our history in order to learn what we can do and what we can not. Also is important because give us, yhe joung people, tools to fight for our convictions and rights

von alfonso p m

Apr 16, 2020

excelente,los tutores y el material de estudio sumergen al aprendiz en un mundo que a pesar de haberse tratado muchas veces siempre permanece tangible y con muchos interrogantes todavía por desentrañar. muchas gracias

von Felix C

Jul 08, 2020

A course that provides a panorama of the events behind the Holocaust, with the careful analysis of experts in the matter. Clear lectures and very engaging choices of material and exposition. Highly recommended.

von Jaisha D

May 02, 2020

The course is relatable to correct political scenario and anti-semantic nature in Germany. It connected the dots and I understand a portion of the bigger canvas. I thank the faculties for this great course.

von Maria N

Apr 18, 2020

It's extremely important to know and remember our history. For this porpose I took this course.

The course is well built. The information is given in an understandable, accessible and interesting way.