Chevron Left
Zurück zu The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World von Tel Aviv University

4.8
Sterne
831 Bewertungen
195 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The Holocaust was an inconceivable historical event, which forever robbed Western culture of its innocence. As civilized human beings, we fail to understand how events of such horror could have taken place, and how an idea so inhumanly warped could have spread like wildfire through an entire continent, instigating the systematic annihilation of millions of Jews. This free online course was produced jointly by Tel Aviv University and Yad Vashem – the World Holocaust Remembrance Center. The course tracks the history of the Holocaust and has two parts. "The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World" is the first of the two courses and covers the following themes in its three weeks: Week 1: From Hatred to Core Ideology We will try to delve into Nazi ideology and the special place of Jews and Judaism in it. We will also discuss how the National Socialist Party converted the German Democracy of the Weimar Republic into a totalitarian regime within a short period of time, and its meaning for Jews and non-Jewish citizens. Week 2: The World and the Jews in World War II We will try to examine the broader contexts of the Holocaust and to place it, as part of World War 2. In this meeting we will also refer to the vital Jewish world to be found under various Nazi occupations and influences. Week 3: The Isolation Abyss - the Perspective of the Individual We will try to reveal different aspects of Jewish life in the face of the badge of shame, ghettos and segregation, as well as the formation of individual, societies’ and leader’s reactions in the face of a consistent policy of dispossession and discrimination. Once you’ve completed this course, you can continue your learning with The Holocaust - An Introduction (II): The Final Solution (https://www.coursera.org/learn/holocaust-introduction-2/home/welcome) This online course is offered in an innovative, multi-level format, comprising: * Comprehensive lectures by leading researchers from Tel Aviv University and Yad Vashem. * A wealth of voices and viewpoints presented by guest lecturers. * Numerous documents, photos, testimonies and works of art from the time of the Holocaust. * Novel learning experience: Crowd sourcing – involving the learners themselves in the act of collecting and shaping information, via unique, exciting online assignments. REQUIREMENTS: This course is designed for anyone with an interest in the Holocaust, including students, teachers, academics and policy-makers....

Top-Bewertungen

D

Mar 28, 2016

A fascinating personal account of the atrocity while the world watched! This class is for everyone there is so much more to learn, thank you for everything you went out of you way to help, God Bless

DA

Jul 22, 2019

It is an eye-opening and humbling course. I appreciate how the content was presented through an engaging narrative. It led me to think more deeply about the Holocaust and humanity, for that matter.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 195 Bewertungen für The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World

von Gloriana B G

Apr 04, 2018

This was my first course in Coursera. I took it as a recreation course and it definetely caught me. The proffessor´s explanation is great and the material included is very interesting. The secuence of the course leads you to understand the topic without knowing more than general culture about the holocaust. I definetely recommend it.

von Manfred S

Mar 25, 2016

It is not easy to prepare and present this part of German History without any emotive stance and without condemnation. But you did it brilliant and it was well prepared. I learned a lot and what is most important for me new perspectives with unknown or partial unknown materials. Thank you very much for being a part of this course.

von David H

Aug 26, 2017

This course is a must for the beginner as well as seasoned learners. Having a good understanding and knowledge of the WWII and separately concerning the Holocaust it's a well presented representation of understanding what was happening and why. So many questions can be answered. Well done and look forward to Part Two.

von Kelly H

Apr 03, 2020

Anyone that is interested in learning about the Holocaust needs to take this course. I have taken many university courses on the subject and am currently doing my Master's degree in Holocaust education. I was very impressed with the instruction given by the specialists and the reading materials that they provided.

von ROBIN H

Jun 24, 2017

thank you for taking the time to teach me all of the factual events leading up to the worst crime ever in the history of bullys and war lords predjuice and mean single minded people should be so lucky to enjoy the same level of treatment afforded to the Jewish comunnities .for many lifetimes to come.

von ANURAG T

May 08, 2020

the topic itself greatly interested me. But as i began to learn the course, i was actually hooked to it. This course actually cleared a lot of misconceptions about Holocaust And Understanding Nazi Germany, lives under Hitler rule and the outlook of the European world towards the Jews

von Damon T R

Apr 15, 2018

I was pleasantly surprised by how much I learned from this short course. I originally was just taking it to refresh my memory on the Holocaust due to my wife's German and Jewish heritage. I came away with a fresh perspective that will stay with me for the rest of my life.

von Erich-Dieter G

Sep 07, 2017

This course was outstanding and was FULL of information that I had never known. Understanding all of the events that led up to the Holocaust helps to make the timing and series of events fall in to place. This course was the best source of information that I have e.

von Robert H

Mar 04, 2016

The main lecturer is a particularly good teacher, who speaks fluently and knowledgeably about this difficult topic. Her empathy is obvious, which makes it that much more meaningful to me. Can't wait to take the second course. A great introduction to the Holocaust.

von Reyna G

Oct 29, 2017

Muchas gracias, mi habla natal es el español, sin embargo es un gusto que cuenten con la traducción en mi idioma, sin ello, me hubiera sido imposible estudiar este curso y terminarlo. Felicidades por el gran trabajo que hacen en Coursera. Saludos!

von michael l

Mar 14, 2016

have stayed away from this dark chapter in history. could never understand how the Nazis were able to pull it off - c0ntrol of Europe that is - in such a short timeframe. this course helps in that understanding. \No suggestions.......

von Samantha A

Jan 15, 2017

This course is an invaluable educating experience. I am so grateful to Yad Vashem and to all those who provided us with an extraordinary course. I learned so much in these three weeks and look forward to what I can learn in Part 2.

von Lavanya R

May 14, 2020

Excellent coursework. The diversity of sources used to explain the different realities of Jews is also very well thought out. the readings provided give the participant an opportunity to understand the elaborate knowledge.

von Estefania A G S

Sep 24, 2017

Is always important meet and have an initial contact with our history in order to learn what we can do and what we can not. Also is important because give us, yhe joung people, tools to fight for our convictions and rights

von alfonso p m

Apr 16, 2020

excelente,los tutores y el material de estudio sumergen al aprendiz en un mundo que a pesar de haberse tratado muchas veces siempre permanece tangible y con muchos interrogantes todavía por desentrañar. muchas gracias

von Jaisha D

May 02, 2020

The course is relatable to correct political scenario and anti-semantic nature in Germany. It connected the dots and I understand a portion of the bigger canvas. I thank the faculties for this great course.

von Maria N

Apr 18, 2020

It's extremely important to know and remember our history. For this porpose I took this course.

The course is well built. The information is given in an understandable, accessible and interesting way.

von Denise G I

Nov 07, 2019

Excelente curso que responde várias dúvidas sobre tudo o que envolve o holocausto. Foi uma tragédia irreparável, mas uma lição, infelizmente, não totalmente aprendida por grande parte da humanidade.

von Diane N

Mar 28, 2016

A fascinating personal account of the atrocity while the world watched! This class is for everyone there is so much more to learn, thank you for everything you went out of you way to help, God Bless

von Danielle A G A

Jul 22, 2019

It is an eye-opening and humbling course. I appreciate how the content was presented through an engaging narrative. It led me to think more deeply about the Holocaust and humanity, for that matter.

von Karen E

Dec 01, 2019

Excellent. As a History Postgraduate, I found this exceptionally well organised and delivered. Thank you to all those responsible for formatting the course. I will be progressing with part II.

von Rodrigo S M M

Sep 12, 2017

A deeply moving course, which offers any and all that may wish to partake of it, valuable insight and information about one of the greatest calamities ever to befall mankind - The Holocaust.

von Muhammad Z B A M

Feb 27, 2016

Insightful and In-depth introductory of the events leading to the catastrophic events of holocausts coupled with engaging quiz. Additional reading supplements were great as well. Recommended

von Gerlane G O

Jan 15, 2017

Very interesting! With clear and dynamic language, allied to visual resources and relevant readings, we learn more about this tragic and important period of our History. Highly recommend!

von Pranab B

Feb 07, 2020

I always week when I read or study about the Holocaust but I am happy it got over once for all. Learned so much about how the world shunned them away into darkness. Thank you.