Chevron Left
Zurück zu How Computers Work

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für How Computers Work von University of London

4.5
107 Bewertungen
27 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Computers are everywhere, they aren't just the desktops and laptops we use for work but the phones in our pockets and even the watches on our wrists are also computers. You probably use a computer every day and in fact you are reading this on a computer! Just because we use computers all the time, doesn't mean that we understand them, or find them easy to use. Computer Science is the science of computers, it is the field of knowledge that experts use to understand computer systems. Knowing a little computer science will help you understand the computers all around you. This isn't a how-to course for a particular piece of software, instead you will learn some fundamental concepts that you can apply to any software or computer system. You'll apply these concepts to the kind of computer systems we use every day, including word processing applications, e-commerce, the internet and web sites. You will learn how to apply computer science concepts to solve problems in daily computer use and generally be a better computer user. Taking this course could be the start of your career in computer science, and the course is an introduction to the Bachelors in Computer Science from University of London, but it is also for you if you just want to learn a little computer science to help you better understand the computers you use in your ordinary life....

Top-Bewertungen

DH

Jan 10, 2019

I enjoy the MOOC and would introduce it to my friends. I think the course has revolutionize my previous understanding of Computer and Internet. Thumb Up!

HM

Jul 06, 2019

Very well thought out and structured lecture, even though I work in IT, I learnt a few new concepts which will be helpful in day to day work.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 25 Bewertungen für How Computers Work

von Sebastijan P

Mar 08, 2019

Terrible video content. Changing background all the time and distracting the viewer, a person mostly saying "what all we have learned" in every video instead of talking about the subject. No diagrams, no flows of data shown etc., just a person speaking and bragging; slides are very purely and unprofessionally prepared. The level of prepared content is for primary school and not for UNI. I could write about it for hours so I will stop. I just hope and believe this is just a sample and not a real content in a real study for which we will be paying 600 pounds. If you compare the content to for example 30 pounds Machine learning from Stanford University, where you get pdfs of slides, complete written notes, detailed prepared pdf with a very rich content for assignments and where professor actually talks about the content, it all becomes a bit strange.

von Keith C

Jan 25, 2019

Excellent overview, with lots of quizzes and assignments designed to help evolve learning into understanding.

von yousuf k

Feb 21, 2019

The course is very informative and helped to build notional machine and abstraction concepts.

von Jonathan M

May 20, 2019

Great introduction to thinking about systems in terms of notional machines

von Deleted A

Oct 26, 2018

Nice taster for the degree - can't wait to get started with the full BSc hopefully in April !

von Nadine G

Jan 08, 2019

Excellent professor!

von DONGPIN H

Jan 10, 2019

I enjoy the MOOC and would introduce it to my friends. I think the course has revolutionize my previous understanding of Computer and Internet. Thumb Up!

von Jose U d S J

Mar 08, 2019

Very Nice, I really enjoyed and learned a lot!

von Hrushikesh T

Mar 07, 2019

Best Computer science course for beginner.

von EZABO B

Oct 18, 2018

Exciting lecture

von Preda

Oct 28, 2018

Excellent course. I felt that I learnt a lot of computer science concepts that were new to me but helped me to appreciate how computers work. Dr Marco Gillies was an excellent lecturer. You could tell that a lot of careful planning went into structuring the course. Because the course was so well designed, I do not have recommendations for improvements.

von Kapa A K

May 01, 2019

excellent,but late grades

von KIM M

May 25, 2019

Once you complete this course, you can understand how you use computers as a IT person, even though your first major was not close to IT fields accurately. And if you are office worker and want to learn about IT, this course would be great for you to study basic knowledge.

von Luca G

May 30, 2019

Very interesting course, is an overview complete and well structured.

I would suggest this course as first start to understand the logic used in appications and how computer works for give us the services.

von Mahmoud H

Jun 27, 2019

A very concise explanation of how a computer works

von Hamza M

Jul 06, 2019

Very well thought out and structured lecture, even though I work in IT, I learnt a few new concepts which will be helpful in day to day work.

von Clyde M

Jul 15, 2019

An excellent and accessible course for the layperson that encourages broad understanding of the concepts behind rather complicated aspects of the modern use of computers, as well as the computer itself. A good footing for further investigations into the mechanics and theory of computing.

von Ryan M W

Aug 05, 2019

Great course!!

von Banke O

Sep 10, 2019

I loved the way the instructor explained it. Straight to the point and easy to understand.

von Elsa P

Nov 24, 2018

Well explained course.

von Eden P

Mar 20, 2019

Good introduction

von LUANA B

Mar 26, 2019

More visual examples would have helped more (at least for me).

von Iva M

Aug 05, 2019

It is informative and very well explained.

von Josephine K

Jun 07, 2019

Very informative and fun course to take! However there is too much dependence on peer-submission. It shouldn’t be in other peoples’ hands if you can complete an assignment or not. I had to wait a long time and beg for reviews in the discussion area, even though I submitted the assignment on time. I think that is frankly unfair, especially if you pay to access course content.

von Basil S

Jan 12, 2019

mostly useless, but free