Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Imagemaking

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Imagemaking von California Institute of the Arts

4.5
1,512 Bewertungen
298 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course for serious makers, and for students new to imagemaking. Imagemaking is a fluid and exciting area of graphic design that comes out of practice and process: experimenting fearlessly, showing and sharing ideas, and giving and receiving knowledgeable and constructive input. For the sake of this online platform, we have applied some structure to our investigations, but for the most part imagemaking is loose and unstructured. If we must adopt a rule in this course it is only this: you will not become a graphic designer by watching videos alone. Or, don't just make stuff just in your head. So here, the focus here is on making, and you are expected to devote serious time and intellectual energy to that activity in this course. Specifically, you will: - experiment with a range of materials and techniques to make images for graphic design - expand your visual vocabulary both in terms of making and talking about work, in order to discuss your work and work of others - learn how to make, manipulate and arrange images to create compositions, eventually culminating in the design and production of an-image-based book. The first half of the course is an opportunity to experiment and explore imagemaking in order to expand your visual vocabulary. You will create pieces that are expressive, meditative, or 'design-y' to instigate, evoke, experiment, record, explain, or try out a media. In the second two weeks, we’ll invite the images to deliberately and intentionally carry meaning and communication through relational moves like juxtaposition, composition, and context. We’ll look at developing and expanding the range of approaches for putting things together by composing page spreads with your images. Since nothing exists without context, we look at how to intentionally drive the image’s connotations, meanings, and associations generated through elements of composition and “visual contrasts.” Ultimately, we will take the images that you create and make a book from them. The results of your assignments (and experiments) may generate something completely unknowable now or in the future—and that's the goal....

Top-Bewertungen

ID

May 22, 2019

Very useful course. Really puts you to practice. I learned a lot and feel encouraged to continue. Reviewing other peer's work was inspiring and gave me fresh ideas about what I could have done better.

LC

Oct 09, 2017

I'm so happy i did this course. Gail, you're amazing and you made my imagination go wild with just your words. I can see you love your craft and that's very inspiring. Enjoyed this course all the way!

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 294 Bewertungen für Introduction to Imagemaking

von Mariel G L

Feb 01, 2019

I learned a lot from this course, especially in the last assignment.

von Manuel A R S

Feb 18, 2019

Very practical

von 瞿睿

Mar 09, 2019

I really appreciate the listed styles and artist in week 2. It really helps for people who likes modern art but do not know that many excellent artists.

von Julie S

Mar 08, 2019

This course seemed really right brained and artsy - which I guess was the point. I'm used to a lot more structure and instruction. But I really had fun with the course and assignments. I learned a lot about what I could do in imagemaking that I really had never explored before.

von Samantha F

Mar 11, 2019

This was a great course. It helped me commit to an idea and follow through with it over the course of th four weeks. It also helped me to think outside the box and not be afraid to start imagemaking from scratch and build on it through practice and experimentation.

von Ana S

Mar 20, 2019

Its nice!

von Adriana C N T

Mar 21, 2019

I really liked this course, for its content and practice exercises. Awaken creativity and the results of my work, I surprised myself!

von Laura B D R

Mar 21, 2019

We learn really good tools and methodologies to abstract and create new images.

von Chana M H

Jul 31, 2018

I enjoyed this course. I do not draw or paint, but the course did expand my knowledge of layout and establishing visual hierarchy in designs. I was forced to think more about using a grid as part my concept development. It was also helpful in developing a stronger sense of how to integrate colors scale and text into my work. Great additional reading suggestions for continued growth in image making for those who are into making their own image, which I am not!

von Mohand G

Sep 06, 2018

very helpful

von Arslan S

Aug 27, 2018

the best course for understanding and learning art

von Ahmed F e

Oct 20, 2018

good cores and useful for me?????

von Ruth J

Aug 19, 2018

This is more challenging that it seems. It forces you to think creatively and critically with a seemingly simple subject. I recommend this course for anyone who wants to work with their hands a bit

von F A

Sep 26, 2018

I recommend this course to all future designers, art lovers and also for more experienced people to step a bit outside the box and have the freedom to take mistakes and take new perspectives.

von Kayne M

Sep 29, 2018

Great course that pushes you to explore the breadth of possibilities in creating images aside from the traditional and realistic way.

von Roberto M A

Sep 30, 2018

Excellent course, with a very practical approach and a wonderful strategy of learning by doing. During this course we receive very important knowledge and information about composition, storytelling and techniques of image-making. Simple excellent!

von Maged E S

Oct 03, 2018

Very Beautiful course that you so much for your efforts! I really appreciate everything! God bless you all.

von Soh W K

Oct 25, 2018

Insightful ways of getting your Image Right for your Artwork!

The teacher even teaches you how to make a Image Book!

von ahmed a e

Oct 30, 2018

good

von Hayden P

Jun 01, 2017

Fantastic Ideas and practical application

von Kevin J

Aug 26, 2017

Loved the course, really enjoyed the Image making and learning about image interpretations and expressions

von Ronald K

Oct 10, 2017

Very interesting assignments and a more hands-on approach than the first 2 courses in this Graphic Design specialization. Really enjoy it and I recommend it! =D

von cici

May 06, 2018

Nice Start.

von Corinne M

Apr 14, 2016

G

von Beatriz G F

May 06, 2016

Outstanding class. Very dynamic, inspiring and creative.