Chevron Left
Zurück zu Interest Rate Models

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Interest Rate Models von École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.5
Sterne
134 Bewertungen
42 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course gives you an easy introduction to interest rates and related contracts. These include the LIBOR, bonds, forward rate agreements, swaps, interest rate futures, caps, floors, and swaptions. We will learn how to apply the basic tools duration and convexity for managing the interest rate risk of a bond portfolio. We will gain practice in estimating the term structure from market data. We will learn the basic facts from stochastic calculus that will enable you to engineer a large variety of stochastic interest rate models. In this context, we will also review the arbitrage pricing theorem that provides the foundation for pricing financial derivatives. We will also cover the industry standard Black and Bachelier formulas for pricing caps, floors, and swaptions. At the end of this course you will know how to calibrate an interest rate model to market data and how to price interest rate derivatives....

Top-Bewertungen

PV

May 27, 2019

This course is very good in regaining your knowledge in Interest Rate model. However, the exchange is that you have to spend time with it. But believe me it is worth your time spending

PT

Oct 01, 2019

Very interesting course. Would be great if there is a second part of this course about modern pricing with OIS swap, collateral ...

Filtern nach:

26 - 41 von 41 Bewertungen für Interest Rate Models

von Michael B

Jan 31, 2017

Great course! Level of difficulty is about first or second year Ph.D. in economics/finance. I learned a lot.

-Michael

von Mattia B

Dec 09, 2019

Very difficult course. It took me a lot of time. It requires a background in quantitative finance.

von Yu Z

Feb 27, 2017

Finally finished! It's quite difficult, but really learned a lot! Thank you!

von Cheung W C

Sep 19, 2019

I wish there is a course on credit risk in a similar fashion.

von David A

Mar 10, 2017

Solid review of fundamental interest rate ide

von Qingqi S

Oct 15, 2018

It's good but the exercise is much hard

von Kai L

Jul 28, 2019

Excellent Classes. Quite Difficult.

von Yong H S

Apr 01, 2019

Great course!

von Saket B

Jun 25, 2017

wonderful

von Josh H

Apr 20, 2020

This course is very very difficult. The exercises take a lot of time to complete and there is limited support available in the forums. Also, if you are not comfortable with undergraduate mathematics and probability theory, you will probably not finish this course.

With that being said, I learned a lot from the lectures and managed to complete every quiz.

von Adithya S S

Apr 24, 2020

A very in-depth course that doesn't spoon-feed you anything. You'll have to work hard to pass all the graded assignments. I would give the course 5 stars if it provided with material that helps you reach the required levels with questions ranging from easy to hard rather than just dropping the best of questions at you.

von Maria S B

Oct 11, 2019

This course was very interesting and a bit hard for me, specially those topics involving measure theory.

I'd like to thank to the course moderators and their helpfully advices.

von Jackie T

Jan 25, 2018

Very engaging materials and it is a difficult course!! Background in linear algebra, stochastic calculus and computer programming is recommended.

von Гуревич А

May 05, 2020

If you don't take this course as a part of your university degree and you won't get 5 credits for it, I don't think it worth passing this course. However, you can take it and do it at your convenience.

Whereas the contents of this course are strongly relevant for every quant, and the level of this course is uniquely advanced (it's hard to find anything that advanced in Coursera, at least for quants), I was very mad about the assignments. They are definitely too cumbersome for this platform. Coursera is not the university, the certificates from here don't matter anything for the employers, they only show that you are doing something for your self-development, but nothing more.

So, the problem is that assignments require to spend really a plenty of time for doing them. Many questions require several computational (and not very easy) steps, and everything can go wrong at any of those, and after submission you'll see only that your answer is wrong. But you don't know where you've made a mistake, and you go to the discussion forums, compare some intermediary answers and check your code again and again. The most obvious solution would be at least to split these questions step-by-step.

One could say that in real work you'll face same problems, but according to my experience, it's not true (or at least you get paid for it). You definitely won't have to manually fill in bonds cash flows in huge matrices, and definitely you won't have to do bootstrap manually too.

Also it seems that the course staff doesn't answer forums discussions anymore, but it may be not true.

Coursera is needed for acquiring new knowledge, but not for parenting stubborn and persistent graduates. I've spent more time only solving the final quiz than I've spent on many other full courses here.

Why did I pass this course? I needed it for my job, and my corporate Coursera license would be cancelled if I wouldn't finish it :)

I gave 3 stars because the content is really good.

von Tatiana B

Jun 21, 2020

4* for the material, 2* for the way it way taught. 3* is the average.

The course is very challenging. I felt miserable while doing most of the assignments. Math background is required.

What was good: the topic is relevant to my job. There are very few courses on this topic. The course is pretty logical and covers the problem in general.

What was bad:

1. The examples are not worked through. No excel examples. If you want to get the numbers from the slides, you have to replicate the calculation process almost from scratch.

2. The way the instructor explained the things confused me in the cases when I knew the idea in advance. I mean I used to understand the concept, and then I stopped understanding it (e.g. PCA).

3. The assignments are time consuming. There is no way to check the process. Once you end up with a wrong answer, there is no way to check if it is as arithmetical error or you got the idea wrong in general.

4. No study books or other reference or explanatory material

5. Forum is almost dead

6. Jumping back and forth from simple yield to exponential was confusing. I ended up trying different yields in the assignments. Is there anybody in the real world who uses exponential yield for bonds??

7. There were few cases in the assignments, when I ended up trying all formulas from the slides which seemed to be relevant. I did not get the idea, I was just persistent in trying everything I could. There were few time when I used wikipedia instead of slides. I still don't know where the correct formulas are on the slides. I did not find them.

8. Math assignments. How do you type in those formulas? Coursera help page did not help.

von Nont N

May 11, 2020

I've been a market risk manager for 10 years. All I can say is the this course deliver very poor explanation on concept and understanding. It mostly focus on the formula without any meaningful of the equation. Exam questions are mostly grinding through the number and remembering the formula. Don't waste your time if you want to understand the meaning of the math behind.