Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Genomic Technologies

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Genomic Technologies von Johns Hopkins University

4.5
Sterne
1,932 Bewertungen
298 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course introduces you to the basic biology of modern genomics and the experimental tools that we use to measure it. We'll introduce the Central Dogma of Molecular Biology and cover how next-generation sequencing can be used to measure DNA, RNA, and epigenetic patterns. You'll also get an introduction to the key concepts in computing and data science that you'll need to understand how data from next-generation sequencing experiments are generated and analyzed. This is the first course in the Genomic Data Science Specialization....

Top-Bewertungen

KK

Nov 21, 2017

Relatively nice introduction course, contents are maybe rather limited, yet as an instructive course, it does provide a clear overview which correlates well with the required answers for the quizzes!

GH

Oct 06, 2019

This course provides a gentle introduction to the concepts and terminology associated with genomics. As someone who never took a biology course in high school or university, this course is perfect.

Filtern nach:

176 - 200 von 295 Bewertungen für Introduction to Genomic Technologies

von Chris F

Dec 08, 2017

Good intro

von Atilio S C

May 07, 2017

Muito bom!

von Amin

Jul 06, 2017

Excellent

von Xiaolin H

Oct 17, 2019

Awesome!

von 杜明宇

Aug 06, 2017

PERFECT!

von Carlos H L d M

Dec 25, 2018

Amazing

von v v p

May 07, 2018

amazing

von Jorge C

Feb 14, 2016

GREAT !

von Ziying K

Jan 16, 2018

good!

von 徐心茗

Sep 24, 2017

nice!

von Fangzhou C

Mar 12, 2017

great

von Laban B O

Nov 21, 2018

nice

von MUTHURAM

Nov 10, 2018

GOOD

von PHILIP O

Aug 13, 2018

good

von Tatiana E Z

Jun 04, 2018

-

von Meghana

Feb 17, 2016

A

von Michael J M

May 11, 2016

A good introduction to the topics and concepts in the field of genomic data science in general as well as the other courses in this specialisation.

I did this course close to the last (6th) being a professional in the Bioscience field for some time and so the first three 'weeks' I pretty much did in a couple of hours with close to full marks (not a boast but a statement: this course will give you the overview I accumulated in the real world; there is nothing esoteric or missing from this course).

The final assessment I found a little quirky compared to the other courses I'd done being a comprehension style 'read a research paper + answer questions' rather than a 'enter the number of X given conditions Y applied to dataset Z' as many of the other course use. Still, celebrate diversity and all that...also I can't think of a better assessment for this entry level / background course.

von Ana P H

Nov 16, 2017

The first three weeks were too easy, then Jeff Leek introduced a bunch of Statistical Concepts at once. I think I would rather have spent more time taking an overview of the field and what the certificate has to offer in application to my job as a biologist/learning bioinformatics.

The project at the end reminded me of evaluating scientific papers in college. Very useful, but out of context I thought. I think I would like to have more of a refresher in certain concepts in advanced genetics prior to being quizzed on them through a project.

Overall, it was a good course, but someone without a background in biology will certainly struggle with it

von Sabrina S

Nov 27, 2016

The entire course took me about 8 hours to complete. The videos are on average around 10 minutes long. The first two weeks of the course were very introductory and had they stayed that way I would have been disappointed (however they were focused on my specialization). Week 3 and 4 made it worth it for me and were very helpful (computing technology and statistics). I thought the course project could have been better. I didn't feel it was a strong overview of what I learned about the course. Either way, I'm glad I went through the entire thing.

von Natasa J

Aug 22, 2016

This course is great for people like me, who know almost nothing about the topic, lectures are good, points are clear, understandable and not too long. Only thing I actually didn't like is amount of lectures. The course is planned to be completed in 4 weeks and for me it was over in few days. I would like to add that I've listened the lectures from work and spent 1-2 hours a day on it. All in all, I'm glad that I've started from here and plan to continue with the rest of the specialization.

von Jen M

Jul 10, 2017

Overall a good intro course. Molecular biology basics were covered so quickly and with terms and concepts pulled almost out of thin air, anyone without a pretty substantial background would probably be lost fairly quickly. And those of us with a genetics background fairly bored until we got to the later weeks. Still as a course designed to get everyone on the same page for the rest of the Specialization, I feel ready for the next course.

von Rhondene J W

Nov 28, 2016

I appreciated how the instructors presented the content in a fluid and limpid manner, with relevant examples and auxillary knowledge that you couldn't find in a textbook. The assignments provided the opportunity to apply the learned content to analyse and parse statistical data from actual journals.

The new and up-to-date knowledge I gained by taking this course made me more confident to apply to graduate school.

Thank You

von Brandon W

Jun 26, 2018

I think this is a great introductory course to genomic data analysis. however, the primer of molecular biology and techniques could be more detailed. It also helps to have some prior knowledge in this area to really understand the details and complexities. Looking forward to the other classes though. It was refreshing to jog my memory on many of these things!

von Michael T

Feb 13, 2018

This was a great overview of the computing, statistics, and biology required to understand bioinformatics. The only negative was, that I found the final exam to be somewhat unrelated to the course.I am also hoping that there will be more references later on if we want or need to go deeper into these three areas, especially in the area of molecular biology.

von Alan A

Jan 21, 2017

I'm fascinated by bioinformatics and genomics, which is why I took this course. I gave the course four stars instead of 5 because I think the flow of the lectures could have been better. When watching lectures, I often found myself jumping around in my notebook to write something down. Other than that, the course was an excellent introduction.