Chevron Left
Zurück zu The Power of Markets I: The Basics of Supply and Demand and Consumer Behavior

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für The Power of Markets I: The Basics of Supply and Demand and Consumer Behavior von University of Rochester

4.6
Sterne
218 Bewertungen
38 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This opening module of the Power of Markets course covers the basic assumptions about market participants made by economists, the concept of opportunity cost, and the key determinants of supply and demand. We will then learn how to use the supply-demand framework to explain and predict market outcomes and to show how government policies affect those market outcomes. We will look at how quantity demanded and supplied respond to their key determinants in quantitative (elasticity) as well as qualitative terms. The last two weeks of the first module will investigate consumer behavior more closely and show how consumer choices are driven by the interplay of preferences and budget constraints. We will employ the consumer choice framework to examine investor choice as well as policies such as ObamaCare and school choice. Finally, we will also address the concept of how to distribute a given amount of goods across a society’s consumers in the most efficient manner....

Top-Bewertungen

AD
7. Juni 2020

It was a wonderful experience, how the concept of economics is related in day-to-day activities is told in a conceptual manner. It was a great time learning the concepts.

A
7. Apr. 2018

The instructor was very nice. He explained every topic with real world examples which made the course easier to understand and interesting.

Filtern nach:

26 - 38 von 38 Bewertungen für The Power of Markets I: The Basics of Supply and Demand and Consumer Behavior

von James J

6. Juni 2019

I learned a lot about consumer side economics. However, I was left with a distaste for a political bent. I don't care what direction the political bent was placed, I care that it was put there at all. He went deep into Obama-care, education voucher systems, and other hot topics.

von Santiago R R

13. Mai 2020

The instructor was amazing and engaging, always trying to bring light into the concepts with real-life examples. I don't like that the graphs are a bit too crowded, maybe the graphs could be better displayed in order for them to be more easily understood by beginners.

von Wojciech M

3. Jan. 2016

In general it was an interesting and thought-provoking course. The only minus was that we weren't able to download a pdf version of a book to which the professor kept referring. Recommend for anyone who wants to get to know the basics of economy.

von AKHILESH D

1. Okt. 2020

this is basic ,i read and i saw some particular basic of economy isn't here

von Amar M

9. März 2016

Some concepts need more clarification/ elaborations.

von Heide S

31. März 2016

good explanations, easy to understand

von surendra k

10. Okt. 2020

best way to learning

von Aabid A S

7. Juni 2016

Its really Good.

von Manuraj V

29. Sep. 2020

That was nice

von Samuel S L

9. Jan. 2017

Great course!

von Muhammad A B

17. Aug. 2016

Sometimes I don't understand when the lecture gives some examples of an abstract concept

von Ricardo O

20. Dez. 2015

As it is, unfortunetly I can only rate it as a 2/5. The lectures are presented in a reasonable way, but this is a somewhat technical course, for wich additional materials would need to be mandatory. There are no slides for the lectures, the instructor mentions chapters of a book and does not provide the materials to students pursue a more effective way of studying the materials. Also, the quizzes are excessively challeging taking into consideration that the only resource availble to students are the videos. In my opinion, presenting a course that only has videos is not an effective way of learning. To make this course more effective and to allow students to learn more effectivelly and get some learning objectives, more material besides the videos must be made available. As it is, no more than a 2/5 is possible to rate this course.

von Raihan A

3. Aug. 2020

Content is good but overall presentation and style makes it boring and too much confusing course.