Chevron Left
Zurück zu The Cosmopolitan Medieval Arabic World

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für The Cosmopolitan Medieval Arabic World von Universiteit Leiden

4.8
Sterne
173 Bewertungen
54 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Did you know that Arabic was for centuries the lingua franca in an area stretching from the south of Spain to the Chinese border? Did you know that the Middle East under Muslim rule in those days was the world’s beating heart of trade, but also of science and scholarship? Did you know that Islam in its formative period was heavily influenced by existing cultures in the region, like Indian, Greek, Persian and Byzantine culture? Did you know that for many centuries after the establishment of the Muslim Empire the majority of the population remained largely Christian and Jewish? Did you know that they held a protected status in Islamic law? Did you know that this generally open-minded, curious and open society stimulated many great innovations and inventions? Did you know that European scholarship in the Renaissance leaned heavily on the texts and inventions from the Middle East which were the outcome of this sophisticated advanced society? In this course we will focus on the fascinating history of the Arabic Medieval World. We will take you on a journey through the Middle Ages starting off in eighth-century Baghdad. Along the old pilgrim trails we will go to places like Mecca, Jerusalem and Najaf. We will show you the impressive markets of places like Cairo and Samarkand. However we will not hide the dark sides of society either, by introducing you to the flourishing widespread slave trade. We will visit the Abbasid court, the Harem of the caliph, and the palace of the Mamluk Sultan. We will show you some beautiful medieval manuscripts, that live on as the silent witnesses of the impressive achievements of scientists and medical doctors of this forgotten era. All along we will present you with historiographical debates and dilemma’s. Reflecting on the way we look at and interpret history. And while taking you on this journey, we will travel back and forth in time explaining to you how events of the past affected and shaped the world as we know it today. Welcome to the Cosmopolitan Medieval Arabic World! Enroll now and follow this course for free. --- Testimonial: Dear Prof. Sijpesteijn I am sending this email in gratitude for the Leiden University team for this course. Please thank the Faculty of Governance and Global Affairs for offering it on Coursera, the Faculty of Humanities for creating the lovely course content and the excellent reading material. Rarely have I seen an MOOC that is this well-researched and thought through. This is in addition to the excellent resources provided and the creative media. I finished the course and presently doing the honors-track. If I may introduce myself, I am Radi Radi, a Palestinian-Jordanian who lives on "Shajaret Al Dur" St. in Amman, Jordan. It was quite an coincidence to learn about her here. I work as a pilot and currently we are not flying anywhere currently so I thought of finishing this course. I am a Bachelor of Civil Engineering from Ryerson Univeristy, Canada and this really felt like the 100-level electives I took in that it really is a university-level course. I have bought a few books that I have read about in your course and that meant that I have something else to do in this corona-imposed hiatus. After Once aviation kicks back into gear, I hope to be flying to Amsterdam Again. When that happens, I plan on bringing you guys a gift from Amman for your efforts. Many Thanks Radi Radi...

Top-Bewertungen

ME

Apr 14, 2020

Probably it's better than most of the course you take at your university. Ranging from articles to videos everything is well-designed. Highly recomended.

SL

Jun 21, 2020

Great course. With very diverse resources and clear mini lectures, I've learned so much and gained a different perspective to see Medieval Arabic World.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 53 Bewertungen für The Cosmopolitan Medieval Arabic World

von René V

Jan 07, 2019

I learned much about the islamic world and the reasons for the rise of Islam as a word religion. Many of my stereotypes were shattered e.g. about harems and slavery. The many linked scientific texts helped me understand about core concepts of this hegemony.

One possible addendum could be a general outlook on the further fate of the Arabic world after the time period that was discussed in the course. As it stands, I found the course to end somewhat sudden.

von Miguel I

Jan 31, 2019

Great course with a wide array of materials that allowed me to understand better the important of Arab influence in Europe and worldwide.

von Radi R

Mar 27, 2020

Even to an "Arab" who is well read about the "Medieval" part of this world, this course was interesting and quite informative.

If you want to understand more about the Islamic empire at its zenith, this is as good of a place as any to start

I owe gratitude for the Leiden University team for creating the lovely course content and the excellent reading material. Rarely have I seen an MOOC that is this well-researched and thought through. This is in addition to the excellent resources provided and the creative media. I finished the course and presently doing the honors-track.

I am a Bachelor of Civil Engineering from Ryerson Univeristy, Canada and this really felt like the 100-level electives I took in that it really is a university-level course.

i have bought a few books that I have read about in your course and that meant that I have something else to do in this corona-imposed hiatus. After

von Wafaa A

Jan 01, 2019

Well structured course, elaborate in terms of areas covered and exercises. But, I think some of exercises needed more time (the two about Orientalism and Slavery) as both the topics were very important and required more research and reading. Instructors presented the materials in an eloquent and clear manner. What I liked the most was instructor's speaking at the right pace, and this was very convenient to me as a non-native English speaker. I learned a lot, so thank you very much! and I will definitely try to take future courses from your university.

von christine

Aug 22, 2019

This course is very informative, showing the ancient Arab world from many angles.The teachers' way of giving lectures was lively and interesting, which made the course infinitely charming. I quickly finished all the courses.It's so interesting.This course has also increased my desire to know more about the Arab world, which I plan to explore further in the future.Thank you for teaching.

von Charles

Jun 20, 2019

Excellent course, I greatly appreciate the unbiased viewpoint, I really can't thank you enough. I took this course as a means of knowing what questions to ask, rather than to answer preexisting questions. Thank you very much again, and I look forward to taking more courses.

von Sophia M

Jan 30, 2019

I love this class! It gives me easy access to a wealth of information I wasn't taught in school, and it's the perfect pacing for me.

von Georgios C

Feb 17, 2020

Fascinating and good structured course, in the tradition of the Great European Orientalists

von Joy S

Feb 12, 2019

Enjoyable, unique, kind of fun.

von Mohammed A R B

Mar 27, 2020

It was one of the best Coursera courses I have ever taken I enjoyed and learned a lot.

The content was awesome even for the learner who is native Arabic and contain a lot of valuable information.

I'm completely surprised that Leiden University could create wonderful course with nice team are specialist's in Arabic language, Islamic studies, Middle East civilization etc.

Which is unbelievable that Leiden University has Center for Islamic studies and society, special library and Leiden Islam blog all of these lead me to believe that Leiden University is one of the best universities around world.

von Beatriz m D

Feb 28, 2020

It has been a wonderful,excellent course.I have been able to do it without haste,due to the flexibility of Coursera.I recognize that you have known me a titlle.There are few courses in my country,I hope that one dayI will take a course on Al Ándalus.See you soon. Espero que entiendan el castellano,mis mas sinceras gracias a la profesora Petra,y a todos los que colaboraron para hacer este curso.

von Theresia B

May 23, 2020

This course was inspiring! I wished it went on longer, I was fascinated by the readings and it shared a great amount of information. I have always loved the Arabic world and this course definitely help me understand better the influence it had during the medieval times and the incredible inheritance Europe has received form the Arabic world. I greatly appreciated it, thank you!

von Peter B

Dec 30, 2018

A very nice introduction to the "islamic" civilization in the Middle Ages by prof. Petra Sijpesteijn and her team! It´s especially interesting to see how interconnected islamic and European societies were during that time period. And it makes you think how and why the islamic "Other" has been systematically marginalized by many European narratives in the last centuries...

von pedro c a

Jun 17, 2020

I was responsible for online training at a big company and I am familiar with online courses. This was the best online course so far in Cursera and I did other very good ones. Combination of good materials, different tasks and evaluations make a great course. I want to congratulate the teachers of the University of Leyden on this course.

von Abdelhadi S

Jan 04, 2019

It is an excellent course. I wish some of the material were more diverse to cover a wider range of subjects such as the Islamic law, philosophy, social life, schools of thought. I recognize that the information presented in the course are more than enough for someone who had had just dim ideas about The Cosmopolitan Medieval Arabic World

von Xiaoxuan W

Mar 28, 2020

I really enjoyed the course, it gave me a lot of insight and fun. I highly recommend it if you want to open your mind and appreciate the diverse human civilizations. It goes beyond shallow introduction and contains a lot of scholastic contents. Thank you very much for putting together this beautiful course.

von Pablo S S

Jul 20, 2019

Beautiful, beautiful course on the Medieval Arabic World. I especially enjoyed the lectures on Orientalism and all the information on the history of medicine. Proud to be a Leiden alumnus and to see the university sharing knowledge, freely and widely, across the Internet. Thank you!

von Daniel H

May 26, 2020

A very interesting introduction to the study of the Medieval Arabic World, covering multiple subjects. The course approached complex issues with respect and depth, offering competing views on theses subjects, allowing the student to make their mind on them. Very recommended.

von Donatella C

May 08, 2020

Ho vissuto la piu' bella ed intensa esperienza formativa possibile.

Del tutto inaspettata quanto entusiasmante. Corso strutturato magnificamente ricco di spunti di approfondimento.

Grazie.

von Didier G

Dec 11, 2019

Thank you for this beautiful course ! I learned a lot and most important, as a European, this course changed my vision of the Islamic world. This course opens my mind. Thank you !

von Muhammed E

Apr 14, 2020

Probably it's better than most of the course you take at your university. Ranging from articles to videos everything is well-designed. Highly recomended.

von Sobuha L

Jun 21, 2020

Great course. With very diverse resources and clear mini lectures, I've learned so much and gained a different perspective to see Medieval Arabic World.

von Ali S M A

Mar 31, 2020

Such an enlightened course. I really learned a lot. its really a good decision to be part of this academic study on Cosmopolitan Medieval Arabic World.

von Pavel S

Mar 17, 2020

A fascinating course that WILL change your original views and opinions (if you had any) about the Medieval Arabic Wo

von Sadeq R

Jun 01, 2020

I strongly suggest for everyone to do this course as it holds MANY surprises about the Medival Arabic World.