Chevron Left
Zurück zu Modelldenken

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Modelldenken von University of Michigan

4.8
Sterne
2,101 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

We live in a complex world with diverse people, firms, and governments whose behaviors aggregate to produce novel, unexpected phenomena. We see political uprisings, market crashes, and a never ending array of social trends. How do we make sense of it? Models. Evidence shows that people who think with models consistently outperform those who don't. And, moreover people who think with lots of models outperform people who use only one. Why do models make us better thinkers? Models help us to better organize information - to make sense of that fire hose or hairball of data (choose your metaphor) available on the Internet. Models improve our abilities to make accurate forecasts. They help us make better decisions and adopt more effective strategies. They even can improve our ability to design institutions and procedures. In this class, I present a starter kit of models: I start with models of tipping points. I move on to cover models explain the wisdom of crowds, models that show why some countries are rich and some are poor, and models that help unpack the strategic decisions of firm and politicians. The models covered in this class provide a foundation for future social science classes, whether they be in economics, political science, business, or sociology. Mastering this material will give you a huge leg up in advanced courses. They also help you in life. Here's how the course will work. For each model, I present a short, easily digestible overview lecture. Then, I'll dig deeper. I'll go into the technical details of the model. Those technical lectures won't require calculus but be prepared for some algebra. For all the lectures, I'll offer some questions and we'll have quizzes and even a final exam. If you decide to do the deep dive, and take all the quizzes and the exam, you'll receive a Course Certificate. If you just decide to follow along for the introductory lectures to gain some exposure that's fine too. It's all free. And it's all here to help make you a better thinker!...

Top-Bewertungen

AA

23. Nov. 2020

very informative and insightful on how to use the various models at our disposal to take optimal decision. Also, was nostalgic to go back in time where these models were part of my university degree.

YK

6. Apr. 2018

The course presents a multitude of models that enable us to analyze human and systems behavior and interactions. By making implicit assumptions explicit we can understand real world processes better.

Filtern nach:

151 - 175 von 471 Bewertungen für Modelldenken

von Ismail K

12. Nov. 2019

It was great introductory course to the awesome world of models. I've enjoyed and learned a lot. Thanks Coursera and Prof. Page.

von Ugo Z

30. Okt. 2019

I enjoy a lot the contents and the way this course is taught. It certainly delivers its promises and it does that with a smile.

von Murshida M

21. Sep. 2020

A very fun and comprehensive course. Helps you to look at the world with a better and a much clearer perspective using models.

von Bart H J

1. Mai 2019

If you're interested in thinking more accurately, this course exposes you to a variety of models to help with that. Terrific!

von Godwin K

22. Okt. 2016

Broad & Simple to follow - some basic math is required. Many models introduced and extremenly useful to have in your toolbox.

von Din K

16. März 2019

Very good introduction to model thinking. Thanks for providing this free course and the excellent delivery from Scott Page.

von Ellen P

22. Okt. 2016

I definitely will recommend it to some other friends! It made me understood much better with great and detailed examples.

von Jinghao C

21. Mai 2016

It is a great class. Please keep moving on if you could not understand some sections. You will get it in future sections.

von Соколова Д А

7. Dez. 2017

Super informative and in some cases even entertaining.This course helped me to look at our lives from a different poi

von Lim K B J

3. Mai 2020

Excellent course , very clear lectures by Professor Scott and an intellectual course. Learned a lot and thank you !

von Adrià C A

24. Mai 2019

Really useful course. Recommended to everyone who want to be introduced to models and acquire a new way of thinking.

von 任喆

2. Okt. 2016

I would love to watch the videos again! They are helpful and you will find that they can be used in your daily life.

von Artem S

4. Nov. 2015

Excellent overview of a wide variety of models with nice and easy tasks and great examples of real life application.

von Danilo B S

19. Jan. 2017

Excellent course, it helps understanding the world around us and creating logical ways to solve complex problems.

von Udai T

7. Jan. 2021

Terrific, well-designed course! It gives us a lot of tools to use for daily problem-solving and decision-making.

von Avi

23. Apr. 2019

A truly exceptional course with a passionate lecturer. I do not hesitate in recommending this course to anyone.

von Ashwin P

7. Nov. 2015

This is an awesome course. Just would like to have some advanced courses that discuss creation of more models.

von John H

22. Dez. 2018

Best high level modeling course! The course uses Interesting important examples for each category of model.

von Scott H

30. Mai 2020

A great introduction to various models and how to use them as a grounding to understanding complex systems.

von Vusi M

7. Okt. 2021

I would suggest this course to anyone who wants to have a clearer and methodical approach to complexities.

von Maharaja P S

15. Dez. 2020

One of the best courses I've come across. Really looking forward to seeing advanced courses on the topic.

von Черепанов Г М

5. Apr. 2022

V​ery useful course that provides a great introduction to many concepts from game theory and statistics.

von Konstantinos D

19. Okt. 2021

Amazing work. I have seen many videos in youtube of that course before get it here. Recommended for sure

von Alex L

27. Okt. 2015

Scott E is wonderful to learn from! Very exciting and interesting material, worth taking the deep dive!

von Shahnawaz S

19. Feb. 2017

The instructor does a very good job in explaining difficult concepts and is amazing in his teaching ..