Chevron Left
Zurück zu Network Dynamics of Social Behavior

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Network Dynamics of Social Behavior von University of Pennsylvania

4.6
174 Bewertungen
51 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

How do revolutions emerge without anyone expecting them? How did social norms about same sex marriage change more rapidly than anyone anticipated? Why do some social innovations take off with relative ease, while others struggle for years without spreading? More generally, what are the forces that control the process of social evolution –from the fashions that we wear, to our beliefs about religious tolerance, to our ideas about the process of scientific discovery and the best ways to manage complex research organizations? The social world is complex and full of surprises. Our experiences and intuitions about the social world as individuals are often quite different from the behaviors that we observe emerging in large societies. Even minor changes to the structure of a social network - changes that are unobservable to individuals within those networks - can lead to radical shifts in the spread of new ideas and behaviors through a population. These “invisible” mathematical properties of social networks have powerful implications for the ways that teams solve problems, the social norms that are likely to emerge, and even the very future of our society. This course condenses the last decade of cutting-edge research on these topics into six modules. Each module provides an in-depth look at a particular research puzzle -with a focus on agent-based models and network theories of social change -and provides an interactive computational model for you try out and to use for making your own explorations! Learning objectives - after this course, students will be able to... - explain how computer models are used to study challenging social problems - describe how networks are used to represent the structure of social relationships - show how individual actions can lead to unintended collective behaviors - provide concrete examples of how social networks can influence social change - discuss how diffusion processes can explain the growth social movements, changes in cultural norms, and the success of team problem solving...

Top-Bewertungen

PA

Jul 29, 2019

This course really enhanced my understanding of collective intelligence, however, it would be great if instructors provide lecture slides also to revise the course whenever required.

SC

Jan 21, 2018

A Crisp yet effective overview of some of the most critical works in the field of Networking. Anyone from the fields of Management, Sociology, Anthropology et al should try the MOOC.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 51 Bewertungen für Network Dynamics of Social Behavior

von Poornima A

Jul 29, 2019

This course really enhanced my understanding of collective intelligence, however, it would be great if instructors provide lecture slides also to revise the course whenever required.

von Ana G R M

Sep 09, 2019

Both Professors easily give an overview of Network Dynamics

von Jonathan A S

Sep 14, 2019

The course was truly fascinating .. providing insights into processes of information transmission and disease diffusion, how people adopt social conventions, and the best social organization of research and design activities, all though the lens of social network structure. The courses uses simple computational models (no programming required). I learned a great deal and really want to explore this approach further.

von Skyler S

Sep 25, 2019

Very interesting course. Occasionally test questions are too vague.

von sonia

Oct 15, 2019

Great introduction to the subject of complex social systems. Sparked a lot of thinking on social networks, spreading of information and the dynamics of social change. looking forward to a follow-on course on the subject.

von Kedric W

Oct 21, 2019

A great entry level course for network dynamics.

von Muru Z

Nov 11, 2019

Although the model has some flaws which I'm considering about, it's a good course for introducing how to use a computational model to model the phenomenon in social networks and predict collective behavior. I have read some books about the complex systems and I'm also majoring in computer science, I do believe the research on collective behavior is a key point on understanding the world and I'm fascinated by it. Thanks for the tool this course introduced to me and for the content it shows! Thanks for the good lectures the professor gave me!

von Fayez K

Dec 01, 2019

Amazing course! Taught me a ton. Buying a new one real soon

von Venkataraman G

Dec 10, 2019

This is an excellent introductory course. Highly recommended for students of social sciences.

von YAO E M K

Nov 24, 2018

It was a very good class and I learned a lot. Thanks for sharing and continue the good job.

von bernard

Jun 26, 2018

Great course, through this course i learned a few things on how people interact. Ideas in this course are not only applicable to people, but also diseases, problem solving and many more. I highly recommend to all managers and others interested in policy or human behavior in general

von Siddhi G P

May 31, 2018

This is a really good course for beginners, and it gets across some great and important ideas very intuitively (even without getting into very rigorous analysis, it does a great job). It would really help if some more material on using NetLogo could be provided, but overall this is a great course.

von Navaneethan S

Jun 15, 2018

The course discussed some absolutely fascinating material - I really enjoyed learning about Schelling Segregation Model (collective dynamics are not obvious from individual preferences), how dense local connections are necessary for spreading behaviours that require social reinforcement (which initially seemed counterintuitive), and the section on problem solving in networks.However, I felt that the material was quite superficial in its treatment - the quizzes were very straightforward and didn't require a really deep understanding of the material (in my opinion), nor was there much attention paid to the maths underlying these phenomena. While I understand that this may not have been the aim of the course (since equations tend to put of people less comfortable or uninterested in mathematical detail), it would have been nice if the Resources contained links to further reading for those interested.Alternatively, it would have been really wonderful if Josh or Damon (both of whom explained the material really well), had added optional videos going into the material - this is how Andrew Ng does it in his Deep Learning course, and I found that extremely helpful.Overall, I would definitely recommend this course to everyone interested in a radically different approach to understanding human behaviour!

von Jean C

Jun 20, 2018

Very good topic and teachers' expertize. It is a pity that the "rules" used in teh simulations are not made explicit, leading to some doubts. Also, could go a bit deeper in the influence of key network parameters.

von Thomas K A W

Feb 22, 2018

The course gives a very good overview of the main insights and is enjoyable at the same time. Great course that would deserve a five-star rating if it would not be for the many typos, incomplete sentences in the tests, and errors in the videos.

von Andrew Z

Jan 27, 2018

I whould like to have more of the models practicing.

von Sunil K Y

Feb 12, 2018

Content is neatly laid out, not mathematically rigorous as I believe course is targeting a wider set of audience. Week 2 material can be improved with regard to clarity about the different types of networks.

von ramya h

Jan 09, 2018

An good course that will provide gist of Agent Based Modeling with out dragging it too long. Introduces an Agent Based Modeling software NetLogo with examples and codes.

von Laurent G

Dec 11, 2017

I found this a very good introduction to network dynamics. The problems addressed are very interesting, and explanations are very clear. One drawback is that it is not very technical, but in the allotted amount of time it would not be possible to cover so much ground otherwise.

von Christo Z

Feb 23, 2018

very good overview. i'm missing the maths behind the theory which will enable me to apply the knowledge to own problems

von KARINE L

May 17, 2019

Very good introduction to the topic

von Raquel R d M G

Sep 02, 2019

Awesome material and lessons. Only could not have five stars because could not download Netlogo models

von 周琪

Nov 05, 2019

The course is great! It will be greater if there is more detail information about the coding of NetLogo.

von Apoorva P B

Jan 24, 2018

It's too bare-bones and not very challenging, but talks about very interesting concepts

von Roy L

Jul 08, 2019

interesting description of application of network analysis to social dynamics. However it could be improved a bit to discuss the models more in-depth