Chevron Left
Zurück zu Number Theory and Cryptography

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Number Theory and Cryptography von University of California San Diego

4.6
Sterne
444 Bewertungen
90 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

We all learn numbers from the childhood. Some of us like to count, others hate it, but any person uses numbers everyday to buy things, pay for services, estimated time and necessary resources. People have been wondering about numbers’ properties for thousands of years. And for thousands of years it was more or less just a game that was only interesting for pure mathematicians. Famous 20th century mathematician G.H. Hardy once said “The Theory of Numbers has always been regarded as one of the most obviously useless branches of Pure Mathematics”. Just 30 years after his death, an algorithm for encryption of secret messages was developed using achievements of number theory. It was called RSA after the names of its authors, and its implementation is probably the most frequently used computer program in the word nowadays. Without it, nobody would be able to make secure payments over the internet, or even log in securely to e-mail and other personal services. In this short course, we will make the whole journey from the foundation to RSA in 4 weeks. By the end, you will be able to apply the basics of the number theory to encrypt and decrypt messages, and to break the code if one applies RSA carelessly. You will even pass a cryptographic quest! As prerequisites we assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), basic programming in python (functions, loops, recursion), common sense and curiosity. Our intended audience are all people that work or plan to work in IT, starting from motivated high school students. Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

Top-Bewertungen

SS
31. Juli 2020

I loved this course! It is unlike any I have taken before. All courses in this specialization have always included fun activities to make the taught content fun and understandable.

PW
21. Nov. 2018

I was really impressed especially with the RSA portion of the course. It was really well explained, and the programming exercise was cleverly designed and implemented. Well done.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 90 Bewertungen für Number Theory and Cryptography

von Kristen P

6. Feb. 2020

Challenging yet fun course!

von Kuldeep K

29. Apr. 2020

I learnt many new things.

von Jakub D

8. Sep. 2019

Good introduction

von NIKHIL P

16. Sep. 2019

very usefull

von danish m

26. Apr. 2020

nice course

von HaotianWang

19. Juli 2018

challenging

von Arijit S

15. Mai 2020

It was challenging and interesting. The only issue what I feel is that I am not from a coding background, so to understand the coding concepts were a bit tough. And I asked my queries through forums, but no reply came. But overall, it was an interesting course

von Christopher W

10. Mai 2020

Bravo! Oh man, the "RSA Quest" was the most amazing thing ever! I can't even believe it worked out. And ended with a nod to one of my favorite authors!

This course was one of the most challenging, and at the same time rewarding courses I've done on Coursera. I absolutely love learning from these instructors. Their explanations are so methodical and complete that you really get a good understanding of not only the facts they assert, but the "why" and "how" beneath it. Thank you!

von ABHISHEK S

28. Mai 2020

Highly recommended. Initially, the course seems to be a bit slow-paced but later you will understand that it was all necessary to build the foundation. The material is very good especially the exercises. The last portion teaches you RSA encryption and its prospective attacks. Overall the course was very well structured and intuitive, it made me think and apply the concepts taught.

von Agung A P

7. Juli 2020

Alhamdulillah. Finally, I can pass this course, although not perfectly 100%, but I really proud of my self. Thanks to all lecturers in this course. I've got a lot of knowledge so far, especially in Number Theory. For cryptography subject, that's so hard. Not every people can solved it perfectly since it need a lot of creativity and logic.

von Callum T

25. Juni 2020

My only critique to this course are the final two quizzes of week 4. The very final quiz relies on you having successfully completed most of the penultimate quiz and is more of a "copy and paste" session. The RSA part (week 4) of this course had not been covered at my University and was very interesting.

von Iftakhar U

20. Juli 2020

Alhamdulillah. I have learnt many things from this course. Thanks the three course instructor for taking this course. Most interesting things of the course for me was The end RSA Quest quiz. Again, Thanks coursera.

von Rajarshi D

18. Sep. 2020

Excellent material and teachers.

Specifically, the course contents of week 4 : the RSA quiz and the RSA quest quiz material is outstanding! Kudos!

von Aswani K C

30. Nov. 2020

Excellent course to learn number theory principles and relate them to asymmetric cryptosystems. The course is highly rigorous and challenging.

von Deepjyoti H P

30. Juli 2020

This course was amazing! Got a good, but brief insight into the basics of cryptography. The examples at the end of the course were great!

von Perumali S

14. Juni 2020

Its a good course to the beginers of cryptography.If you want to join you should know basic number theory and computer language python.

von Hepta M K

27. Aug. 2020

This course introduces one into the world of cryptograghy and was very interesting especially the RSA Quest.

von Ayrton C A d A

16. Nov. 2020

Very good course to learn the basic concepts of number theory and cryptography, and how to implement them.

von Yin L H

4. Aug. 2020

I really appreciate the teachers' effort for the quests.

The most fascinating assignment ever.

von Manikant R

12. Juni 2020

Very challenging and exciting to. It was not math it seemed to be like more of puzzle games

von Rishi b

12. Sep. 2020

A Very Good Course for Beginners who want to start learning cryptography from scratch

von Kushwanth R

5. Aug. 2020

I can't really get sync b/w mathematics and programming

von Jherson A M C

24. Sep. 2020

Very fun and simple, maybe too simple, but it's fine

von Akash V

24. Aug. 2020

Really good course, kept my really good questions

von SYED J H

21. Juni 2020

probably the best course of this specialization