Chevron Left
Zurück zu Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Physical Sciences

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Physical Sciences by The University of Edinburgh

4.6
401 Bewertungen
78 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

What is the origin of our universe? What are dark matter and dark energy? This is the first part of the course 'Philosophy and the Sciences', dedicated to Philosophy of the Physical Sciences. Scientific research across the physical sciences has raised pressing questions for philosophers. The goal of this course is to introduce you to some of the main areas and topics at the key juncture between philosophy and the physical sciences. Each week we will introduce you to some of these important questions at the forefront of scientific research. We will explain the science behind each topic in a simple, non-technical way, while also addressing the philosophical and conceptual questions arising from it. We’ll consider questions about the origin and evolution of our universe, the nature of dark energy and dark matter and the role of anthropic reasoning in the explanation of our universe. Learning Objectives Gain a fairly well-rounded view on selected areas and topics at the intersection of philosophy and the sciences Understand some key questions, and conceptual problems arising in the natural sciences. Develop critical skills to evaluate and assess these problems. Suggested Reading To accompany 'Philosophy and the Sciences', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Philosophy and the Sciences' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy and the Sciences team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please note, this companion book is optional - all the resources needed to complete the course are available freely and listed on the course site....

Top-Bewertungen

DL

Nov 27, 2017

Many of the mathematical elements were beyond me, but the instructors presented the material in such a way that it really demonstrated the art of philosophical thinking about the field of science.

KK

Jun 07, 2018

Nice slides.Lectures are well prepared .Quizzes are relevant to the subject and thoughtfully worded so that even wrong choices also contribute to the knowledge of the study material.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 of 79 Reviews for Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Physical Sciences

von Francisco J d o (

Jun 15, 2019

eternal apprentice One more course. More information. I love the COURSERA platform.

von Jose M T c

Jun 12, 2019

Great Curse. Thank you

von Pascal L S

May 26, 2019

A great course. My only quiblle are that the summary slides don't always coincide with the video explanations.

von luis j

May 04, 2019

Excellent course, with the contribution of professionals,

that manage to transmit not only the knowledge but the questions to solve, Transmitted in excellent form.

von Sandun P

May 04, 2019

it was an amazing experience working through this course, Material and lectures were very interesting and made me want to pursue further in the world of philosophy

von Prashant S S

May 03, 2019

Very nice and informative course

von Inga B H

May 02, 2019

What an amazing course! I really enjoyed it!

von Rulx N

Apr 25, 2019

Important notions to learn for who is interested in science; this could help us better communicate with each other particularly with science opponents

von Robert C C

Apr 24, 2019

This course wasn't exactly what I thought it would be, It was better. I found it to be challenging but good.

von Ellen W

Mar 18, 2019

I loved this course! I have a particular interest in the philosophy of science (specifically epistemic beliefs), but found that I got so much out of this class with the cosmology connections. Admittedly, I do have a background in both physics and philosophy, so I was able to follow the material easily, but others may require more attention to the videos themselves. However, this is THE FIRST MOOC that I have taken the time to complete; well, done!

von Walter O A

Mar 13, 2019

Mind enhancing at any rate!

von Rupert M

Feb 18, 2019

Epic course!

von Chaiyawat M

Feb 05, 2019

4

von Basalat K

Jan 12, 2019

This was FIRST EVER philosophy of science experience. Never been a part of that field until now. The course was extraordinary great with plenty of knowledge. Although some information was so advance for me that it took me sometime to understand a few things. I had to go through some other sources outside of the course to understand what our professors and lecturers are presenting because I am a total layman in philosophy of sciences. Thank you so much for such an informative course. Looking forward to continue learning similar courses.

von Jennifer

Jan 09, 2019

very interesting

von Atimukta M

Dec 30, 2018

This course will let you dive into the depth of universe and see through the theories and reason for their existence till now.

von Emiel d J

Nov 29, 2018

A great course introduction on the philosophy of science and cosmology. I found it to be very complex because I am somewhat unfamiliar with cosmology. But still the explanations were good and eventually I got it.

von Burak Ç

Oct 06, 2018

very useful for course to understand modern cosmology and its philosophical background

von Gabriela C G

Sep 27, 2018

EXCELENTE CURSO!!! LOS ACADÉMICOS EXPLICAN DE MANERA MUY CLARA, CONCEPTOS QUE PODRÍAN PARECER DE MUCHA DIFICULTAD.

von Lora X

Sep 27, 2018

The physics part is somewhat challenging, but good for getting a sense of the philosophy of physical sciences.

von Christopher L

Sep 22, 2018

Sometimes difficult to follow due to the amount of math, this course is eye-opening and inspiring. It's nice to know that those of us who spend more time questioning and hypothesizing than actually "proving" theories are inspiring more scientifically-minded people; and, it's exciting to know that those people have made such strides in these fields.

von Edmund B

Sep 05, 2018

High quality presentation and materials for these topics. Haven't had this much fun in a while with philosophy and science. Dark Energy and Dark Matter will continue to be topics I am interested in. Congratulations University of Edinburgh.

von ruth p

Jul 10, 2018

En mi opinión, encontraré este curso muy interesante, alto nivel académico de sus instructores. Esta introducción a la Filosofía de las Ciencias Físicas forma un enfoque completo del tema. Recomiendo estos cursos a cualquiera que ame el conocimiento. Me siento muy agradecido con los instructores de los cursos y la plataforma de Coursera.

von Glenda

Jul 07, 2018

Excellent course with some challenging content, very good lecturers, highly relevant. One star taken for the ending, which is missing (a summary video would have been good - finishing with a quiz is anticlimactic) - something that might reflect the current state e.g. of the discovery of primordial gravitational waves. Overall, enjoyed this very much & I have much material to read and to go through. The course really re-awakened my interest in cosmology & taught me something about the philosophy of science and where it's at (almost) right now.

von Thomas J H

Jun 27, 2018

Great fun! Yes, challenging but also thought-provoking. Very responsible coverage of the science, and useful (not merely clever) philosophical discussions of key related concerns.