Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Philosophy

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Philosophy von The University of Edinburgh

4.7
Sterne
6,665 Bewertungen
1,557 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

Top-Bewertungen

LT

Sep 02, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

SF

Jun 28, 2020

It is an excellent course for anyone who is interested in knowing more about philosophy and philosophical questions. The lectures are short and very informative! I would highly recommend this course.

Filtern nach:

1251 - 1275 von 1,541 Bewertungen für Introduction to Philosophy

von David J P O

May 19, 2020

I was expecting more practical philosophy topics, but instead had to go through political obligation and time travel. I wanted to know more about past philosophers and what their thoughts were on life. Well, generally, what makes life worth living and how does philosophy answer that question?

von Kaan A D

Dec 04, 2017

An insightful course, doing well to present the student with the basis of philosophical thinking, although it may have introduced some more advanced topics too soon while missing a few of the basics. But it provides the necessary foundations for anyone wishing to further pursue the subject.

von Jaybird O

May 31, 2020

Really exciting having so many different professors with varying styles. A very challenging course intellectually. Raises many, many provocative ideas. The tests were sometimes vaguely worded including some typos but generally a highly useful introduction to a broad, deep subject.

von Hamdanil R

Jun 26, 2016

Good course. It covers various disciplines in philosophy (e.g. of science, of mind, ethics), with interesting presentation and discussion topics. However it doesn't feel very systematic. It feels more like a series of videos about philosophy than a holistic course at philosophy.

von Andrew T

Nov 20, 2015

An exciting and worthwhile introduction to the philosophical fundamentals! While there was not as much focus on the major philosophers themselves as I was expecting, I gained a lot from this course and would recommend it to anyone interested in learning more about philosophy.

von Jing Y

Feb 10, 2016

Very helpful introductory course for people who are interested in philosophy. Varied topics in each module and rich reference reading materials. The only problem I found is the lectures in some modules are too simple and not as inspiring and thought-provoking as some others.

von Ervin J D P

Sep 17, 2020

Some lectures/topics really take a lot to absorb, which doesn't make it beginner-friendly, especially if it's to be labelled as an Introductory course. Nevertheless, it was still fun learning these concepts, though it may be hard for some to see or apply them in daily life.

von Tom H

Sep 21, 2019

Briefly covers each of some of the larger topics within philosophy; morality, the law, epistemology, philosophy of mind, etc. The lectures are fairly well done but each topic is covered by a different teacher. People already familiar with philosophy may find it a bit basic.

von William P

Mar 31, 2016

From an engineer perspective this was hard to see obvious value in but i enjoyed the thought provoking topics. Some of the tests were very hard and the questions were not directly form the lectures while others were. Some presenters were hard to understand due to accent.

von vanita T

Aug 28, 2020

I enjoyed this course. Curiosity about philosophy increased. contents of this course bring a new way to see philosophical arguments separately as per subjective fundamental questions. Readings will help me to conceptualized philosophical questions and arguments further.

von Yee C H

Apr 24, 2020

As this is a Introduction courses, the course content that presented are fairly easy to understand for any new beginner. Is a good starting point for anyone who is intend to start to understand philosophy. Looking forward for much deeper courses for Philosophy.

von onur m

Sep 18, 2015

a lovely introduction class. touches some of the most important philosophical fields and multiple approaches to said fields. if you are into philosophy in a beginner level, you should check this out (for the fancy steampunk clothes in week7 if nothing else)

von ZifengHuang

Sep 25, 2020

It's my first lesson taken in Coursera. It is a good lesson but some Chinese subtitles are wrong, this make some trouble to me. I hadn't take the whole lesson, however, I think this lesson is a little boring. Nevertheless, it still a good class, UpVote!

von Alex M

Feb 22, 2020

Interesting course, gives a bird's eye view on the fundamental topics of philosophy. I'd prefer it to go deeper on some topics, like philosophy of science, but it's just an introduction and they had to cover everything in a relatively short time.

von Ivan D G

Aug 03, 2017

I am an Engineer, always with a curiosity for Philosophy. This is an excellent course to understand some of the basic concepts in philosophy, but the best I got is the vocabulary, the meaning of language and some historic context.

Thank you.

von Shivani M

Sep 19, 2020

This was a decent course for an introduction to Philosophy. The lectures and the topics were pretty thought provoking. It could have had maybe a few assignments apart from the quizes. Nevertheless, I enjoyed it and learned quite a lot.

von Jaideep J

Jul 08, 2019

This course really helped me in exploring the field of Philosophy on the surface level which was my objective of joining the course. I still felt that course content was much tilted towards western culture and hence gave 4 star.

von syedzainaliraza

Jan 12, 2017

This is an excellent course but some complex topics could have been explained more like Quantum indeterminacy and the time / travel part to help the new person grasp the idea. However, its an excellent course to start with!!

von Joshua V

Mar 26, 2017

Was a pleasure to study. I feel this was a satisfactory entry into the study of philosophy. I quite enjoyed the final portions in week five, particularly that of Sir Richard, and his discussion of the logic of time travel.

von Gagan K K

Jun 12, 2020

Everything starts with a theory before doing practical, if we think life is a practical attempt then philosophy is the theory to that life. And I learnt some interesting things in life.

Thank you for providing this course.

von SATYAJIT V K

May 20, 2020

Very informative & thought-provoking content.

I personally liked module on the philosophy of mind & time travel.

Truly, the contents of this course can serve as building blocks for any learner to develop his research work.

von Bert M

Sep 10, 2020

As an introduction this course seems sufficient.

A small inconvenience was the impossibility to edit my peer review submission.

On the certificate the signature was "Signature" in handwriting, which seems a bit silly.

von Alok T

Jan 04, 2016

It's a great introduction to the variety of philosophical topics, being introductory it just scratches the surface though. Could be made more interesting, but nonetheless a good course to get started with philosophy.

von Nicholas V

Aug 29, 2017

I understand it is an introductory course, but I would have appreciated more and more in-depth discussions of the topics brought up. This made me aware of some historical questions but I am eager to dig in further.

von Himal k

May 01, 2020

Thank you very much for this cousera.this is moving from a fixed Midwest to learning Midwest with Coursera even if I don't know sometimes,I can learn it.thats a Life change Coursera...thank u very much

😊😊🥰🥰😃