Chevron Left
Zurück zu Poverty & Population: How Demographics Shape Policy

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Poverty & Population: How Demographics Shape Policy von Columbia University

4.9
Sterne
110 Bewertungen
29 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course has four modules, or foci. The first is to understand the categories of social welfare—populations, income, earnings, and assets— and some related concepts that play a very large role in shaping policy decisions: unemployment, inflation, and the minimum wage. The second deals with the central institution of social welfare—the labor market, which largely determines how many resources a person has. The labor market also establishes hierarchy, both through meritocracy and through categories of privilege. The third is poverty: the differing ways we define who is poor, and how effective U.S. anti-poverty efforts have been. The final module looks directly at federal decision making, the political organization of ideas, the structure of U.S. government, and the legislative process that shapes much of our social policy. This course addresses issues of power, oppression, and white supremacy. The course is part of a sequence in social policy that has an HONORS TRACK. This track will prepare the learner for masters-level work in policy, which involves reading the literature, writing concise summaries and probing critiques. Over the sequence the learner will develop a policy analysis that will create a foundation for professional policy analyst assignments....

Top-Bewertungen

ZN
4. Aug. 2021

It was a great learning and easy to understand. The reading materials were so helpful. I will choose more courses related to development and planning.

ZR
6. Nov. 2019

Well-packaged instructional set that combines video lectures, readings, and testing in a manageable approach on the part of the student.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 29 Bewertungen für Poverty & Population: How Demographics Shape Policy

von Zandro G R

6. Nov. 2019

Well-packaged instructional set that combines video lectures, readings, and testing in a manageable approach on the part of the student.

von Joel A C

11. Jan. 2020

☼ i was quite surprised by how my mind was changed and by how even the things i thought i was well versed in, like the number of places things can be killed in comte: oh, it is well worse! The need for childcare is important enough to be grouped in w/healthcare - i see that now. & we need to eat the billionaires (and above). i thought that was leftist rhetoric, but you need 3 generations just to get back on ones feet BECAUSE of a system that allows wealth accumulation at that scale. & you dont have to be racist or sexist for it to happen - it is so clear. & it will not end on its own. So it can not be allowed.* A great course.

(*after the first 150Mil.& obvi no inheritance death tax. i mean we arent savages.)

von Hemant

5. Mai 2020

This is a brilliantly developed course by Prof Robertson which gives in depth information and insights into how public policy is formulated within the United States. It also helps to understand how the benefits of government policies accrue unequally across people in which race, age, gender and ethnicity play an importat role.

von Evaluation R

14. Dez. 2019

The first half of the course was a little redundant, but the second half on government was EXCELLENT!!! Thanks again!

von Ayobami O

9. Apr. 2020

Highly informative and skill enhancing course on demographic considerations in policy development

von Robert B S M

11. Jan. 2020

Great course. .. thanks...

von RAHUL B

30. März 2019

really helpful ,too good

von Ety K

19. Feb. 2019

It's Very great for me

von Gadim G

11. Mai 2020

Very very Perfect

von Paulo

16. Juni 2019

Excellent course!

von JELVIN J

13. Dez. 2019

excellent course

von Nebi R T o

11. Mai 2020

fine

von Quanchai K

22. Apr. 2021

It is an excellent course that helps me better understand general social welfare in the United States, which is very unique compared to that in other Western countries. The instructor can very well explain and discuss complex issues that allows me as a non-American citizen to follow the contents easily. Thank you very much for offering the wonderful course.

von Clément S

5. Dez. 2020

An amazing course if you want to know more about poverty, demographics and social policy in the US. The lecturer seems passionate and we can feel it. If you are a foreign student looking forward to studying in the US, then you should follow this course for sure.

von Rudolf N

20. Juli 2021

I really enjoyed this course. My goal was the specific part of demography as a public policy tool, but I enjoyed the entire course content. Professor John Robertson has the ability to explain the most complex topics in a clear and simple way.

von Melisa K O

6. Apr. 2021

This course is very useful in increasing my knowledge. America's poverty alleviation policy can be one of the best practices for undeveloped countries. Thank you for the course, Prof. John Robertson, Columbia University, dan Coursera.

von Tisa L

19. März 2021

A brief but comprehensive overview of policy-making in terms of social work. Explanations are really easy to understand. This made me want to pursue my master's in social work instead of public policy now.

von Zar N

5. Aug. 2021

It was a great learning and easy to understand. The reading materials were so helpful. I will choose more courses related to development and planning.

von Eltik J

11. Juni 2021

This course makes me understand what poverty really is, what is needed, how to approach it and what can be done as a policy-maker.

von Theo M

30. Apr. 2021

Very insightful, well-organized, and interesting guest speakers. Overall an experience I would recommend!

von Eyasu M

27. Aug. 2021

It is an amazing course. It is changing my life.

Thank you Columbia, school of social work and coursera!

von Sarobidy V

17. Jan. 2022

I love this class. The instructor makes it easy to understand. Topics are so interesting!

von Miriam E

3. Aug. 2020

Excellent course. I love the professor--very engaging, compassionate, and clear.

von Gina D

8. Juli 2021

Very well done. I gained solid base knowledge from this course.

von Michael L B J

17. Aug. 2020

Un excelente curso.