Chevron Left
Zurück zu Functional Program Design in Scala

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Functional Program Design in Scala von École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.5
Sterne
2,978 Bewertungen
510 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

In this course you will learn how to apply the functional programming style in the design of larger applications. You'll get to know important new functional programming concepts, from lazy evaluation to structuring your libraries using monads. We'll work on larger and more involved examples, from state space exploration to random testing to discrete circuit simulators. You’ll also learn some best practices on how to write good Scala code in the real world. Several parts of this course deal with the question how functional programming interacts with mutable state. We will explore the consequences of combining functions and state. We will also look at purely functional alternatives to mutable state, using infinite data structures or functional reactive programming. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - recognize and apply design principles of functional programs, - design functional libraries and their APIs, - competently combine functions and state in one program, - understand reasoning techniques for programs that combine functions and state, - write simple functional reactive applications. Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Functional Programming Principles in Scala: https://www.coursera.org/learn/progfun1....

Top-Bewertungen

RP
14. Sep. 2016

This is a university degree course which takes enormous effort to complete. But still its beond the programming course range giving you whats not possible to google or learn practical way. Thanks!

ES
17. März 2018

Thank you for this exciting course! I did the FP in Scala course a few years ago and decided to do the full certification now. I am looking forward to the next courses in the specialisation.

Filtern nach:

326 - 350 von 493 Bewertungen für Functional Program Design in Scala

von Tyler F

4. Feb. 2017

Good assignments, lectures are a great introduction to Reactive programming but would be nice to have a "where to go from here" type of section/lecture.

von Dustin H

19. Nov. 2016

Very interesting course. Four stars instead of five because it was less about "Program Design" (from the title) than I would have liked.

von Junji S

9. Jan. 2017

Overall learned a lot. Some contents are hard to follow but using supplementary material helped me to discover new things about scala.

von Ricardo C

4. Juni 2016

Very good course. Sad that it is at the same time as the Functional Programming Principles in Scala, which is clearly a pre-requisite.

von Pedro C P P

21. Okt. 2019

A little less content than the first course.

Also the videos and materials of the second professor are way worst than the first one.

von Glendon K

17. Mai 2018

The part by Martin Odersky was excellent, the other guy was kind of all over the place and a bit annoying. Good material though.

von Pravina S M

5. Aug. 2018

Apart from the slight disconnect of lectures and assignment in week 3 , I think the rest of the course contents were amazing !

von Ken C

22. Apr. 2017

A valuable extension of the ideas in the first course. Helped to continue to build confidence in using Scala and introduced

von Roberto O

2. Nov. 2017

A few gaps left over from when this course was longer, which took a bit of googling to fill in. Otherwise, a great course.

von Carlos R

8. Juni 2017

Sometimes the exercises don't match the content exposed for that week, but in general the course is really interesting

von Jacek K

26. Dez. 2016

Good course, material needs more coverage in programming assignments. For example monads and futures were not covered.

von Joaquín D R

4. Sep. 2019

Too short, In my opinion i would spend more time on future and async.

I dont like too much, when the teacher changes..

von Levi K

7. Aug. 2016

This part I liked less than the first. Less substance, and I do not like somebody replacing Mr. Odersky as a lecturer

von Török E

2. Jan. 2017

Basics of lazy streams, monads with for notation, functional reactive programming, and futures with error recovery.

von Luca A

6. Sep. 2017

Good material, but the course is way less structured than the first one and the lectures are not well connected.

von Lestar C

16. Apr. 2017

The FRP part was too short. The earlier version were much longer and contained some introduction about RxScala.

von Santiago A A

24. Juni 2019

The course is great. I put 4 stars because week 4 is very hard to follow up and may take more than one week.

von Du L

2. Juni 2018

Very challenging course, would be better to expand this course into a more detailed and slower paced version

von Lawrence A

12. Okt. 2016

This course has been very good, and i will recommend it to anyone who wants to learn functional programming.

von David N

16. März 2017

Great course! Lacked the same polish as the previous course though. Week3 assignment had grading issues.

von Yuan Y

2. Feb. 2020

material for first two weeks are good. third and fourth are not so good. assignment is a bit too simple

von Jaseer A

5. Dez. 2017

Week 4 material was jumbled and very hard to follow. Not upto the usual standard in the course so far

von Dima P

9. Nov. 2016

A great continuation on Scala and functional programming, I wish the exercises were more challenging.

von Albert F

21. Sep. 2018

Videos are great, however it would be good to update the content since videos are from >6 years ago.

von Daniel D

3. Sep. 2016

Thanks EPFL good course and has certainly broaden my awareness of the possibilities of using Scala.