Chevron Left
Zurück zu Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python von University of Michigan

4.5
Sterne
6,119 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will introduce the learner to information visualization basics, with a focus on reporting and charting using the matplotlib library. The course will start with a design and information literacy perspective, touching on what makes a good and bad visualization, and what statistical measures translate into in terms of visualizations. The second week will focus on the technology used to make visualizations in python, matplotlib, and introduce users to best practices when creating basic charts and how to realize design decisions in the framework. The third week will be a tutorial of functionality available in matplotlib, and demonstrate a variety of basic statistical charts helping learners to identify when a particular method is good for a particular problem. The course will end with a discussion of other forms of structuring and visualizing data. This course should be taken after Introduction to Data Science in Python and before the remainder of the Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, and Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top-Bewertungen

OK

26. Juni 2020

its actually a good course as it starts from fundamentals of visualization to the data visualization,the assignments this course provide are exciting and full of knowledge that you learn in course ..

RM

13. Mai 2020

I am going for the specialization and I know this is just the second course in it and I haven't even seen the further courses yet, but this is already my most favourite course in the specialization.

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 1,014 Bewertungen für Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python

von Rutwik M

14. Mai 2020

I am going for the specialization and I know this is just the second course in it and I haven't even seen the further courses yet, but this is already my most favourite course in the specialization.

von Dipanjan G

11. Juni 2020

Great course with lots of learning. The lectures were crisp and the course inspired us to look at materials beyond the course and in the internet which is a important skill for any data scientist

von SIMRAN S

6. Sep. 2020

A beautiful Course to accompany with python and Machine Learning.

I learnt along with my peers who graded my assignments too, Thank you.

von Josselin G

13. Sep. 2019

Pretty good course the material is good.

Offers good coverage and proposes some interesting problems.

Pairs grading works pretty well.

von Somaiya J G

6. Nov. 2018

Really amazing course, Christopher Brooks salute man, you explained every details in good way that one can easily understand.

von Ahmad H S

28. Juli 2019

Amazing source

von Maria Z

10. März 2021

I am confused how to rate this course... Let me introduce my personal Pros and Cons

Pros:

1) I've learned A LOT.

2) Assignments are really interesting.

3) There is a Peers Grading system, which I personally like.

4) If you really dig into problem - there is a big chance you learn cool things.

Cons:

1) The Professor explains only the very basic stuff. It's a bit disappointing because I finally was doing the assignments with external sources of information. It was not much usage in videos.

2) You have to spend tonnes of time on your own digging into possible solutions to learn how to do the assignments. But if you care only about passing it - don't worry it will take you maximum 1 hour as there are a lot of already done examples on many sites.

3) While grading the assignments you can see a lot of copies. Once I've found my own project copied. After that I decided to leave the code with advanced charts only for my personal usage and for assignments - the simple basic charts.

To sum up - great source if you like exploring new things and digging into details on your own. It's like a tool that give you some direction and base to start. If you prefer to get information ready to use - it's not for you.

I put 4 stars out of 5 as it was a great help for me but still almost all the information I had to find on other sources.

von Muhammad S

1. Feb. 2021

Good course if you want to learn basic data representation in Python Matplotlib. I would suggest it needs a little work up in assignments and syllabus section to make it more competitive towards the end. Like building visual animations, heatmaps, clusters in assignments rather than just simple line and bar charts

von Dr. R H

23. Sep. 2020

For the last assignment, it would have been great if we could have chosen the topic of our work ourselves (e.g. sports/politics/...). I had to work on a task regarding religion, which is for me an extremely boring subject; this led me to delay the finalization of the assignment by weeks.

von Oleksii K

3. Sep. 2020

I did not find this topic really useful. I think there could have been more details about matplotlib and less information about 'what is a good plot'.

von Sandip K D

9. Mai 2020

Good course. But I think Seaborn should have been explored in detail since it's much better.

von Guo X W

4. Juni 2020

This course provides an overview to the matplotlib and seaborn library and guides learners to create useful visualisations with Python. My main issue with the course is that the various topics are not covered in sufficient detail. Successful completion of the assignments required far too much independent learning on commands that were not covered in the course (particularly for Assignment 3).

The course also covered Principles of Information Visualisation in great detail. I thought that was refreshing and useful. However, I felt that the portion on Matplotlib Architecture could be explained in more layman and palatable terms. In addition, it would have been more meaningful if the course drew more on actual real-world datasets instead of histograms generated from a random normal distribution.

von Betty C

3. Mai 2020

The material does not cover all of the assignments. I did learn A LOT by finishing my assignments, but the process was frustrating. I feel like a baby who have not learnt how to stand, but my parents ask me to run.

If you are good at finding solutions in original documentations (e.g., python, pandas, and matplotlib) and Stack Overflow, this is the right course for you.

However, if you are seeking for abundant materials and examples to sharpen your skill, sorry, this course may not right for you.

von Aarya P

20. Sep. 2020

Learnt about the different plotting and charting techniques.How to get subplots and architecture of matplotlib. Just syntax of each type of charts is shown.

The downside is there is alot of research work on your own.Also the course diffculty is quite high as i was not much experienced in matplot. Wouldnt recommened to beginners. Also teaching style could be largely improved so as the assignments.

von Andy F

20. Sep. 2019

The lectures really need to flesh things out more, they too often feel too fleeting and leave more than they probably should to searching other resources. Questions for the final piece clearly haven't changed in at least two years and lack clarity as to what should be done

von Manuel O A

18. Mai 2020

I learned a lot about pandas and plotting, but:

I spend a lot of time figuring out the instructions on assignments because were ambiguous or incomplete, I used the discussion forums searching explanations for assignments.

von Kareem H

8. Dez. 2019

Plotting concepts need more deep explanation or more practice, generally the provided information wasn't meet the course's level "in my opinion."

von Vincent V H

22. Nov. 2020

limited theory on the subject

von Markus K

20. Apr. 2020

I didnt like the peer review

von jason b

16. Okt. 2017

Some of the material was interesting but on a whole not nearly as engaging as course 1. I fully can appreciate how the principles of chart design are valuable to the subject matter covered in this series but on a whole I would have liked more focus on the technical skills and maybe had the academic perspective on design extra reading.

Also the peer grading portion of this course is a little rough. The people that graded my work were great but I don't expect them to engage my work in a very meaningful way. It's not realistic to ask them to give their full effort to grade 3 assignments for an online course that they pay for. My personal preference would have been to structure the assignments so that they could be automatically graded like in course 1.

von Bruce H

14. Feb. 2018

The concept is good: introduce the theory of information visualization and introduce how to make charts with Python and matplotlib. Unfortunately the materials are deficient for the programming part. There aren't nearly enough practice exercises to help you learn matplotlib. The previous course in this specialization (intro to data science in python) by comparison has many more guided practice exercises, and I am disappointed that this course does not live up to the standard set by the first course. If you are taking the complete specialization, as I am, then I guess it's worth it and I hope the next courses in the series have more material.

von Gisela M O

11. Juni 2021

since i was given the course for free i dont regreat taking it. while doing the assigments i learned new things. but to be honest very little from what i learned come from the course content, as i mostly had to research everything online, and there's no usefull feedback. the first course of this especialization was much better.

von Filippo R

30. März 2018

The rate lectures/assignment is disappointingly low, a lot of time goes only to find data available online and to find questions to answer. In my work I have plenty of opportunity to apply data science and very little knowledge on how to. This course gave me more assignments and not so much tools.

von Jonathan C

9. Aug. 2021

Uses a lot of outdated python packages which is sad and a lot of people use the course to just farm certificates which is also not nice but sadly possible because there is not much monitoring or whatsoever of the people who made the course. But the rest makes for a half decent course

von Alexandre G

11. Okt. 2019

This course only scratches the service of the subject and asks the learner to learn almost everything by himself searching the Internet. The lecture content must be expanded significantly in order to give enough knowledge for the programming assignments.