Chevron Left
Zurück zu Python and Statistics for Financial Analysis

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Python and Statistics for Financial Analysis von The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

4.4
Sterne
1,714 Bewertungen
386 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Course Overview: https://youtu.be/JgFV5qzAYno Python is now becoming the number 1 programming language for data science. Due to python’s simplicity and high readability, it is gaining its importance in the financial industry. The course combines both python coding and statistical concepts and applies into analyzing financial data, such as stock data. By the end of the course, you can achieve the following using python: - Import, pre-process, save and visualize financial data into pandas Dataframe - Manipulate the existing financial data by generating new variables using multiple columns - Recall and apply the important statistical concepts (random variable, frequency, distribution, population and sample, confidence interval, linear regression, etc. ) into financial contexts - Build a trading model using multiple linear regression model - Evaluate the performance of the trading model using different investment indicators Jupyter Notebook environment is configured in the course platform for practicing python coding without installing any client applications....

Top-Bewertungen

LH

Mar 24, 2020

A very good introduction course to python programming and it has a perfect combination with statistics, which makes financial analysis more interesting and refresh my mind on it, thanks.

TT

Apr 23, 2020

Generally, the course offer many approach with financial data but not very easy to understand for beginner such as myself. I hope there will be more course like this in the future !!!

Filtern nach:

326 - 350 von 388 Bewertungen für Python and Statistics for Financial Analysis

von Kelvin Y

May 20, 2020

Statistical concepts have little explanations on the theories behind them. It almost felt like it was just being listed out at times before showing how it's implemented in Python. If you never took a stats. course in your life, I'd recommend doing your own research on how those concepts came to be on your own before moving on to the next one. I also understand not all Professors' are fluent in English verbally, but sometimes you still had to guess what the Prof. was saying because even the transcripts were wrong. There were also some mistakes in the course material, but fortunately it was pointed out and clarified in the discussion forum. All in all, despite the negatives, I do think it's a good, straightforward introduction to using programming for financial analysis.

von Timothy E T

Nov 03, 2019

Xuhu made a commendable effort in the early part of the class in teaching the basics of this course. Over the last 2 weeks of content however, significant external reading is required for students to do independently from the course content (not a bad thing) but know that extra effort is required to pass the later stages. For the most part, you should have the basics of python prior to taking this course or you will struggle midway. Nonetheless, it was definitely a commendable effort from this course.

von Reo W

May 31, 2020

Overall good, the professor is delicated and responds to the forum actively. But the course could be better designed. Even though I have learned the knowledge of statistics, econometric, and python and got a 100% certificate, the course is still difficult for me to digest. I have to pause the video and think 5-8 times per video. The pace is so fast that some usages of the python or applicaions of finance equations lack sufficient illustration.

von Andrew C

Oct 16, 2019

I wish the concepts in this course were gone into more in depth. They aren't necessarily difficult but they can get complex and when the instructor spends an accumulation of 30 or less per module it is hard to fully understand. More practice is needed as well. All the code was done for you except for just a few lines. People who learn by application will not gain much from this course.

von Kwok T F E

Jul 25, 2020

Pros: Learn some python code and review statistical knowledge (SLR, MLR)

Cons: The python code is outdated and may not usable. So time consuming to update the code.

For Example: pd.DataFrame.from_csv(..\...\AAA.csv) which is commonly used in the course

It is not usable as DataFrame.from_csv has been replaced by pd.read_csv(r'...)

Also for loc has significant changes

von Dawid V

Apr 17, 2020

The statistics element is basic and there is very little practice coding with Python. Instead, it is more of a demonstration how Python can be used to implement some regressions and basic trading strategies. Informative in showing this, however overall a bit disappointing as there was less Python learning and practice as anticipated/advertised.

von Đan T L

Jul 04, 2019

Interesting and easy to understand for people with basic background or have basic knowledge about finance or statistic. However, I wish some of the videos may have explained more about how to use the data to solve real life issues. Even though some of the practices may explore it, it appears not deep enough for me

von Cesar D

May 05, 2020

Course content is valuable from Statistics applied in Python code. Unfortunately, it didn't give enough examples or use cases for Financial Analysis. I'd like to see more stocks market predictions, studies and models using the Statistics concepts explained on this course.

von Mingyue W

Jun 15, 2020

Tough for a person not familiar with statistics and completely new to python. Would have been good to provide more basics to python as well. However, i would believe it'll be very beneficial for one who has already strong foundation in statistics to follow.

von Sushil K

Apr 25, 2020

first and 4th week was fun and relevent. but the 2nd and 3rd weeks were quite difficult to understand and also lack clarity of what we are learning is how that is going to relate in the trading programming.

von William B

Jul 16, 2020

Could have done with some more opportunities to write pieces of code in different scenarios; many of the notebooks consisted of just running the prewritten code snippets in order and observing the effects.

von Ricardo P

May 16, 2020

Overall good course but needs to clean/improve some of the code/quizes to be consistent. Does not explain Statistics or financial models well but shows basic idea of how to find/use them in Python.

von YI L

Oct 13, 2019

Videos are not really connected to the practice. Some finance and statistic stuff is simply mentioned and directly used without enough explanation. I finished the course with help from Google.

von Abhay N

Dec 15, 2019

This course is good for someone familiar with the concepts of statistics and linear regression. However, for a complete beginner, it's a little difficult to understand everything taught here.

von Anand S

Sep 07, 2019

This is a course more for statistics than python. All we understand is how to use the Python libraries and their functions to compute statistical data.

90% Statistics

10% Python.

von Ketan V

Jan 11, 2020

The video tutorial could have been better, however the notebooks and quiz were perfectly prepared and were instrumental in verifying our understanding of concepts.

von Sagnik S

Aug 10, 2020

this course is really good course to understand python programming

but

1.you need basic and intermediate knowledge of statistics

2. basic knowledge of finance

von Andres M M

Jun 22, 2020

I think the most valuable part of the course is in week 4 but It was rushed by fast

explanations and I was hoping a better pace in these important topics.

von Shashank G

May 11, 2020

The course was a bit fast-paced and explanations could be more lucid and elaborate. Please increase the number of modules and provide more practice sets.

von linker9x

Mar 16, 2020

It's not bad, but it's not great either. I guess it works as a good starting point for further research, but the content is pretty general.

von Mridul w

Dec 29, 2019

Overall a great experience but was not having a finance background so using these stock market terms for the first time was a challenge.

von King Y C

Feb 08, 2019

The course is somehow overlapped with the course ISOM2500.Moreover,i do not think that I have really learned a lot regarding Python.

von Lui M C

May 17, 2020

A per-requsite of statistics is required. One should review the basics of statistics before taking the course. Pace is too fast.

von Sui W T

Feb 10, 2019

It's a bit difficult for students who have no either coding or statistic background to understand the content of the course.