Chevron Left
Zurück zu Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python)

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python) von University of Michigan

4.8
Sterne
172,384 Bewertungen
41,237 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course aims to teach everyone the basics of programming computers using Python. We cover the basics of how one constructs a program from a series of simple instructions in Python. The course has no pre-requisites and avoids all but the simplest mathematics. Anyone with moderate computer experience should be able to master the materials in this course. This course will cover Chapters 1-5 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. Once a student completes this course, they will be ready to take more advanced programming courses. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality instructor
(1484 Bewertungen)
Introductory course
(4203 Bewertungen)

Top-Bewertungen

AG
12. Sep. 2020

Very good introduction to basic programming. Very easy for beginners in python who have already some programming background - but still extremely useful to quickly and efficiently learn python basics.

MA
29. Sep. 2020

Very beautifully taught. I gained basic python programming knowledge quite easily. The lecturer is fun and encourages students to want to learn more. In general, it was an awesome learning experience.

Filtern nach:

276 - 300 von 10,000 Bewertungen für Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python)

von Paramasivan D

4. Jan. 2019

I was a C Programming enthusiast about 12 years ago. Over the years, I had not got a lot of opportunity to code in C (I had been using only ProC rarely, PL/SQL and Unix Shell). This course was very exciting from the beginning. I always wanted to attend classes of professors like Charles. The Idea becomes far fetched when you have a day job to do. I was so excited from the beginning and completing the course and seeing the certificate was icing on the cake.

Coursera is a big gift for people like me who wanted to pursue higher education, but could not leave their day jobs due to personal commitment.

Thank you to Coursera, University of Michigan and Charles Severance

von Paul H

27. Okt. 2015

This was a great intro for anyone who has never programmed and very well articulated. Concepts clearly explained. Giving it 5 stars since the effort that has gone into making these videos is poorly understood by people who have not been in lecturing positions - I salute you ! Having been a self taught programmer from the mid 80's on BASIC with Apple 2E's, it is a breath of fresh air seeing this kind of material on the Internet. I had to dig around in libraries which had books (yes paper!). If the youth could rather spend time exploiting this fountain of knowledge instead of hacking away on FPS and Online gaming then we could see some really cool stuff happen :).

von MOHAMMED F P K

15. Mai 2020

ery good introduction to basic programming. Very easy for beginners in python who have already some programming background ,Dr. Chuck was so interesting and he has an extra ordinary ideas to capture or grasp things from him without making any doubt on any topics,This course is actually dealing with the basics of Python

I can say that this course will make worthwhile for who have actually going to starts with python

. The pace was perfect, it was not so long that it was daunting to finish and it did not take too much weekly free time either. Despite this, I was still able to learn a great deal and am still motivated to continue with the rest of the specialization.

von Rahul K S

29. Okt. 2016

This was my first course which I took and completed. It took me 2-3 days to complete this course. It was a great experience and I would definitely continue with the specialisation. I really liked the cool and fundamental nature of Dr. Chuck. I really enjoyed the course. His idea of putting web series interview was awesome. it provides a great depth of exposure. I very strongly feel that the most enjoyed moment with my course were my coding assignments. I request the course staff to increase those assignments by 4 times. It was the great experience and I really appreciate the effort.

Thanks Everyone for making this happen

Regards,

Rahul Kumar Sharma

Bangalore, India

von Alon H

14. Juli 2018

I have just finished the course. As a junior data analyst (with some knowledge in SQL), python is probably one of the best languages to learn. I had a little background in programming, and worked with computers for a few years, so I feel like learning python is a good place to start. As for the course - I think it was a great platform for me to establish my basic python. It is also my first online course, and I enjoyed this way of studying very much. The course is a great fit for anyone who wants to start developing some sort of skill in programming. I might not know how the other MOOC courses in python are, but I would definitely recommend taking this one.

von Kausik D

17. Apr. 2018

I have audited this course, hence submitting or quizzes and doing assignments were not allowed unless you are ready to pay for this course :-)

Dr. Chuck has an amazing teaching style, you will never feel bored, you will always be kept engaged with the easy to understand course-materials.

The course is properly designed for the new programmers in python language and is quite easy to learn and digest. Great for the beginners.

If you are already a good programmer of some language other than python then this course may not give you much extra in terms of programming but yes learning from Dr. Chuck is a great life-time experience. Thank You for the amazing course.

von Luke C

12. Nov. 2015

I've started and failed to finish, even after two weeks, many on-line MOOCs and thought maybe it wasn't my style. This one has given me hope I can set up an environment and participate in a class that goes at a reasonable pace. I enjoy the teaching style and that the lectures are designed for people without a lot of (if any) CS or computing background, which is great for me. I come from the biology field and always wanted to learn programming but never gave it enough time or effort. This class has helped me come a long way from quitting course after course, to now believe that I can finish an entire on line class because it is meeting me at my level.

von Manvendra S T

14. Juni 2020

I have completed this course within 4 days and I had no prior knowledge of programming language.

and also I do not belong to a programming or computer science stream in my college. My subjects are PCM still I am learning python because I am highly interested in learning new thing about computer and one day I came to know about programming language then I searched on google and came to know that python is easy and so helpful and friendly language to learn that's why I started learning Python and also my aim is to become a teacher and I want to teach python.

This course is really so amazing because Dr chuck has treated so friendly.

Just go for this course.

von Raian S

19. Aug. 2020

This Course is highly recommended for the beginner who wants to learn programming language, specially Python. If anyone is delegated, it will take only 1.5 or 2 weeks to complete. I specially want to mention the Instructor Dr. Chuck, he is from School of Information, University of Michigan and knows how to teach a beginner level students who don't know anything about programming. Moreover, I want to mention another thing that this course is just part 1 and covered chapters 1-5 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. So, anyone want to complete this course just enroll Specialization "Python for Everybody" which is included 5 courses. Happy Learning !

von David L C

28. Juni 2020

Anonymous completed this course.

Doctor Charles Severance is an excellent teacher: he explains programming concepts in a friendly way, references on other parts of programming in a way, that you forget why writing code can be sometimes annoying, (when there is syntax errors, or tracebacks, or in the old days with c++ when the program didn´t compile)., has the ability of binding python with computer history, and has interesting optional videos...

I am really happy to have chosen this course, above other options for diving into Python.

Congratulations, Dr. Severance,,, keep up your brilliant labor as a teacher

# Anonymous == Camilo Ceballos Sierra

von Harsh B

5. März 2018

Wow. the professor is so amazing and makes us immersed into the programming world. I knew much of this course as i knew the basic of C language already. But python was a new language and had many doubts or vague concepts before this course. But Charles cleared all my queries and refreshed every concept. I feel that I am not going to forget all these things for sure as the conceopt got invoked in my brains to last forever. Thank you very much Charles and I highly recommended this course for gteeting a basic knowledge about python. A six out of five course for sure. This course really made me to move ahead with other courses in this specialization.

von P P K

15. Aug. 2020

I'm a Mechanical engineering student and when I came to know that I need to learn programming for better opportunities but I used to hate these as well. But choosing python and especially choosing this course helped me a lot to take out my fear of programming . Instructor Charles Russell Severance is extremely amazing in simplifying those programming language into human language. Well explained and well presented. Though it was not one to one interaction but they way he brought the knowledge and fun together is appreciable.Best course with best instructor also I want to thank Coursera and University of Michigan for providing this course.

von RAVI S

24. Apr. 2020

I am a naive programmer. I had been exposed to academic level Matlab programming only. So, I was very afraid of programming and I always looked for an easy mode of escape from programming. as Python programming language is very user friendly , I decided to start from here.Literally this was my first ever programming class. Thanks to our Dear Prof. Chuck that i feel confident about programming in Python. I have known that i do not need very in depth programming language as in our domain of application it would not be required. But now i am thinking of taking whole specialization. Last, but not the least,Thanks coursera for Financial AId.

von Kevin P

23. Dez. 2018

I have successfully completed Python for everybody course on Coursera. I learnt basics of python for project. It is a very good start for beginner to enter in modern programming language. Python is very simple and easy programming language, anybody can learn this. And coursera course on this topic is perfect for good start. I would like to thanks professor Charles Severance for teaching us python in as simple as possible. I really enjoyed this course with Prof. Charles , specially his way of giving examples and funny way to teach.

I have completed course in 7-days free trial period. Thank you Coursera for this course available to us.

von Margie L

24. Aug. 2018

Dr. Chuck is an amazing instructor who rollouts all the content in an very well structured order, with his own passionate and encouraging style. Throughout the course you can feel that he really cares about your progress. He knows exactly where you may feel frustrated and need to elaborate on. With his lively interpretation, I even felt less rejected when encountered errors :) I am from business background and never known anything about programming before, but Dr. Chuck easily grabbed my attention from the very beginning. I just couldn't put it down and completed in one week. Will continue with other courses under the specialization.

von Chris S

19. Juli 2018

I would say this course is amazing, i really enjoyed this course also I learned a lot from prof. Charles. Before I enrolled in this course, I had half-year learning experience in Java, that's probably why sometimes I was very confused between these two, like construction of while loop and for loop were a little bit different. I think Prof. Charles is pretty funny, and his demonstration is pretty clear and concise. I am just wondering if he could spend more time and examples to illustrate the similarity between python and other programming languages, and difference like applications, that would be better. Anyway, i enjoyed this course!

von Dr S K

22. Nov. 2018

Dr Severance is a gifted teacher. I enjoy all the videos and educational resources very much. I have rarely come across such a charismatic lecturer and mentor and I have over 18 degrees and have studied extensively in many UK and US universitties including Harvard. Dr Severance is indeed the best teacher I have had so far. I am looking forward to the rest of the online classes. Every day after a hard day's work, I enjoy watching the videos and doing the programming tasks. These are excellent classes, very thorough explanations, and to the point. Well done to all the team at the University of Michigan, but especially to Dr Severance.

von Rajatha S

9. Sep. 2019

I really loved the way this course is organized. All the topics are explained sequentially and none of the basic topic is skipped. Most of the video lectures had programming explanations which helped me to understand better. Although the course covers most important and initial topics, i suggest to have more advanced topics and complex assignments. It is advised to have the code samples and psuedo codes attached in the content so that we can take the reference of it when needed. Overall i would say this course is well suited for beginners in Python and also who are novice in programming. Looking forward to learn more from Coursera.

von Asrar A

10. Apr. 2020

Prof. Charles Severance, OMG he is just an extraordinary teacher, especially the patience and great sense of humor with which he engages students in learning experience, he delivered the course at a truly understandable way for Everyone on the Earth doing justice to the title of course (Programming for Everybody)... I just loved the course, that is the reason, i could finish it in just 3-4 days spending maximum time due to staying at home in view of COVID 19 lock down at India...

Once again big thank you to Prof Charles Severance and his entire team and all those fascinating videos of his visits to various places he had been to...

von Marek O

2. Juni 2017

Before that course I tried to learn python on youtube and on another site that provide learning online platroform, but they leave me with many, many questions unanswered.

This course answered them all. (i.e. What is the difference between "=" and "==", and why is it so important? or Do I have to use "space" and "tab" on keyboard? or What is the difference between try/except and if/else, isn't it the same?, Why "elif", huh? and many, many, many more. )

The best programming introduction I can imagine. Dr Chuck and his lectures are great, especially when explaining differences between human thinking and computer thinking.

Thank You!

von Genevieve O

22. Nov. 2020

Excellent course for a non-tech person. The concepts were clearly presented and easy to understand. There is a clearer understanding in mind mind of the relationship between humans and computers. The presentations were holistic and book was very easy to read and understand. Dr. Chuck´s humor helped to lighted the things up when things started to get intense by chapter four. my only concern is that there needed to be more clarity with regard to combining multiple functions at the same time within a program. I was lost as to how to lay them out and in which order in my attempts to get results. All in all, wonderfully executed.

von Aviral C

15. Aug. 2020

I am so excited that i have decided to embark on the journey of learning Python! One of the most common questions we receive from our readers is “What’s the best way to learn Python?”

I believe that the first step in learning any programming language is making sure that you understand how to learn. Learning how to learn is arguably the most critical skill involved in computer programming.

Why is knowing how to learn so important? The answer is simple: as languages evolve, libraries are created, and tools are upgraded. Knowing how to learn will be essential to keeping up with these changes and becoming a successful programmer.

von Argunova E

15. Sep. 2019

Это мой первый онлайн курс в жизни, рада что взяла этот курс на Курсере. Спасибо за этот курс. Отличный преподаватель, прекрасное объяснение, интересные задания. В этом курсе вся информация идет в нужной последовательность, поэтому я не разу не запуталась и отлично усвоила материал. Хотя мой английский язык среднего уровня, мне удалось все понять и выполнить)

This curs is first online curs for me. I'm very glad that I take it. Thanks for curs. Teacher is fine, perfectly reasoning, interesting assignment. All information go in rite sequence, I don't wander. Althougth my english is not very well, I may understend and execute.

von Amarilis S

17. Nov. 2020

I loved the way this curse is organized, it has a simple language, not complicated but at the same time it makes you grow and self learn. The part I liked the most was when I was in trouble, I had a lot of materials to read and videos to watch. Well, finally at the 5.2 assignment I discovered there is many possibilities to write a code, at some point I thought I would never crack it but with the help of Mihaela Mack (from the help center/ teaching staff), I could finally understand the little details I missed and my code worked! She is my hero, she answer me in a timely manner and she is also very good explaining Python.

von Swarupa I

17. Juli 2020

I had done a project using python language before this class , but had not learnt it very well. Through the 'Python for Everybody 'course on Coursers by Professor Chuck ,i have learnt basics of python and really enjoyed coding. Being a Mechanical engineer i was difficult to start coding but the course helped me build interest and work upon the assignments with lots of motivation and willingness .I am very much interested to continue learning through the next course on 'Python data structures'I want to thank Professor Chuck , Coursera team and University of Michigan for making such a wonderful course available.Best Regards