Chevron Left
Zurück zu Race and Cultural Diversity in American Life and History

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Race and Cultural Diversity in American Life and History von University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.6
Sterne
68 Bewertungen
30 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Learners will deepen their understanding and appreciation of ways in which race, ethnicity and cultural diversity have shaped American institutions, ideology, law, and social relationships from the colonial era to the present. Race and ethnicity are ideological and cultural categories that include all groups and individuals. Hence, this course is designed in significant part to take a broad look at the ideology of race and cultural diversity in America’s past and present. The primary focus is on the historical and social relationships among European Americans, Native Americans, African Americans, Latino/as, and Asian/Pacific Americans. Issues of race and ethnicity are examined across different ethno-cultural traditions in order to interweave diverse experiences into a larger synthesis of the meaning of race and ethnicity in American life. In this course, we conceive of “race” and “diversity” as references to the entire American population, even as we recognize that different groups have unique historical experiences resulting in distinctive and even fundamental cultural differences. We treat race and ethnicity as dynamic, complex ideological and cultural processes that shape all social institutions, belief systems, inter-group relationships, and individual experiences....

Top-Bewertungen

J

Jun 08, 2020

This course is an excellent source of education! I learned so much, and feel so proud of myself for completing it, and getting grades that I never thought I could! Thank you, Coursera! :)

CT

Sep 25, 2019

An eye opening and well thought out course. I learned a lot and it gave me a lot to think about...

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 34 Bewertungen für Race and Cultural Diversity in American Life and History

von James R

Jun 08, 2020

This course is an excellent source of education! I learned so much, and feel so proud of myself for completing it, and getting grades that I never thought I could! Thank you, Coursera! :)

von Blaise L

Feb 03, 2019

Outstanding course that will be as rewarding as how much effort you put into it. There is plenty to learn and it is challenging to complete everything in 4 weeks, particularly if it's a busy time of year. Keep this in mind as you pace yourself through assignments.

von Krista H

Aug 13, 2019

Great content! the peer graded assignments were a little too vague. loved the lecture/videos and additional reading/resources

von James R B

Aug 24, 2019

Peer review for this course is dysfunctional. Grades appeared to be given randomly. The lectures were informative, but the platform has issues.

von Mahesh L

May 26, 2020

History is often painted from the conquror's perspective, and the racial or any form of discrimination is taught in biased way.

The course was very informative and helped me improve my understanding of the subject.

von Christina T

Sep 25, 2019

An eye opening and well thought out course. I learned a lot and it gave me a lot to think about...

von Mark E

Apr 16, 2019

I learned a lot from this course. I thought I had a decent understanding of Race and it's effect on people in America and found that what I knew wasn't true (the worst kind of knowledge). There was plenty of good material in the presentations and the supplemental material and videos were very good. My eyes have been opened and I will seek out more information about these issues.

von Joy S

Apr 08, 2019

excellent course on the subject

von Vivian C

Jan 17, 2020

Great subject matter and content; but poorly managed by Admin behind the scenes. poor follow-up to inqu

von Anna C R

Jan 24, 2020

This class isn't hard but just feels like busy work.

von Wayne S

Jul 07, 2020

This was a great course! Thank you for the opportunity to take this course. I am also an two time alumnus from the University of Illinois' College of Education. I don't know how I managed to graduate and not take this course. I am very glad I did. I learned a lot from this course. My only complaint would be that I wasn't expecting to do a research paper. Luckily, I am a professional researcher and a teacher (Thanks Illinois), but many of the general population may have struggled with this assignment. And the paper may have scared some people away. I would suggest keeping the paper, but giving more time to write, and also prepare a module to help newcomers learn how to write academically- especially in the social sciences. I will say though, I did get to read some pretty good papers, even the ones that were not the "best academically" it was still great to read other's work and their styles of reporting.

von Mercedes V

Jul 01, 2020

This course has been a very positive experience for me. The lectures were informative, precise, and helpful in navigating race in my very own life and in the world, as it is today, especially. It has also been very uplifting to read and grade my classmates' work, learning from them and reflecting on their findings and resources. Thankful to have taken this course as it has been an enriching addition in my educational background and know I will continue to use the knowledge as I learn to make sense of the world around me, especially as an educator in the 21st century. Thank you for enabling us all to continue learning and educating ourselves, even while working from home during a pandemic!

von Ben B

Jun 29, 2020

Great course. FYI, you can complete most of the work in the first two weeks in ~2 hours (except for any of the supplemental materials) but the last two weeks are way more than that. Much more of a self-driven course than something that was facilitated. If that's what you're looking for, then this is the right place. It pushed me to think more, do more and new research, and really address some of the things I've I needed to... but didn't know where to start.

von Christina M

Jul 05, 2020

Exceptional course. The course was well-organized, incredibly informative, and filled with fantastic resources. For anyone wanting to learn more about American policy that has influenced institutional racism in our country , this is the course to take. Fantastic! I won't soon forget what I learned and how much more I need to research to be better informed!

von Carolyn B

Apr 24, 2020

An absolutely exception course covering history right up to the present. Really puts race and ethnicity into perspectives. The professor was very clear, articulate, interesting and knowledgeable about the subject. Although there were weekly assignments, they helped to put to use all the things learned in the course.

von SHIRLENE B D O

Mar 09, 2018

Excellent Course!

Congratulation Professor James D. Anderson for the excellence in his classes ,, for his high level content expertise and course management.

Congratulation to the Coursera staff that has planned and organized the material in a very suitable way favoring the distance learning.

Thank you all!

von Roberth J D C

Jun 08, 2020

This amazing course deepned me understanding of transnational realities about the senses and meanings of race and culture in the Americas. Thanks so much, Teacher James D. Anderson. Your empathy was a quality differential in the course.

von Jean T

Jul 07, 2020

Race and Cultural Diversity in American Life and History should be taught in High School to everyone. I enjoyed everything about this course! Many thanks to James Anderson our instructor! Keep spreading the word!

von Nichole E M

Jul 07, 2020

This was a great class in which I learn many additional parts about US history that I had not previously known about or understood.

von Maria G

Feb 08, 2018

I think is a course that everyone living in actual society need to take to widening their world and reject prejudgment.

von Kirstie J

Jul 06, 2020

Very informative, both allowing for personal growth and creative thought.

von Seth M H

Jun 28, 2020

Fantastic and insightful! Easy course load and interesting topic.

von MARIO F C D

Jun 28, 2020

Excelente curso. Dinamico y muy completo.

von Daniela C V

May 31, 2020

Excellent course. Great insights.