Chevron Left
Zurück zu Resilience in Children Exposed to Trauma, Disaster and War: Global Perspectives

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Resilience in Children Exposed to Trauma, Disaster and War: Global Perspectives von University of Minnesota

4.8
Sterne
549 Bewertungen
154 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

How do children overcome hazardous experiences to succeed in life? What can be done to protect young people at risk from trauma, war, disasters, and other adversities? Learn about the importance of fostering resilience in children at risk. During this course, participants will: learn how trauma can affect children and the systems they depend on, gain insight into core concepts, research methods and lessons learned in last 50 years of resilience research, learn how research is being applied in the real world through interventions that promote resilience, and engage in discussions with others who are working with children at risk around the world Participants are welcome to take the MOOC at no cost or to register for a Course Certificate ($49). Those who register and earn a Course Certificate from Coursera also are eligible to sign up for continuing education clock hours through the University of Minnesota. Participants can earn 10 clock hours of continuing education credit (added cost $99) from the College of Education and Human Development at the University of Minnesota. Go here http://z.umn.edu/1a5q to register for continuing education clock hours for completing this course....

Top-Bewertungen

LC

16. Dez. 2021

Thank you so much for this course which should be taught to all teachers from kindergarten to adult. I learned a lot and I am very passionate about this subject! Thank you very much, Mrs. Masten!

Y

1. Feb. 2019

Wonderful and very well-detailed research-based course about resilience in children. Learned a lot from the splendid instructor. Very detailed and empowering course. Highly recommended.

Filtern nach:

126 - 150 von 154 Bewertungen für Resilience in Children Exposed to Trauma, Disaster and War: Global Perspectives

von John V

9. Juni 2017

T

von susan a

7. Juni 2020

I found this course extremely informative. The thorough overview provided of the research that has gone into the science of resilience was fascinating. The concept of adaptive factors and promotive factors for improving ones ability to overcome adversity was valuable because I work with at-risk students. I appreciated the perspectives offered by the guest speakers included in the course as well. However, the discussion forum was only slightly useful and having to take a "final" exam was unnecessary. I found the final exam process infuriating, especially when the questions changed for every retake not providing the option for the process of elimination. Since it's not a course one is getting credit for or to receive a final grade for a college transcript, it shouldn't be an additional requirement for completing a course!

von Diana I G

15. Juni 2020

I really enjoy and learned a lot about resilience in this course. Profesor Masten is a well known researcher in this field and know what she is talking. I believe it is a good appetizer for those who aren't sure about what way to go within the psychology, psychiatry, and mental health sciences. I would have loved for this course to have talked more in detail about the treatment and therapies to treat children and how to actually do the treatment; some therapies are mention during the course, but it doesn't really emphasises on any of them. Another reason that I rate this course 4 starts is because I posted a couple of questions about the videos of the course and they were never answered, I felt like if nobody was on the other side.

I appreciate your input. Thank you!

von Cheryl C

27. Mai 2020

I thought the course was very interesting and also very varied in terms of the content presented. I liked being able to follow the links and learn on my own terms the different types of strategies and interventions that are being put into place. Dr. Masten provides lots of insight into the current research and was able to give us an insight into the research by talking to other influential people in the field which was very cool! I do think that sometimes the coursework was a bit much for my schedule especially with some of the required readings but it was nevertheless manageable given the right schedule of self-discipline.

von Tamsyn G

1. Nov. 2020

This course gives great insight and a good overview of resilience in children and the current place we are in, in terms of research in this field. I would recommend this to anyone who interacts with children and people in general because a big lesson that came from this course is that it is never to late to show resilience. It has given me a good footing on some of the principles and I look forward to implementing what I learnt in my life and work.

von Eva D

6. März 2020

Gives a very good overview of resilience and offers a broad spectrum of resources. The lectures are well structred, but a bit lengthy.

Some of the data is outdated and very focused on the US. It would be nice to see some more recent and global examples in an updated version of the course.

von Dora

2. Apr. 2021

The course helped me a lot with understanding the concept of resilience and the ways it occur under different circumstances. I'd love to continue studying this field and to learn about concrete methods and interventions.

von Danielle M

22. Mai 2020

It was an excellent course. A great overview of knowledge that is very needed.

I believe it needs some updating and some more energy. Sometimes I found the lectures hard to follow as it was lacking energetic engagement.

von Félix V

26. Nov. 2019

A lot of interestning studies and besides, some really good intervention programs. It has extended my sight on this domain and I can assure that it will be very usefull in my professional life.

von Angie P M T

21. Juli 2020

It's good that there are a variety of subtopics per week. However, sometimes some videos are not specific, i.e. sometimes they are more extensive than they could be.

von Upasana B

8. Mai 2020

I felt that at many points, the course focused on bluntly conveying facts more than making the videos engaging. There should be more interesting interactions.

von Nahid N J

5. Aug. 2020

It was an excellent course in case of resilience in children. A sensitive topic which has been described nicely with lots of case studies and example.

von Julie P

30. Apr. 2020

I enjoyed the course, but it needed more depth, possibly in treatments and outcomes. The lectures were kind of long and windy, but informative.

von prativa m

31. Juli 2017

very very very useful course content for the better understanding of resilience and how to promote it in an austere environment.

von Sonja B

27. Aug. 2020

The course gave an excellent overview on resilience. Prof Masten is a very good presenter and moved at exactly the right pace.

von Dr. S M

24. Apr. 2020

Lots of material. Good instructor. But the course was tad too long. 4 weeks would be ideal

von Fatmah

4. Aug. 2017

new and important knowledge. I love the course

von Jane U

7. Dez. 2020

Good information and allowed for self pacing.

von Anna R

9. Sep. 2019

Really interesting, relevant to my career.

von Pratika P

19. Apr. 2020

Very Well organized.

von Hermann A

22. Aug. 2019

Un très bon cours

von Amanda L

25. Mai 2020

Lot's pf great information and discussion!A little disappointing that many of the youtube video links do not work in Canada.

von Matt P

1. Okt. 2018

I was looking for more practical ways to help the vulnerable children that I work with.

von LEON G P

26. Jan. 2021

Información muy técnica.

von Luca C R

31. Aug. 2021

The course was unfortunately slow and repetitive. Many of the videos could have been far more concise and the points were repeated over and over. The last week had interesting points to it but for the most part the whole course could have been done in two equivalent weeks. Rape and sexual trauma was skimmed and trotted around and the course would have been better if it made a point of not speaking about it altogether due to its different nature from other traumas mentioned. Good try but I felt I was forcing myself to watch the videos as there was so little to absorb from them that was not already evident as a self aware human.